We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular - Faultless Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spectacular - Faultless Service”
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Faultless service, fantastic food. A little quiet in the evenings, but with Lamai and Chaweng a 10 minute cap ride away there's plenty of choice, and believe me it's nice not to be in these towns all your stay!, the Renaissance is beautifully located.. A real tropical paradise, lush gardens, stunning pool, heaven. The only downside is when the tide is out the sea is unswimmable, but this is a very very small price to pay.

If you can stretch to it though the Villas are 100% better than the hotel rooms which are a yomp up the hill from the pool/beach and restaurants.

No hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    334
    84
    30
    24
See reviews for
245
670
33
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

The Renaissance Koh Samui was a gorgeous resort with excellent service and very good restaurants. The infinity pool and beach area were very nice, and the modern-Asian-inspired room was perfect and comfortable.

Only a few minor downsides - the resort had many families, and the pool was full of young kids. The food (while awesome) was a little expensive. And Lamai is a good 20-30 minute taxi ride from the main town of Chaweng, so it is expensive to eat out at other resorts / explore the main town.

  • Liked — Modern, Asian-Inspired Room & Infinity Pool
  • Disliked — A few too many kids!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxevacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
Level Contributor
397 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Marvelous hotel, the best service I've ever had and nice weather.... Their culture is a bit different then in Europe ;-)
Maitenance of the hotel is the best I have ever seen. I felt really great there

  • Liked — Quality of service
  • Disliked — shallow sea
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank expat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

This was our second stay at this hotel and we won't be returning. We had asked for the same villa months in advance, and had it confirmed on e mail. On arrival we didn't get offered the customary cold towels and were told when handed our key that someone else was in the villa we had requested (as it is very private). We were given an upgrade to a sea view villa. this was not at all private, completely overlooked by adjacent villas and anyone using the pool. Also it was exactly like being sat by the pool for noise etc. There were now a lot of families using the resort unlike last year. the villas are now in need of maintenance and the resort is looking tired. Service was generally good, except for reception, who also refused to honour a late check out (only 2 extra hours) and blocked the phone so we could not call to confirm our travel arrangements before leaving. The food and beverage staff try very hard and the food standard is generally good. TaWaan restaurant is very quiet, not much atmosphere but the food has improved a great deal on last year and the desserts are well worth the visit.

  • Liked — Style of resort
  • Disliked — Tiredness of facilities
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2007

This beautiful resort is near-ideal for a honeymoon or romantic getaway. We stayed for a week and were extremely reluctant to leave. It is an oasis of peace and beauty, contrasting sharply with the eyesore towns of Lamai and Chaweng nearby. The resort is near the end of a dead-end road with very little traffic. Our drive from the airport to the hotel through Chaweng gave me no desire to return there, but we made one outing to Lamai, by walking down the road past some smaller hotels and a restaurant or two to the busy main road, where we flagged down a taxi. A couple of hours in Lamai was more than enough and we hurried back to the Renaissance where we remained until it was time to leave. There are two types of accommodation here: rooms and villas. The rooms are in an 8-story building across the road from the villa and restaurant portion of the resort. The rooms are beautiful and have a balcony with seats and a jacuzzi which can be made private (wink, wink) by lowering a shade. Lower-floor rooms look out onto a beautiful garden and lap pool, higher rooms overlook the trees towards the ocean at some distance. Right before we left we asked to be shown a villa and it was absolutely stunning. Very private with heavy vegetation and terracotta walls around it, a large living room, bedroom with canopy bed, and best of all a completely private patio with sunning chairs and your own small pool (more winking here). There's a nice main pool by the small and narrow beach on a shallow bay. The breakfast buffet was excellent though I wished for more Asian food. Dinner at one of the two restaurants or the poolside bar was quite good too, though pretty pricey by Thai standards. A drawback was that the restaurants were pretty empty at night, many people seem to eat outside the resort or in their rooms. There's an outstanding spa (expensive though), a workout room and an activities program. I have nothing but praise for the staff, they are simply wonderful and we became friends with a number of them. The guests are a pretty international mix, many Europeans, Australians, some Americans and Asians with a few Russians thrown in. I'd guess almost a third of the guests are honeymooners. The rest were mostly couples, some gay couples, and a few families with small children. If you bring older children, you'll probably have to take them on day trips around the island, as they may not find enough to do at the resort. This is by no means a cheap place, everything is pretty pricey but it's all top-notch in quality and service. We have to watch our travel budget pretty closely but this is one place where it's worth it to splurge. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — The beautiful and tranquil grounds
  • Disliked — The small beach was somewhat dissappointing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2007

We stayed at this hotel last summer and are only now getting round to writing a review.
Ok first here is the plus points:
We stayed in a private pool villa and it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. The most luxurious beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean place I have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a lot of beautiful high standard hotels worldwide. I think this villa was excellent value for money. It was very spacious and open plan with a lovely lounge, bedroom and dressing area. There was a sunken bath and the best bit....a large outdoor terrace with plunge pool and jacuzzi, sunloungers and table/chairs. There was enough space between the villas to play your music on the cd player without bothering anyone. It is very private and no one could see into our terrace. We had a fridge in our room for drinks and a plasma screen tv (not that we were ever watching tv) the room was cleaned every day with various gifts being left (fruit etc). There is a mosquito net around the bed and the bed is so luxurious and comfortable with the best of linens and pillows. The staff were very helpful and professional with a number of them taking time out to chat to us and make us feel welcome. The food was beautiful and the communal pool area very nice and quiet.
Ok now the not so good points:
There is not a beach to speak of, the sea is so far out it just looks like mud on the shore and you can't sunbathe except at the pool. You can walk to Lamai beach along the sea front in about 20 minutes and it is very nice. The food and drinks in hotel are extortionate although very nice but to eat and drink there every day would be too expensive and frankly a rip off for Thailand. eg two caeser salads at the pool at lunch cost around £20 ($40)! We would get a taxi most nights to Chaweng and eat but its not exactly next door. The hotel is extremely quiet which does suit some people but for us although we do like peace and quiet but then if we feel like being entertained at the hotel bar or meeting people it is nice to have the option. At this hotel there is absolutely nothing going on in the evening.
Our overall memories of this hotel are good due to the fantastic villa. That is the only thing that would make me go back but after walking along beautiful chaweng beach and seeing some of the hotels there we will probably book one of them next time

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank missy_greyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT-Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

We spent our honeymoon at this resort and couldn't fault it in any way. The pool villa was sensational, the staff were friendly and attentive and the location was perfect. The hotel is situated far enough out of the hustle and bustle to enjoy the quiet moments but close enough to get there if that's what you are looking for.

  • Liked — The Villa was very private and had it's own pool.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisDeutrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing