We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$68
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$541
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
$722
$610
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$91
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lamai Wanta(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$58
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Republic The Residences(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$124
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manathai Koh Samui(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sallamai Resort(Lamai Beach)(Great Value!)
$48
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveler rating
795
351
89
33
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
351
89
33
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana leaftapas bartawann restaurantkoh samuigarden villadeluxe roompool barprivate poolmain poolour honeymoonlow tideshallow watera wonderful stayfire showbuffet breakfastbeach frontthe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The only thing I expect in a pleasure trip is to get pampered and forget everything. If this is what you are looking for, this is a great option.
Even though we did not have good luck with the weather the first couple of days our experience at this hotel was amazing. The food is excellent and the staff is super friendly. A lot of high energy young tourism students from all over the world doing their professional practices there that will help you with anything as well as the local staff.
The only negative thing we found was the temperature of the private pool in our villa. However we asked for a room change and they gave us a super big luxury room with a whirlpool in the terrace that was amazing.
If you are looking for local food and massage experience there are a couple good walking distance options by the hotel.

Room Tip: Great option if you want to relax and get pampered.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Eduardo P,

Greetings from Koh Samui! Thank you for your lovely review. We are excited to read your comments as they show that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation with us. I will convey your message to our team and hope to see you back again one day.

Sawasdee Krub!

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We spent four nights of our honeymoon in one of the beachfront villas here. The accommodations were very nice and we enjoyed the pool. When we arrived back in Bangkok for a night before heading home, we noticed that a necklace and watch had disappeared from our baggage. Our subsequent efforts to contact the hotel and report the stolen property were met with mostly dismissive responses. Aside from telling us that "this could never happen but we'll take a look around the suite," we received basically nothing. Given the otherwise high level of service and the extremely high price for the villa, I was surprised that they did not do anything to help us replace our (relatively inexpensive) jewelry. Obviously I would not recommend staying here. Koh Samui is full of resort properties and if the Renaissance stands out, it's for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nkkwjyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear nkkwjyyc,

Greetings from tropical Koh Samui to Brooklyn! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Upon receipt of your message, I have investigated once more with my team: You stayed with us for two periods in March in two of our beachfront villas and I understand that we did store your luggage in between these two stays. The storage room in fact is a locked space that gives access only to our bell staff. We have once more reviewed our records from the room (which was initially searched after your departure) as well as all other areas of the resort and could find no trace of your belongings.

Dear nkkwjyyc, we are terribly sorry that you are missing these belongings and would have loved to convey better news. While we would love to solve this situation, there is no indication that your belongings were lost in the room or indeed the storage.

I would be happy though to discuss this matter personally if you would contact me via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com .

On another note, thank you for your positive comments in regards to your stay itself. We are pleased that you enjoyed your beachfront villas.

Sincerely,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Really impressed by the level of service displayed by the entire staff of this hotel. In particular a big thank you to Woody who looked after my husband and I so well and to Victoria who made some excellent recommendations about places to visit on the island. Staff like this who go the extra mile make all the difference to a holiday! Stayed in a beach villa which had a view to die for and had some delicious lunches at the pool bar. If you like swimming in the sea this hotel may not be ideal for you as the sea level is so low but the two pools are more than adequate. Great variety of choices at breakfast and a free shuttle into Chaweng and Lamai. Overall an excellent hotel with exemplary staff.

Room Tip: Beach villa 107 was fantastic!
Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Rachael H,

Thank you for your kind feedback and we will ensure that your positive comments will reach Vicky and Khun Woody who indeed are two of our super stars at Ren Samui.

I have good news in regards to water levels, within the month of July they will be rising again and throughout the year until March, water levels will be significantly higher allowing for a nice swim in the sea.

If you don't mind, would you be able to send me a private message to killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com to share with me what in your view we could improve to achieve a 5 star rating during your - hopefully - next visit.

Thank you and Sawasdee!

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very nice resort although rooms are getting a bit old. If you can afford go for a beachside villa with private pool. Villa 106 is the best in the resort with full intimacy and 180 deg paradise see view.
Staff is very friendly and well trained. Food is excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chayato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear chayato,

Greetings to Paris from sunny Koh Samui! Thank you for your kind review in this forum.

We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays with us and are in fact in process of completely overhauling the beachfront villa 106 which will be even more stunning in two days time.

All the best and please let me know whenever I may be of assistance.

Sawasdee!

Killian Donoghue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this resort after 2 weeks of travelling around thailand.
We had already stayed on koh samui for 6 nights at the start of our trip and couldn't wait to get back to samui.
We were worried the renaissance wouldn't live up to our previous brilliant experience in koh samui but it did. LamaI beach was very different to chaweng but still equally great.
The resort is gorgous. We were upgraded to a beach view pool villa for a reduced rate and unfortunately had a rat in the roof that woke us up at 2am. The staff were excellent moving us for the night, getting in exterminators and refunding our money for the nights stay.
The food was amazing I am gluten intolerant and the chefs went out of their way to accommodate me even making sure they grilled with gluten free flour. Drinks and did reasonably priced.
The pool and beach were clean and staff fantastic especially poppy and nirim.
We would recommend anyone stay and we wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 277MICHELLEW277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear 277MICHELLEW277,

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for choosing the Renaissance for your vacation. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed our beachfront villa and will pass your regards to Khun Poppy and Niran.

We are glad that the nightly disturbance did not deter you from having a relaxing holiday.

Please dont wait too long to visit us and whenever I may be of assistance, please feel free to contact me directly via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

All the best,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews