We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Thank you to Lutz and his team for a wonderful stay in January, although there were a few small issues these were quickly and quietly dealt with by the staff.
How impressed was I? Impressed enough to book again for 10 days in May and June later this year.
Breakfast is the highlight of the day and offers one of the best breakfasts I have seen, anywhere.

Roll on May, I cant wait to get back to Samui and the Renaissance

Room Tip: Garden villas are nicely secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear David O,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Sap,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor with us. It is great to see that you booked again with us in May and June. I will share your feedback with the team and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our property!

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Vacation at the "Renaissane Koh Samui" started with a lovely "welcome" at the airport.
The staff at reception was charming and helpful all the time, during our stay.
Our room at the 4th floor had seen better days. We had a great sea view, which you don't have at the lower floors, because of the trees...and the bathtub at the balcony was something special.
The Hotel offers private villas as well, which might be I better conditions, but I don't know...
I had my problems with that hard mattress, but my friend liked it...so that's a personal thing, I guess.
A little fresh paint, specially in the elevator areas would be great!
The pools are very nice, we loved the quiet 'leelavadee' pool for swimming and relaxing.
The beach is very charming and at low tide, good for a walk. Like many beaches on Samui, swimming at low tide is not possible!
Our massage at the spa was not what we expected for the prices we paid.
Food was good, but not overwhelming.
Breakfast buffet is a little poor and getting tea or coffee a little drama every morning...
Over all, we had a wonderful time at the "Renaissance Hotel" because the staff (all of them) was so lovely and friendly!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toniedorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Toniedorie,

Warm greeting form the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa.

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit in our hotel and your comments on Tripadvisor.

I would like to take this opportunity to personally to inform you that we already started a small renovation project to touch up the elevators to improve the look. It regrets us that you did not like our special designed Renaissance bed, but it is good to hear that your friend was satisfied with it.

The Renaissance Koh Samui always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service and we already improved our coffee and tea service by changing the sequence of service and already we are getting good feedback from our guests

It is really because of loyal guests like your good self who are staying with us, who assist us in becoming market leaders and improve our services to our guests all the time.

Dear Toiniedorie thank you for your stay and your valuable feedback, should there be anything else that I can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with my husband and my baby during few days in December 2012.

The rooms (villa with private swimming pools) are amazing, very large and extremely comfortable. Hotel provided complimentary baby bed.
Staff is nice and very helpful.
Swimming pool on the beach is beautiful and very relaxing.
Restaurants are very good and the hotel serves very good food in room service as well.
Vegetation in hotel is extremely beautiful.

The only limit is with so many plants around the villa, the private swimming pool is never under the sun and was cold (despite hot weather)... The common swimming pool was much better.
You also need to use taxi to go out of the hotel.

Beautiful hotel I would recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gajjju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Having not been to Samui before and completely unfamiliar with the island and the hotels, we picked the Renaissance as for the 5-star resort style accommodation on the East Side of the Island, we were able to get a great deal - US$210/night including breakfast.

The hotel is located on the beachfront about 2-3km north of Lammai Beach (or 200Baht by taxi north of Lammai or 10km/400Baht from Chaweng). It is with a cluster of hotels but a reasonable distance from the main tourist areas on the island.

The hotel is newish and the grounds were lovely and very well maintained. The hotel facilities, on the face of it, were also very good. We were very impressed with our room (a deluxe room on level 6) until we saw that the king-size bed was in fact two single beds pushed together. For a 5-star hotel, this is unacceptable, irrespective of whatever promotions is available.

The staff were great and no complaints there. In terms of the facilities, the gym was a bit pokey and underwhelming. For practical purposes it was not possible to do do a weights workout. The spa was absurdly priced. Whilst I am happy to pay a premium for the convenience and nicer surrounds of the hotel, the spa services were literally ten (10) times more expensive than the same services in town.

The worst part of our stay was the consistently bad food from the restaurants. It is amazing that an international hotel in a place like Samui could serve up such bad food. The breakfast buffet could best be described as medicore in terms of selection but food at the 'Western' restaurant was so filled with butter and oil it was inedible. The service was equally amiss. Food hygiene was also a concern and we were forever fearful of getting sick. For example, at the poolside BBQ we could see the seafood and meat sitting out in the sun. On one occasion we got food poisoning from the Banana Leaf restaurant. The solution to this is easy however - don't eat at the hotel!

All in all, if you can score a good deal at the Renaissance, it's certainly worth it. Just hire a car and get out and about - Jeep hire just outside the hotel is just 800B/ day (US$27/day)!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

... no Mango and Sticky rice.

We stayed here for three nights and did not want to leave. On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a villa for a discount and I'm glad we took this. Villas are ideal for small families or couples seeking a room with their own private courtyard with its own outdoor jacuzzi and two sunloungers. We were a five minute walk from the beach (if you dawdled) and the two restaurants. The staff were friendly and keen to ensure you had a pleasant and enjoyable time. The staff ensured we had plenty of bottled water for our son and asked each day if we needed anything for him. As previous reviews note the little touches like insect repellent in your room were welcome. Reception were helpful in arranging day trips with local taxi firms.

Why then only four stars? Firstly each night we ordered room service and asked for the Thai classic Mango and sticky rice. Each night we were told that it was not available. But when we went walking round the nearby market they was plenty of mangos on sale. We asked for a travel cot for our son which was delivered on time and set up for us. The cot had an insect netting round the side, which was defeated by a hole the size of a 50p piece. The hotel also supplied an insect net (which also had holes in it) so we used this to cover the side and our own travel insect net to cover the top of the cot.

These two 'minor' issue do not warrant a 4 out of 5. More a 4.7, but I cannot award this so 4 out of 5 it is. I will be recommending the Renaissance to all my friends who are looking for somewhere to stay on Koh Samui.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Mr. Daniel P,
Warm greeting form the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa.

First of all I would like to thank you for your recent visit in our hotel.
Through Tripadvisor it came to my personal attention that we unfortunately failed in providing you a great experience this time, especially with regards the mango sticky rice and the insect netting for the cot.

There is for sure no excuse for not having any mango sticky rice especially for 3 days. It is only that we are working with approved supplier by Marriott to ensure the quality of products like mangos and that supplier had challenges during that period. Additionally I would like to inform you that we purchased new insect netting for the cot and will make sure that this will be representable like what you can expect from the Renaissance Brand

I would like to take this opportunity to personally apologize to you about this and at the same time to assure you that the Renaissance Koh Samui always seeks to maintain the very highest standards of quality and service.

Dear Daniel P again thank you for your valuable feedback and if there are any questions please do not hesitate to contact me in person.

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our first trip to koh samui. We are from ottawa canada and we travel alot. The island is stunning and the hotel was perfect. The staff especially dan (tawaNN restaurant) wat and tim as restaurant supervisors made our stay great. The deluxe rooms were large with a cool tub on the balcony. Always clean and fast compared going to mexico or cuba. If you needed anything you gave a call and it was there. The tawaNN restaurant was stunning with a sunset view. The beef night was like eating a steak in canada. Hats off to the chef. For the people who complain they need to pay the prices on our side of the world for mexico etc and not get the best service. We will come back again.

Terry and sherry clark

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days just before the Christmas, we had a great family time in our pool villa with all the privacy it offered. My kid took dips and played in the in our villa's pool. I also relaxed in the pool. The resort's pool is adequate for adults swim and relax also for children to play and have fun. The breakfast is good, but monotonous, however they have a good selection of fresh juice including healthy juice. The F&B manager and the GM are very friendly and helpful. We got a surprise welcome bottle of wine. The staff are courteous and always full of smiles. We love the location because it is quiet and away from the craziness of Chaweng. We easily went to Chaweng for a bit of the action and then returned to our villa for relaxation. We will return to this hotel before long.

Room Tip: We paid for a one-bedroom pool villa, we had expected there will be a separate bedroom in addition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Segebaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,461 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $163 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing