We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Romantic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was a lovely experience, the hotel location is incredible with access to a private beach and beautiful views every where you look. The staff are friendly, helpful and always ready to assist. They also offer private dining and will surprise you with a location - we were simply stunned to be led through some rocks only to find ourselves on a private beach, with background music and lanterns casting a romantic glow on a table with candle light surrounded by scattered rose petals and frangipani and close enough to the water to feel like you were floating on it. We watched the sunset (the most beautiful I've ever seen) while we were discreetly served Lobster, prawns and local seafood, all perfectly cooked with the perfect wine. This was an incredibly romantic experience and the staff just know how cater for privacy without compromising service, it was wonderful.

The next day we were on a fishing boat and spent an amazing day fishing and swimming to smaller islands to investigate. This really is a great place if you want something romantic, planning on proposing or just want to relax

Room Tip: Choose a room that's on the Beach side, not the road; this will give you amazing sunset views fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    326
    83
    29
    23
See reviews for
237
654
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was my first time in Thailand, and we stayed at this property which truly made me want to live in Thailand at some point of our lives. The architecture and design of the property really reflect the spa-zen style, and immediately you feel calmed down no matter how far you have travelled to get there.

We were very lucky to get an upgrade to a Villa. To me, that was quite a treat. We had our own courtyard and a pool in the courtyard behind a closed door. The furniture, the ceiling, the door, the bed, all had a very asian zen temple-like feeling. And not to mention the unforgetable lemon-gross oil scent coming from the burning candle. WOW, we felt we were in heavenly temple, yet having complete privacy. We had drinks in our pool and lounge around the courtyard in the morning. It was a world outside of the busy and hussle real life we all have. Treatly a retreat!

Breakfast was also over the top. As always, food in Asia is lot better than what they could offer in North America in a chain hotel. We had amazing fresh guava juice, and many other types of juice, a lot of selection from fish to noodle, to western breakfasts. Exotic fruits...

The only downside is the beach, which wasn't much of a beach because the property's location and the season. We were there in early July, just after the raining season. Hence there was basically no beach except swamp and sea weed. But we had our own pool as well as the hotel pool to use.

Staff at the hotel are very friendly, and also stop to acknowledge you when running into you. Very Thai, and they have such a good-nature personality. Always calm and pleasant.

If you aren't looking for a hotel with nice beach front, then this is a perfect choice. It will completely unwind you and your stress, and make you feel you deserve heavenly relaxation and the beauty of calmness. I bought a little dozy monk status that was the symbol of the hotel, and it sits in our living room. It reminds me every single day what a beautifully relaxing time we had in Thailand....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gx4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in a beachfront villa (near main swimming pool) over the Easter weekend. Be sure to ask for a villa close to the main swimming pool. The first villa we were assigned was a long walk to the pool and beach - despite being designated as a Beach Front Villa.( Villa 107 was more of a "sea view hillside villa. ) Don't be dissapointed - be sure to ask especially if you are expecting to be near the beach.
Once we relocated to a poolside villa we were very happy. The splash pool was fantastic and just steps from the main pool and small beach. There are some garden view villas slightly higher up the hill but no view of the sea. The hotel has regular rooms too, but these are across the road accessable by a over road walkway. They have a huge lap pool near the regular rooms. However it is not attended by any staff (the bar area was empty) and very isolated from the rest of the resort.
It is a bit of a steep walk from the lobby down to the pool area via steps and a sloping pavement. Might be difficult for older less able bodied guests. I was always out of breath by the time I reached the top.
WIFI throughout was excellent and never had any problems with access or speed - even from the pool area.
Staff were mostly extremely nice with some mentions:
Tim our room attendant was very sweet and always had a smile on her face despite the hard work on searing hot days. She placed kissing swans made out of towels and a baby elephant made out of towels on our bed each day and was a pleasure always.
Korn - a great barman and took the time to remember our names , always friendly and smiling
Pop - equally friendly and also a very hard worker
Aod, pool bar attendant - a bit arrogant - never smiles or takes off his sunglasses , never said please or thank you. Felt he was "above everyone else working there" because he speaks better English than the rest. Not used to having someone from Thailand behave this way.
We used the hotel car to and from Chaweng in the evenings as the hotels is very quiet not much to do. Car was THB 470 but felt worth it. A regular Chaweng Meter Taxi is around THB 400
Went to Poppies Restaurant & Cottages on Chaweng Beach twice for dinner. A must if you want to get out of the hotel for a night out. Highly recommended.
Definately would return to this property again providing the Villa's near the pool are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby_Drake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you're looking for a place to relax and to chill out, but also you wish to mix with the crowd just by taking a taxi for 3 minutes, this Resort is best for you. The beach is silent and beautiful, rooms are comfortable and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayşe Ece D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were there for 3 nights and had a relaxing time there. At first, I was quite disappointed with the room as we booked for the beachfront pool villa but our villa turned out to have the swimming view with partial ocean view (for it being just above the main pool). I wanted to have the room right on the beach but was informed that they were fully booked. The villa itself was very nice and spacious though with big fluffy white bed and the living area. It was in an L shape so the other side was the shower, the bathtub and the toilet. The living area was very large and we spent some days just watching a movie because it was too hot outside. We had a small plunge pool in front of the villa. So once we were in our pool, everyone could see us from the main swimming pool. If we got the villa by the beach like I had wanted, our pool would have been straight on the beachfront and it would have been much more private. I would have given this hotel 5 stars if we had got the villa that I had initially booked for.

However, our stay was still very nice apart from this disappointment. The service was great with some of the most friendly staff we've ever met. The breakfast was really good and with a good variety. We ate dinner at the hotel once on the top of the hill. The food was delicious and the restaurant there was very nice with great views. One day we saw that they had really good seafood buffet too at the main restaurant but because we already booked somewhere else to eat so we didn't eat there.

The spa was nice and beautiful while my husband was mostly impressed with the fitness room which was spacious and well equipped. Every running machine also had its own TV.

We went to the city (Chaweng) a few times and got a limo service from the hotel. The driver gave us a tip that if we requested for a certain kind of vehicle (sedan) we would get it at a cheaper price which we did.

We love Samui and try to go there once a year. This is one of the hotels we will come back and recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you are going to get the beachfront pool villa, make sure you get the one that is really at beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micky_siva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had booked 5 nights, but extended to 9. You have high expectations at Marriott, and right from the check in, you feel welcome, get good explanation about the hotel and amenities, escortet to the room, again offering help with what ever needs.
The breakfast was amazing. The choices fantastic.
Special food events during the week, in fantastic ambients overlooking the sea.
Great swimingpools, one for relaxing and one 50m lap pool. Nice small beach, with free use of sea kayaks.
Location is nice, calm surroundings and yet only 5 min. to Lamai beach, and 15 min to Chaweng.
All in all a vacation you never want to stop.
Big thanks to all the smiling friendly efficient staff at the Renaissance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A very nice, green and lovely place to stay and relax. Good and very friendly staff at the beach bar. Perfect resort to start a holiday here. The deluxe room is at first the THAI stile bathroom. Romantic jungle to an enormous and excellent breakfast. All over I would tip a 4,7 of 5 !!! At least: Only 1 point for having a reservation of sunbeds at the beach at 8 a.m. latest. Otherwise you'll not get one. A bad habit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banko01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing