We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samaya Bura(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveler rating
795
351
89
33
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
351
89
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana leaftapas bartawann restaurantkoh samuigarden villadeluxe roompool barprivate poolmain poolour honeymoonlow tideshallow watera wonderful stayfire showbuffet breakfastbeach frontthe main road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and from the moment we walked in the service was amazing! We were greeted with cool towels and complimentary sorbet of lemon grass and mango. Our beach view pool villa was breathtaking! The pool and private beach is ten out of ten...such a breathtaking backdrop. You never want to leave!!! The private cars are great to get around in, and you will be treated like royalty the whole time you are there. The only let down was the food at the banana leaf restaurant and poolside. There is an awesome seafood restaurant not far though which i highly recommend. Ok gym facilities too.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in for a massage at the hotel. They are one of the best in Thailand!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Eric T,

Sawasdee Krub from the Renaissance Koh Samui! Thank you very much for your kind review - we are very happy to hear your feedback about the beachfront villa as well as the service of our ambassadors!

Your comment on the culinary offerings at Banana Leaf and the Pool Bar are well received and we will continue to work with our team to ensure that our offerings are consistent at all times. On another note it is great to see that you enjoyed the seafood at our Thai restaurant tawaNN.

Please come back soon to visit our Quan Spa team and if I may be of assistance please feel free to contact me personally via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

All the best,

Killian Donoghue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have just returned from 5 days at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort and Spa. We stayed in a garden pool villa which was absolutely lovely, but by far the best part of the stay was the staff. As has been mentioned lots of times in previous reviews, the customer service skills of the staff at this resort are exceptional. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Tracey P,

Thank you for your wonderful review which makes me very proud of my team. With our motto "good is not good enough." we always strive for excellence and I am happy that we were able to deliver excellence to you.

Greetings to Hong Kong and we look forward to welcoming you back one day,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Just finished our 3 nights family holiday and all of us enjoyed every minute at the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff was the highlight. Made full use of the pools and beach facilities - kids enjoyed using the water shoes available next to the pool bar. Had a chance to use the spa facilities (steam room, jacuzzi and cold bath) at no charge.

A couple of helpful suggestions:
i) a shuttle bus for the night market at Fisherman Village on Friday evenings will be very useful - when we were leaving the hotel for the night market, we noticed 3 other groups also waiting for taxis.

ii) make available for water bottles throughout the hotel - it was the hot season and had to frequently ask for water bottles to be brought to our room before taking them to the various parts of the hotel.

iii) couldn't find the 'kids room' which was suppose to be 'co-located' with the library - kids were disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ednava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear ednava,

Greetings to Malaysia and thank you for choosing the Renaissance as your family getaway!

I am pleased to read that your kids enjoyed the facilities and hope they made ample use of our kids pool right next to the main pool.

Your comments about the shuttles and the water bottles are well noted. While we do not currently plan to expand the complimentary shuttle bus services, please note that we are happy to provide more water in the room upon request.

The kids room is actually located right next to our boutique and the tailor close to the lobby. My apologies, if you were not given the right location and I hope that the kids still had a great time.

Dear ednava, we hope we will be able to welcome you back and send sunny regards in the meantime. All the best,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Renaissance for 13 nights during which time we attended our friends daughters wedding. From arrival the staff were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble for them and there knowledge of anything from the island to the food was exceptional.

I am sure a large part of this success is down to the high profile and accessibility of the Management team led by Killian, all of the team set a great example.

At first we thought that the resort was a bit out of the way but transport was cheap and the beach and pool location make up for this. The resort food was very good, exceptional breakfasts and the 2 restaurants were reasonably priced for a hotel but when we did eat in the food was of a very high standard. The Thursday night barbecue is well worth a visit, wide choice of food and unique entertainment thrown in.

This was our first trip to a Thai Island or Thailand and our expectations for exceptional service and a hotel of this standard were not high, however we felt that the resort lived up to any of the 5 star plus hotels that we have stayed in, in the gulf, and as it is on a smaller scale the personal services touches are very good. We stayed in a 2nd floor deluxe room that was more that adequate and well maintained, we might try a villa next time.

We would not hesitate recommending this resort to anyone who is looking for a great location, great service and doesn't mind having to grab cheap transport to the more lively areas.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the deluxe rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CHOG873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear CHOG873,

Greetings to the UK! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Renaissance in this forum.

We are very happy as it seems that you thoroughly enjoyed the boutique nature of our resort and that we were able to make you feel special and at home.

Please come back to visit us soon and we will have that pool villa ready waiting for you!

Until then: Sawasdee Krub!

Killian Donoghue
killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I just spent 5 nights at this resort and this was truly our best holiday ever. Upon arrival, we were upgraded (at a discounted rate) to a Garden Villa, and it was definitely worth it. The villas are huge and cozy and come with a large terrace with a private plunge pool, all well shielded by the lush gardens around it. We would recommend opting for one of the villas.

The entire resort is beautiful and spotless. There is plenty of space and a lot of well-maintained green. The beach and pool area are superb, and well served by the excellent pool bar. Our trip was already a bit off season, so there were loungers available at all times but it felt like there is ample capacity even during the main season.

The resort has two restaurants – one more casual (where also breakfast is served), and one more upscale. We tried both, and food and service were excellent. We also considered prices to be within reason. Both the pool bar and the Tapas bar (cocktail bar) offer happy hours with half price for drinks, and we made ample use of it:-) This is not a party place though – after 9pm, the resort was very quiet.

The absolutely best thing about the Renaissance resort is the staff. From check-in until check-out, all our needs were perfectly catered for, and even more, the staff kept surprising us with things that put a smile on our faces every time. For example, every now and then staff came by the pool/beach area to offer complimentary refreshments, such as fruits or a drink. Also, when we set off for trips on the island and asked for recommendations, staff at the reception desk was well-informed, patient and offered excellent recommendations. We tried several of the restaurants they recommended on the island and were not once disappointed.

During our stay, the resort made us feel like we were staying with well-known friends. While staff headcount is large, familiar staff members looked after us regularly, and were always well-informed about our schedule and any trips we had arranged for ourselves. Whatever ‘guest management system’ they use, it works. Everyone was just so friendly and helpful that we found it hard to leave!

One concern we had before arriving here was whether the resort would be too secluded, as both Lamai and Chaweng are a few kilometers away. We found that this was not the case. Transportation is cheap – in fact, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to both towns – and after spending some time in these (in our view quite touristic) towns it felt great to return to the peaceful calmness of the resort. Pure escapism but it worked great!

It is also very easy to join different tours. We only did one though – a half-day snorkeling trip with ‘Mr Man’ – and it was very good. Needless to say, we didn’t really arrange a thing ourselves but just showed up at the agreed pick-up time.

The resort spa is excellent. Specifically, after getting heavily sunburned on our first day, we tried the ‘after sun wrap’ which is very recommendable. Also the massages were excellent. Sure, it is pricier than outside the resort but you get a real quality treatment.

There were so many small things we appreciated during our stay:
...the staff member who came around every evening to close the curtains, refill the complimentary water supply, and prepare the villa for the night
...the staff that surprised us with fruits or drinks at the pool or beach
...the dedicated staff who looked after us every day and made sure we didn’t lack anything
...the hotel management and kitchen chef who were very visible and approachable for the guests
...the Spa staff who supplied us with complimentary lotion for sun-burn
...the special dinner events arranged by the hotel, such as beach side barbeque and a ‘pick your freshly caught fish and we prepare it for you in the evening’ dinner

In sum, we would recommend this resort to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation in a very personal, classy atmosphere. We feel lucky to have chosen this resort for our vacation and hope to return there soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StefanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear StefanMe,

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for sharing your holiday experiences at the Renaissance!

I am thrilled to read how much you enjoyed to stay in our Pool Villa and that you felt well taken care of by our team of ambassadors. Thank you also for joining our first "Catch Me If You Can" activity where you can choose your fish form a local fisherman by the beach.

Please dont wait too long to visit us again and whenever I can be of assistance, please feel free to contact me via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com .

All the best,

Killian Donoghue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews