We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as spectacular as our first stay at this property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This was our second stay at the Renaissance in Koh Samui. On our first stay, we absolutely loved this place and couldn't wait to return. It had been on my list of "best hotels" to return to on subsequent stays. This time however, we it did not live up to the extraordinary level of service we had during our first stay in July of 2008, but I'd probably still return.

We were a group of 10. Our check in was at best, a disastor. Room requests we made via email had not been received by the hotel, the staff at the front desk did not understand the requests we were trying to make regarding our rooms, the incorrect credit cards were charged, the people in each room were mixed up, no cold drink was offered during my 1.5 hour timeframe of trying to resolve the situation and the staff refused to get a manager, as they indicated she could not be disturbed due to a meeting.

On the plus side, the management staff did a very good job of handling our concerns and trying to improve our stay once they learned of the difficulties. They offered everyone a free glass of wine in a private reception type setting, offered 20 per cent off all spa treatments and did offer to move some of our rooms the next morning (although we decided to stay put after the first night). The staff also paid particular attention to our needs after we voiced our concerns and checked in often to see if we were enjoying ourselves. I'd give "kuddos" to the rooms manager "Pooky" for her tireless effort to try to resolve issues and follow up to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

Pros for the property are: the villas are beautiful and simply wonderful accomodations. It is hard to find anything more lovely. The beach is private and the pool is quite nice. The food at the restaurant in the evening was excellent as was the service. Also, despite what others have said, I like the beach, as it is quiet, secluded, has free kayaks and you can walk down a little further if you want better swimming. The garden settings of the property are extraordinary.

Cons for the property are: those in hotel rooms had rooms that were not as nice as the ones we had in 2008, primarily due to poor views. The pool bar staff (which we raved about in 2008 and was a highlight of the hotel) needs major improvement. We ordered lunch one day and an hour later, half of us didn't have our food, the orders were mixed up and we asked 4 times to get a glass of water. The drink service at the pool and the beach was sporadic and slow. The front desk staff had great difficulty figuring out our bill upon departure, but when the food and beverage manager was called (he was the manager on call that day) he resolved all of the issues.

Overall, it is still a lovely property and I'd probably go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Broder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,225)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2010

We spent 4 nights in a 1-bedroom beach villa (with a partial view of the sea) and our kids took the sofa (which turns into a bed) and a rollaway. The bed was sagging and my wife and I didn't get a good night's sleep. Round-trip airport transfers included.
Lamai beach is not the beautiful beach you see in pitcures of Thailand. It is shallow until the breakwater about a half kilometer away so no water activities available. The sea water only comes in at high tide (past 5pm) and so most of the time the water (and dirt) is captured and remains around Lamai beach. Chaweng beach and its waters are much cleaner, and the waves are higher but also that's where the crowd is.
The hotel is quiet and you hardly see any other guests (villas hidden behind walls) except for breakfast , where we saw the same 20 guests over the 4 days we were there. Maybe it's still the low season.
Service nothing spectacular but always warm and friendly as you expect in Thailand. Although there was not enough hands by the pool to hand out towels; no one even offered drinks or water. Food at the hotel was not too expensive even without the 20% discount on food that comes with the room and they give free bottled water everyday. But for drinks and snacks best to get from Family Mart at the beginning of the road leading to the hotel. Breakfast at Banana leaf is mediocre but the German crepes are good and so is the service.
Taxi is at least THB 300 to anywhere, THB 480 using the hotel car. We rented a suzuki pick up for THB1,000 for the entire day. If more daring, THB200/day motorbike is also available from the rental place beside the hotel.
Mosquito are common but didn't expect the bites to be this large and itchy. Sand mites also got my kids. Sun is quite intense; despite SPF 70 and staying in the shade we got burned more than our other beach holidays.
Take a day trip to Namuang jungle and waterfalls to ride the ATV, take a picture with the baby tiger and fly through the sky fox zip line (steel cables between trees in the jungle = Fun!). Don't bother going to the Aquarium and Tiger zoo.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avidtravellerhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Hotel is great, beautiful grounds and pool (although location is a little out of the way). Staff were helpful and pleasant at all times. It was a mixed business and leisure stay and the hotel was able to cater for both. Thanks to all

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SAThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The staff is helpful and friendly. They make the place special.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALSH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Have been to Koh Samui 4 times - this was by far my favourite resort. It is serene, uncrowded and very tastefully designed. All the staff are incredibly friendly. The food is fantastic. The rooms are spacious and the spa is incredibly relaxing. .

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john_keogh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Had a fabulous stay in this resort - staff were fantastic - taught us to speak some Thai, food was excellent and the resort was perfect for us - where we wanted to just relax for a break. The pools are excellent, the gym was excellent - and other than 2 nights of rain the weather was perfect. Would highly recommend this resort of you want a place to relax and chill!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fair_weather_sportsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed at the Renaissance for 10 days and actually had our wedding there. This was our third visit to this beautiful resort - we will not stay anywhere else in Koh Samui! The resort is absolutely stunning and even the standard rooms are exceptional with their own outdoor jacuzzis. As it was our wedding we stayed in the privately located beach front villa. We honestly felt like we were in our own little secluded heaven. We spent each evening watching the sunset from the our own lap pool/spa and right outside was our own little private beach on which we got married. The entire resort is a tropical paradise featuring native wildlife, amazing food, wonderful spa and all those fine little special touches where you would least expect. However, the thing that made this and each other visit so special, is the resort's staff, who are the most friendliest and most welcoming hotel staff in the world. The staff went out of their way to help us and our wedding guests not just on this visit but always. If there is something you want or need there's always someone there to assist. The only downside would be the beach which is very shallow around April and the water is boiling hot! But the two pools and overall serenity of the resort more than make up for that! If you want to get away from the resort feel and experience a bar run by locals just pop down the beach to the Peace Bar and say hi to Bob from us. Finally, we would appreciate if you could water our love tree that was planted for our wedding outside villa 106 ;)...AND THE MOST IMPORTANT TIP - when trying to get transport to the resort from anywhere make sure you ask for the RENASONG or you will not get there!
Allan and Samar

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllSum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,402 reviews
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,037 reviews
7.2 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $114 - $1,531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing