We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky beach bungalows in a lovely little bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky beach bungalows in a lovely little bay”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I thought it was really beautiful here and not nearly as busy as I expected! The resort is on a really pretty and quiet beach, in between the lively beaches of Lamai and Chaweng (which we walked to during the day) and has a swimming pool, large restaurant and what feels like almost a private beach. The large bungalows are set in jungle style grounds, with fish ponds dotted about and each one feels quite private. The rooms are spacious, with four poster beds, fridge, TV and a large outdoor style bathroom! Our room felt like it hadn't been stayed in for a while, which was the only downside as it was a bit dusty, with a few dead insects! Maybe it was because we were there during the rainy season and it wasn't as busy as it usually is. We found the restaurant quite expensive, but the was a little restaurant just a 2 minute walk away called 'Baan Lamai' which had the best Thai food we'd eaten all holiday! Try their duck red curry and tempura prawns, amazing! I would say this place is great for total relaxation at the end of a hectic trip in Thailand as it's very beautiful, but there isn't a huge amount to do so if you are here any longer than say 3 nights, I would choose the livelier Lamai beach.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    162
    82
    33
    21
See reviews for
125
220
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I planned to stay over a week but ended up moving after 4 nights.

The staff at reception were pleasant and helpful, especially with a very earlier check in. Nice welcoming drink on arrival.
The family villa was good, but I agree the place is looking a little tired. Nevertheless, it is reasonable value for money but I wouldn't consider it a bargain.

If you stay at the Yacht Club you should expect:
* little or no hot running water. That would be a big issue if you were staying in London, but it's not such a big deal in warm Samui - until about day 4 of a cold spell!
* several dogs wandering around the place, including the dining room particularly at breakfast. They didn't do much other than lie around and occasionally say hello so if you can get over the culture shock of having dogs being treated as guests in the place, then no problem.
• plenty of geckos, frogs and fish inhabiting the lovely, extensive and well maintained gardens.
• a quite resort which seemed never more than half full when I was there, and most guests seemed to be Russians who spoke almost no English.
* nice clean and deep swimming pool very close to the beach and the restaurant area with plenty of lounges. Small children's playground next to the pool.
• a very satisfactory - but unremarkable - buffet breakfast that varied its hot dishes each morning. Very pleasant and helpful staff in the dinning room who went to significant lengths to shoo away the bird life that wandered in but always ignored the dogs and cats laying around.
• a 5 minute walk to the nearest convenience store.
• a car hire business operating directly outside the resort with reasonable rates, brand new cars and no hassles.

The Yacht Club provided good value for money and was in a quite area which is why I picked it. There are several other "resorts" on the same beach, but none of them appeared to be any better.
The restaurant's lunch menu is the same as the dinner menu and I found I couldn't eat lunch or dinner there more than once. But one of the best things about Samui is trying all the magnificent restaurants elsewhere on the island. Worth the taxi fare is Zazen, Rocky Resort or the beach dinning experience at Chaweng.

30 years ago SYC would have been a great place. But now Samui Yacht club has significant maintenance issues. There was a broken safe in my room that had not been removed, perhaps because it is a bit heavy. The new safe sat on top of the old one and was not even bolted to anything, so that simply made the task of stealing all your valuables easier for anyone who was lucky enough to get by the lax security and into your room. The plug to the outdoor bath was next to impossible to remove to drain the tub. Surprisingly the men's urinal in the outdoor bathroom flushed through a pipe in the external wall which dropped straight to the open ground! TV reception was barely adequate.

On the plus side, there was a computer in the room with free internet (but port 25 was blocked so you could not send email to your smtp server using a mail client). At the Amari Palm Reef where I am presently typing this review the wifi internet connection is charged at a staggering US$2.50 per hour to use (after we have already paid $300 per night for the privilege of staying here - stay tuned for that review in a few days!). Nice sized LCD TV with surround sound DVD player.
The family villa had 1 king size, 1 queen and 1 single, and two bathrooms. Plenty of space. Good room service. Fridge was sufficiently stocked.
The beach was good. It was certainly no worse than what i have seen of Chaweng save that there was probably a bit more coral and rocks under the water at Samui Yacht Club. I'm told the Chaweng Resort has the same owner.

If the weather was better and all I wanted to do was laze around on the beach or by the pool, I'd probably still be there. But it has been colder, windy and rainy recently and the beach has not been so pleasant.

Finally, I bought a SIM card at the airport arrival from a company called True. They promised GPRS mobile internet but it simply doesn't work - at least not with an iphone. I wasted B200 on that card which was no great loss except for the immense frustration in trying to get the thing to work including trips back to the salesmen who sold it to me. It's a shame because using data roaming on the iphone is the most insane thing you could do.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moof66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My partner and I had a great time here. It might not be the most exclusive resort there is on Koh Samui but it is really ok. The wooden houses (we had one in the garden) are beautiful and in the evening it is just beautiful with the lights and the moonlight shining on the beach nearby.
From the garden you walk in one minute to the beach and garden. The beach is small, not crowded and beautifull. Watch out when you go in the water though, there are some dangerous rocks and coral.

Nice restaurant at the pool and beach with good lunch and diner possibilities. Good breakfast buffet.

What might not be great:
- some employees are not always friendly
- there were some details like a window that did not close completely. the houses are just a little old.
- it is located quite far from the town Lamai. If you want to go for dinner, shopping or sightseeing, you have to get a taxi everytime.

Overall, fine resort. If they update everything a little bit, it could be great.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caatjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

upon arrival staff was helpful and friendly. Room is nice, spacious and well-equipped. Beach really calm and relaxing. Pool refreshing and clean. Staff helpfull ( even the last half day where we were already checked-out they provided towels, shower,...). For me this was a very good end of a vacation. I don't understand the negative experiences and would certainly recommend again. Only possible point is that the hotel is not central in shopping area but this is for me only a positive point. Free coffee in the room , WIFI and internet ... Restaurant with good choice and great fruit juices and very good breakfast ...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I stayed at this hotel 2 days and during my stay I really have no complaints about the facility or my room. I did enjoy my time here for the most part. It was peaceful and quiet and I slept well. The beach is nice and small and mellow unlike Chaweng beach with all the noise and people. If your looking for a place to be chill and relax this is not a bad place. It ends there. Now let's talk about the staff.

If your stay here requires good attentive customer service don't count on it here. The staff here are bored and unenthusiastic to serve you and when they do, they act as if it is a major inconvienence. They have attiude problems which was a real diappointment being that I have had nothing but impecable service while visiting Thailand. Upon checkout I was presented with my mini bar bill in which I was charged for something I didn't consume. I tried exaining this to the manager but he insisted I pay. I told him that while I have no problem paying for what I did consume, I refuse to pay for something I didn't consume. This went on for a while and he was not going to let up. He would of rather made a federal case out of this than believe his customer. This situation got so ridiculous and this man was more concerned about losing 130 baht ($3.98) than believe his customer.I paid the bill because somethings just aren't worth the aggrivation. The manager at this facility is extremley unprofessional rude and mean. Its really too bad because if this incident didn't happen, I would of written a much better review.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventuregal35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed three nights, location was quiet and a nice beach. But Koh Samui Island far mor3e expensive than mainland, all they wished to do was over charge all tourists. The hotel, tip check the mini bar list first and if you need transport to airport or ferry DO NOT USE the HOTEL RECEPTION, they take a minimum 25% commission on the fee

Recomend avoiding this hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cottami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

The food is horrendous. Order a pizza Napolitana abd you'll get flat bread with a substance with a vague taste of vomit. The rooms are large but very ugly and old fashioned. Hey it's the eighties all over again! The breakfast is a disaster: sausage in grease, toast in grease, rice in grease. Stay here and eat yourself a cardiac arrest. The service is worst of all... I rented a motorbike which was clearly malfunctioning. I fell and was bleeding heavily. The owner came to see if the bike was ok. The bleeding didn't bother him one bit! I gave him back the key and he said it was OK. The next day he charged me for renting the bike!? Will I go back to this resort from hell? How 'bout never!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.5 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
389 reviews
1.6 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Bay Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Bay Yacht Club

Property: Crystal Bay Yacht Club
Address: 209/1 Moo 4, Ao Thongtakian | between Chaweng and Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Yacht Club)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Bay Yacht Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Bay Yacht Club sits on a small but perfect beach on the Island of Koh Samui in Thailand. The calm warm crystal clear sea, powder soft white sand and beautiful tropical gardens make this location truly special. The resort consists of 43 bungalows all set in over 12,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens. Many species of birds and butterflies can be seen enjoying the natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crystal Bay Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Yacht Club Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Yacht Hotel
Crystal Bay Yacht Club Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing