We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Second Stay at Renaissance Koh Samui. Still Loving It.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Second Stay at Renaissance Koh Samui. Still Loving It.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family of four spent three lovely nights in late April 2013. We stayed at the beachfront pool villa. Very spacious room and easy access to the pool and beach. We were literally just a few steps away. We mostly used the main pool in the day time and the pool in the villa at night under the stars.

Buffet breakfast at the Banana Leaf is even better that I remembered from my previous visit. Good selection of pastries, eggs, etc. with fruit, juices and daily smoothies. Oh, we just love the homemade yoghurt.

As we have been to Koh Samui before, we decided to relax and spent most of our time on the property this time. The grounds are well kept and blend in with plenty of trees to provide shades while strolling around. The wife and I pampered ourselves with the Island Escape Spa Package (coconut scrub and oil massage) at the Quan Spa.

Excellent service from the staff all around. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pann728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    339
    86
    32
    26
See reviews for
260
684
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We travelled to Koh Samui late March for our 7 th wedding anniversary. We have visited SE Asia before but it was our first time in Thailand. After a terrible journey in which threatened to ruin our holiday we relaxed immediately into our holiday as soon as we checked in. Service at this hotel is great, nothing is too much trouble, the staff are warm and welcoming. Imagine our surprise to find our bed decorated with a pair of swans, a bottle of champagne in a cooler and chocolates! how romantic is that? We had a garden room villa. We would have liked to buy it! Fab space, own plunge pool, to die for.....the grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped and maintained to a very high standard. There's a team of 15 full time gardeners who work very hard. we are both keen gardeners, one of us a garden designer, so it was especially surprising to see how beautiful it was, we weren't expecting that. In terms of food on site, we tried all the restaurants except the Tawan, which we didn't go to basically because it's international and we wanted to try as much different Thai food as we could. Recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast at the Banana Leaf, and the lattes are very good too. - The food is excellent at the hotel, but be prepared for London prices! Locally, there are lots of good places to eat good Thai food so you can experience everything at all price levels. It's good to explore in any case, and just down the road there are some good local places such as JR's or 200 baht up the road, Dr Frogs. We didn't use the spa but we heard it was good. We used a small place 2 mins from the hotel called S Massage where we could get deep tissue massage for a back problem. We would highly recommend this for anyone with back issues because kwok and Tam understand back problems.
Other facilities the hotel offers are two pools. We didn't use the lap pool, but preferred the one on the beach. The sand is a little sharp underfoot but the beach is beautiful. We wore flip flops when we went into the sea - which is like a warm bath.....fantastic.
We did lots of fun things on Koh Samui - from elephant trekking, biking round the island, Tar Nim's magic garden, an island boat trip - all of which was fab.
If we visit Koh Samui again we will stay at the Renaissance, comfortably located away from the bustle of Chaweng and Lamai - our own little Thai Paradise.
Special thanks to the Renaissance team who looked after us, especially Bud, Oh, Guus, Daw, Sa, Tai, Sukit, and Alec.
Everyone helped make this a fantastic anniversary holiday for us.
Thank you so much,
Susie and David

Room Tip: Choose a villa room - garden or pool - not main hotel. Worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

On a lovely stretch of beach within walking distance of lamai town (a good walk) the renaissance is a very good resort hotel with all the facilities you could want for a week in the sun. Rooms are spacious and interesting with a bath on the balcony and a shower that opens out onto the same area, makes for interesting bathing! Good pool area, the separate 50m lap pool is excellent and a nice quiet space to relax away from the pool and beach. Excellent breakfast with fresh smoothies and lots of choice, sadly the staff need a lot more training and although they are extremely pleasant and charming the service can be somewhat haphazard , particularly in the restaurant. There is a good library, free wifi and lovely walks along the beach where you will find plenty of beach bars and restaurants offering drinks and lunch at a fraction of hotel prices. This resort is well priced and has great facilities, they just need to work on the staff training.....

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, you will get a sea view and not a palm tree view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George9693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This resort is beautiful and has a typical tropical Koh Samui feel to it.
The gardens are gorgeous and well taken care of. The rooms are fantastic. We had an ocean view deluxe room with beautiful views to the ocean, so nice and calming.
The outdoor bath is lovely also. Every day the staff light some oil in your room, I assume to keep away mozzies but smells lovely and also throughout the resort.
The reception area is also very nice and welcoming. We had to check in at 4pm as they were fixing the air con but very kindly offered us a free lunch at the restaurant which was delicious and fantastic service!
Breakfast was also wonderful, great selection and as soon as we walked in we got offered a latte which was nice. Proper coffees!
The beach is also beautiful and very shallow, one day I went in there and it was very warm like a bath!
The main pool is stunning! I also loved the lap pool as it was very peaceful, not many guests use this pool so it was very lovely to relax here and read a book.
And of course the lovely staff, always helpful and smiling.
I cant fault this resort, we had such a lovely time!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gozo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013.It's perfect for a romantic getaway.The food is amazing and the service is great.The service staff is especially very friendly and warm.The private beach is gorgeous.The nightlife of the city is really fun, esp. at Chaweng.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay at the Renaissance and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Private pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having stayed in a renassance property in Phuket and being very impressed with their service we decided to stay at the renaissance in Koh Samui. The start of the trip started on a negative note with the hotel pick up service being late, not that big of a issue but when traveling with a baby it did not go to well specially after a long journey.

The check in went well and would like to thank Alex from the check in staff who was very helpful. There was a celebration mood at the hotel with the new year festivities which was great and water was being thrown around by the staff but we noticed that a member of the hotel staff out of no where jumped into the pool and took a swim with his clothes on.....usually you are required to take a quick outdoor shower before you jump in the pool. This took me and my wife by surprise.

The second evening we made a reservation at one of the restaurants for 6 pm for an early dinner before the baby sleep time. We asked them for a baby seat would be available all was booked and confirmed. We went to the restaurant at 6pm as arranged and found the restaurant closed, so after waiting a while I went to the reception and after trying to explain the situation they told me that the restaurant does not open on a Sunday......I told them that they need to train their staff who took the reservation and be aware what is happening at the resort. The next day after spending the morning at the beach we found that the room was not made and this was 2 pm and the reception blamed the 'do not disturb sign' which was incorrect.

We have stayed at many hotels in south east Asia and so far this has been the worse experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ranjeet2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

..This was our first trip to beautiful Thailand, and we stayed in the Renaissance for 6 nights, from the 4th April until the 10th April-with our two teenage daughters. We upgraded after 3 days from a deluxe room, to the family pool villa (room no: 101), which was simply amazing!! It was so luxurious and right on the beach, we had a whale of a time going to the sea, as well as kayaking (which was a free activity). The staff at the Renaissance are simply lovely-kind, warm and friendly always-and especially lovely were Daw, Tai, Sa and Gus in the breakfast section, as well as the manager Pooky. Nothing was too much trouble-our daughter was not well for 2 days, and the staff kindly packed some rolls so she could have them a bit later when she was feeling better.They were so lovely, and always smiling.The breakfast selection was brilliant-we stayed in another hotel afterwards, where the choices were not as varied as Renaissance.
The sea was warm and crystal clear, like an idyllic paradise from a brochure-it was a bit rocky on the sea bed, but there were mossy and sandy bits, which were easier to walk on and it was amazing to see the fish swimming below your feet!
We ate a lot next door at the cocobar-the food was delicious and the staff very sweet.

all in all, it was an amazing trip and we will DEFINATELY be returning to the Renaissance in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelI22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,384 reviews
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing