We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon Stay”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Jan 2013.It's perfect for a romantic getaway.The food is amazing and the service is great.The service staff is especially very friendly and warm.The private beach is gorgeous.The nightlife of the city is really fun, esp. at Chaweng.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay at the Renaissance and will definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Private pool villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aditi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    334
    84
    30
    24
See reviews for
245
670
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having stayed in a renassance property in Phuket and being very impressed with their service we decided to stay at the renaissance in Koh Samui. The start of the trip started on a negative note with the hotel pick up service being late, not that big of a issue but when traveling with a baby it did not go to well specially after a long journey.

The check in went well and would like to thank Alex from the check in staff who was very helpful. There was a celebration mood at the hotel with the new year festivities which was great and water was being thrown around by the staff but we noticed that a member of the hotel staff out of no where jumped into the pool and took a swim with his clothes on.....usually you are required to take a quick outdoor shower before you jump in the pool. This took me and my wife by surprise.

The second evening we made a reservation at one of the restaurants for 6 pm for an early dinner before the baby sleep time. We asked them for a baby seat would be available all was booked and confirmed. We went to the restaurant at 6pm as arranged and found the restaurant closed, so after waiting a while I went to the reception and after trying to explain the situation they told me that the restaurant does not open on a Sunday......I told them that they need to train their staff who took the reservation and be aware what is happening at the resort. The next day after spending the morning at the beach we found that the room was not made and this was 2 pm and the reception blamed the 'do not disturb sign' which was incorrect.

We have stayed at many hotels in south east Asia and so far this has been the worse experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ranjeet2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

..This was our first trip to beautiful Thailand, and we stayed in the Renaissance for 6 nights, from the 4th April until the 10th April-with our two teenage daughters. We upgraded after 3 days from a deluxe room, to the family pool villa (room no: 101), which was simply amazing!! It was so luxurious and right on the beach, we had a whale of a time going to the sea, as well as kayaking (which was a free activity). The staff at the Renaissance are simply lovely-kind, warm and friendly always-and especially lovely were Daw, Tai, Sa and Gus in the breakfast section, as well as the manager Pooky. Nothing was too much trouble-our daughter was not well for 2 days, and the staff kindly packed some rolls so she could have them a bit later when she was feeling better.They were so lovely, and always smiling.The breakfast selection was brilliant-we stayed in another hotel afterwards, where the choices were not as varied as Renaissance.
The sea was warm and crystal clear, like an idyllic paradise from a brochure-it was a bit rocky on the sea bed, but there were mossy and sandy bits, which were easier to walk on and it was amazing to see the fish swimming below your feet!
We ate a lot next door at the cocobar-the food was delicious and the staff very sweet.

all in all, it was an amazing trip and we will DEFINATELY be returning to the Renaissance in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelI22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

At the airport we got a taxi for bhat 600 but told the driver 300 and he immediately accepted! Hmm?! The resort is lovely and at lamai beach. Lush greenery all around. Open air lobby with a pond in the middle, tall wooden pillars, high roof, cement statues, already put you in a holiday mood. Check in was fast and easy. We were given cold face towels and coconut and lemon grass ice cream which was quite nice and a great gesture coz it was unbelievably hot and humid! Room was on the 6th floor, not so great, but with a lovely sea view on 1 side and mountains on the other. Beautiful. Room was actualy bigger then in the pic and was the deluxe room w/ an attached tv room plus an entrance area as well. Being marriot club members we had points available for a normal room but paid extra for an upgrade coz we had 2 under 9 yr kids. Only regret is that wish it had been a complimentary upgrade being members and all. The pool was gorgeous but too small for the large number of rooms the hotel has with the result that it was crowded always. No slides for kids so my kids got bored. Plus the site had said complimentary ice lollies at the pool but there were none the 4 days that we were there. Disappointment for kids. The beach looked lovely at full tide which was even then extremely shallow that you could walk out about 40 yds into the sea but at low tide which was early evening to mid day it was full of shells, pebbles, sea weed and bits of garbage. The sea bed was full of green algae which didn't make you feel like going in the water at all! There were no tattoo people, hair braiding women, nail art on the beach so very boring for my kids. Plus only 1 little massage place down the beach on the left which was ok. The restaurants in the hotel were expensive but there was nothing outside the resort, just another very small hotel where we had lunch once and a massage place, little gem massage, which again was ok. No places to walk to at night, no shops no nice restaurants, just a couple of basic food places. Chewang beach was 20 min away and the hotel had a free shuttle going which we took advantage of and took a taxi back for 200 bhat. Chewang was busy and happening. Loved the little stalls selling hats, tshirts, artificial jewelry etc. Mcdonalds for the kids, yay and Starbucks for us, yay! Plus many restaurants which we unfortunatly didn't hav time to try. Bottom line, hotel is lovely but the beach is too secluded and not kids friendly. Next time I will stay at chewang at a very kids friendly hotel otherwise back to Phuket it is!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a lovely experience, the hotel location is incredible with access to a private beach and beautiful views every where you look. The staff are friendly, helpful and always ready to assist. They also offer private dining and will surprise you with a location - we were simply stunned to be led through some rocks only to find ourselves on a private beach, with background music and lanterns casting a romantic glow on a table with candle light surrounded by scattered rose petals and frangipani and close enough to the water to feel like you were floating on it. We watched the sunset (the most beautiful I've ever seen) while we were discreetly served Lobster, prawns and local seafood, all perfectly cooked with the perfect wine. This was an incredibly romantic experience and the staff just know how cater for privacy without compromising service, it was wonderful.

The next day we were on a fishing boat and spent an amazing day fishing and swimming to smaller islands to investigate. This really is a great place if you want something romantic, planning on proposing or just want to relax

Room Tip: Choose a room that's on the Beach side, not the road; this will give you amazing sunset views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was my first time in Thailand, and we stayed at this property which truly made me want to live in Thailand at some point of our lives. The architecture and design of the property really reflect the spa-zen style, and immediately you feel calmed down no matter how far you have travelled to get there.

We were very lucky to get an upgrade to a Villa. To me, that was quite a treat. We had our own courtyard and a pool in the courtyard behind a closed door. The furniture, the ceiling, the door, the bed, all had a very asian zen temple-like feeling. And not to mention the unforgetable lemon-gross oil scent coming from the burning candle. WOW, we felt we were in heavenly temple, yet having complete privacy. We had drinks in our pool and lounge around the courtyard in the morning. It was a world outside of the busy and hussle real life we all have. Treatly a retreat!

Breakfast was also over the top. As always, food in Asia is lot better than what they could offer in North America in a chain hotel. We had amazing fresh guava juice, and many other types of juice, a lot of selection from fish to noodle, to western breakfasts. Exotic fruits...

The only downside is the beach, which wasn't much of a beach because the property's location and the season. We were there in early July, just after the raining season. Hence there was basically no beach except swamp and sea weed. But we had our own pool as well as the hotel pool to use.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly, and also stop to acknowledge you when running into you. Very Thai, and they have such a good-nature personality. Always calm and pleasant.

If you aren't looking for a hotel with nice beach front, then this is a perfect choice. It will completely unwind you and your stress, and make you feel you deserve heavenly relaxation and the beauty of calmness. I bought a little dozy monk status that was the symbol of the hotel, and it sits in our living room. It reminds me every single day what a beautifully relaxing time we had in Thailand....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gx4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront villa (near main swimming pool) over the Easter weekend. Be sure to ask for a villa close to the main swimming pool. The first villa we were assigned was a long walk to the pool and beach - despite being designated as a Beach Front Villa.( Villa 107 was more of a "sea view hillside villa. ) Don't be dissapointed - be sure to ask especially if you are expecting to be near the beach.
Once we relocated to a poolside villa we were very happy. The splash pool was fantastic and just steps from the main pool and small beach. There are some garden view villas slightly higher up the hill but no view of the sea. The hotel has regular rooms too, but these are across the road accessable by a over road walkway. They have a huge lap pool near the regular rooms. However it is not attended by any staff (the bar area was empty) and very isolated from the rest of the resort.
It is a bit of a steep walk from the lobby down to the pool area via steps and a sloping pavement. Might be difficult for older less able bodied guests. I was always out of breath by the time I reached the top.
WIFI throughout was excellent and never had any problems with access or speed - even from the pool area.
Staff were mostly extremely nice with some mentions:
Tim our room attendant was very sweet and always had a smile on her face despite the hard work on searing hot days. She placed kissing swans made out of towels and a baby elephant made out of towels on our bed each day and was a pleasure always.
Korn - a great barman and took the time to remember our names , always friendly and smiling
Pop - equally friendly and also a very hard worker
Aod, pool bar attendant - a bit arrogant - never smiles or takes off his sunglasses , never said please or thank you. Felt he was "above everyone else working there" because he speaks better English than the rest. Not used to having someone from Thailand behave this way.
We used the hotel car to and from Chaweng in the evenings as the hotels is very quiet not much to do. Car was THB 470 but felt worth it. A regular Chaweng Meter Taxi is around THB 400
Went to Poppies Restaurant & Cottages on Chaweng Beach twice for dinner. A must if you want to get out of the hotel for a night out. Highly recommended.
Definately would return to this property again providing the Villa's near the pool are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby_Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing