We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Executive lounge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Deventer
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No Executive lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

All good and service is great!
But this is my first Marriott without executive lounge.
So please Marriott do something with this:
- Update the rooms
- add an Executive Lounge

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    684
    322
    81
    28
    22
See reviews for
231
646
30
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I am so very happy that we chose to stay at the Renaissance- it is perfectly situated on a semi private beach, far enough away from Cheweng and Lamai to be quiet and relaxing, yet close enough to these areas to still enjoy their restaurants and shopping (The centre of Cheweng is only 10 mins away in a taxi, and Lamai is only 5 mins away). On our two previous holidays to Koh Samui we have stayed in Cheweng, and on our last vacation we noticed that the natural progression of development was occurring (bringing more people to the area)- and wanting a quiet and peaceful location to sit and read our books- we chose to stay outside of Cheweng on this holiday.

The staff are amazing- they were able to assist with booking taxis and booking tours. I have never felt so welcomed in a resort as it did here - I cannot fault this boutique resort. If you want to relax in a tropical haven then this is the place for you. Having about 80 rooms means that the hotel is fairly quiet most of the time. Although it was at full capacity while we were there it was not uncommon to only have 30 people sitting around the pool and ocean. The beach was clean, the ocean water was warm and varied between waist and knee height depending on the tides. We spent equal time in the pool and ocean.

We took advantage of the upgrades that were available and stayed in a garden pool villa and also a seaview villa. If you get the chance I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: garden pool villa and seaview villas are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJNHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerringong, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed at the Renaissance Koh Samui in the Royal Lamai Suite for 5 days and enjoyed every minute of it. Staff were excellent, especially Marijn who was our customer service rep. She couldn't do enough for us and everything she arranged, happened without any hassle at all. All the staff were great though. The Suite was well appointed and the pool a joy. We had a Thai Massage at the Spa which was also a real pleasure.

I have to agree with other comments that this is a hotel for couples and maybe couples with young children...not really for teenagers. Hired a car for a day (organised by hotel) - no hassles and the island was fun to drive around.

All in all, a great stay and we will be back. Thanks to Lutz, Marijn and the team.

Room Tip: The Royal Lamai Suite is worth the extra cost for the privacy and access to own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ogsplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. While the location and grounds are immaculate, and the rooms are gorgeous, it's the kindness and courtesy of the staff that completely won my heart. When you can't leave a resort without feeling as if you're leaving new friends, you know it's been a worthwhile experience.

Anyone who complains or is disappointed with this hotel and its staff should probably stay home, as it truly doesn't get better than this. The hotel has its own beach and several pools, a restaurant, bar and day spa and many activities to keep guests interested and busy. You're within walking distance from a nice little affordable restaurant called JR and the convenience store that's open 24hours.

The hotel makes renting a scooter (less than $10/day) to explore the island simple and efficient. In fact, everything I asked about, the staff was more than happy to help me with. They have regular shuttles to Lamai and Chaweng, but be sure to book those a few hours in advance to ensure a spot. Every tour and trip I wanted to take was handled efficiently and effectively by either the reception staff or the greeting staff, and instructions for each tour were clear and concise.

I never had any problems with a language barrier, as the staff spoke perfect English, but it helps to know how to say "thank you" in Thai, if for no other reason than the smiles you'll get from the staff in return. Because of this hotel's staff, as well as the peaceful atmosphere, I'll be going back every year from now on. They not only made me feel welcome, they made me feel special.

Oh, and if you go to a country foreign to you and don't bother to learn some of the language before you arrive, you really can't complain about communication barriers. But that's merely my opinion.

Room Tip: Villas are more expensive than regular rooms, but well worth the money. All other rooms seemed comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in a Garden View Villa, which is walking distance to the pools and to the beach. The villa was a nice size with four poster bed, couch, and TV. Although it was spring break, there were few children at the resort. The clientele appeared to be mostly couples. Pros: the staff is wonderful and responsive, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to poolside, to the restaurant. All were friendly and helpful. The food is quite good and varied to include local favorites, as well as western. They were even able to make special requests for our child. The pool toys are a nice touch to give the guests something to play with, as are the kayaks, which may be used in the shallow cove free-of-charge. We especially enjoyed dining on the beach under the stars. Grounds are well-maintained and tropical. Views are beautiful. Cons: not family-oriented. Many couples....many displays of "public affection". No kids club (although there is a room for toddlers? perhaps). Movies behind front desk were not kid-friendly (only one choice for school aged children). Library offered nothing. No board games displayed. Fitness room/equipment in need of repair! Smoking poolside and on beach was a turn-off...there was no escaping it. Rooms in need of update. Overall, hotel appears to be overpriced for the area and for the quality of amenities.

Room Tip: Choose a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merlionease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceKohSamui, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Dear Merlionease,
Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa.
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your experience in the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa. Your review, which clearly lists your perceived pros and cons during your stay with us, helps to continuously improve the hotel experience of our guests and for that we are very grateful. As you mentioned in your review, there are resorts on Koh Samui that are more popular amongst families with children, even though we currently have each day 25-30 children as our guests during the Easter Holiday period. Renaissance hotels all over the world aim to attract travelers who share an appetite for discovery. As a result, we welcome guests of all ages, among which a great share of couples who enjoy discovering our hotel, the distinctive beauty and charm of Koh Samui while enjoying our secluded and tranquil location. However, as the suitability of our resort to especially children is of paramount importance to you, I have to apologize that the focus of our resort has not been more clearly communicated to you. Regarding the quality of our hotel amenities, I am very sorry to hear that you assessed the hotel as overpriced for the area. I would like to assure you that your review motivated us to go over our library offerings and movie database again. I am sorry that you were not able to locate our Kids Room which is located next to our Gift Shop, but its configuration suits more for toddlers than for teenagers. Subsequently, we will also take another close look at our fitness room in order to make sure that it meets our guests’ expectations. I hope that when your travels will bring you back to our resort one day to discover something wonderfully new, you can experience our continuous improvement yourself.

Dear Merlionease, thank you for your stay, should there be anything else that I can be as of assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With best regards,

Lutz Mueller
General Manager
lutz.mueller@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the Rennaissance. Biggest problem was the lack of a concierge to help us find restaurants for dinner and plan day outings. This function was done by the reception desk. They tried hard but did not have the proper knowledge to help us. For example, we booked a tour for elephant rides but they neglected to tell us to bring cash to pay for this excursion. We thought we had paid at the hotel desk when we booked this tour. Other similar problems. We did have a problem with the level of English of the staff as well as their poor training. Another example...at a hotel buffet dinner, no one could help us order our food from the chef and he had no clue as to what we were requesting.
Got upgraded to a villa. Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Go for the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceKohSamui, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Judy G,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa.

As it is with help and input as your review that we are able to consistently improve the hotel experience of our guests, I am grateful that you have taken the time and effort to provide feedback on your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that some aspects of your experience within the Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned in your review, the Renaissance does not feature a separate concierge desk. Our reception desk and guest relation ambassadors, however, are delighted to provide guests with recommendations and suggestions for restaurants and day trips according to our extensive Renaissance Navigator database. As the Navigator program is specially designed to let guests discover the Koh Samui area in a trouble-free way, I have to apologize that useful practical information regarding payment for your excursion was not clearly provided by us.
Regarding the communication problems, I am sorry to hear that you have not encountered more of our English speaking Thai ambassadors, or the international Guest Relation Management Trainees. We are consistently striving to improve the English language knowledge of our ambassadors and we just renewed our contract with a professional outside company which does conduct the English classes at our resort. Based on your comments I will make sure that the restaurant team will receive all the training that is needed. I hope that when your travels will bring you back to our resort one day, you can experience our continuous improvement yourself.

Dear Judy G, thank you for your stay, should there be anything else that I can be as of assistance with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

With best regards,

Lutz Mueller
General Manager
lutz.mueller@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon earlier this month. We had a Garden Villa with private pool. The villa was spacious and very comfortable and the pool was great to relax in at night (even better once we realized there were jets). The hotel setting was also great. The gardens made you truly feel like you were in an exotic setting. Flowers from the trees were always falling from the sky to make it a really unique feel. The pool was great and overlooked the beach. The beach was at the very northern end of Lami Beach in a bay that was relatively shallow (3 feet deep) and very calm. It felt like the world's largest swimming pool. The staff was amazing as well. They were very friendly and always smiling. The breakfast was good but some of the other hotels we stayed at had better. The dinner on the beach was a great time and well worth the money. The hotel also offered a free shuttle to Lami and Chaweng beaches. We had fun at each place but realized that our hotel location and beach was much more relaxing. We also took out the kayak and paddled around the bay. We had a great time and would recommend this hotel for others to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a villa with a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbionic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing