We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Thai restaurant”
Review of Imchai Thaifood

Imchai Thaifood
Ranked #7 of 153 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Basic Thai restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

On the ring road near Buddy hotel,this is a small shack type restaurant.The food was tasty and simple.Good price too.More a place to grab a quick snack rather than dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    92
    30
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Imchai restaurant will ready soon!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

New building. This place will open in august again. Maybe price will more.. but not to big not like every where. Important is a food and owners! We are love them!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LenaDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely and delicious!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Imchai is a really small place on the roadside of the ring road a few minutes outside of the city center of Lamai. It is nothing more than a few benches beneath a wooden roof and an open kitchen adjacent to the seats. But this is authentic Thai atmosphere and the dishes are wonderful. Really tasty, really cheap and made fresh before your eyes! We went there four times in a week because we felt so at home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ws78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic local restaurant with really fresh food. Great for veggies.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The restaurantis easy to miss, as it is a little set back from the road compared to the neighbouring outlets. The restaurant is truly authentic, with the kitchen at the roadside ( behind a counter ) and seating to the side and rear. Do not expect silverware and ironed napkins.

We took out 2 year old son along, and while there are no child seats, there are plenty of cushions to sit little ones on.

We were the first people in, and were greeted and served promptly. My wife is vegetarian, and when ordering and requesting no meat, the owner/ waitress/ chef :-) offered tofu instead.

The food was amazing, although dishes came separately. We noticed the chef running out every so often, and she was popping to the local market stalls and buying the ingredients to make the dinners. You can't get fresher than that !

By the time we left, the restaurant was full, with the chef running in and out continuously. The food is amazing. I have never had vegetables in a Thai like it. The mains are approx 60 baht each, and all in including beers it was less than 500 bht.


A great local restaurant, well deserving of their trip advisor reports.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Thai dish of the holiday”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Thai food, fresh and full of flavour then this is the place to go. Exellent value for money and origianl setting (in a bamboo seating on the edge of the road)
I had the seafood chili paste - outstanding. Beer is cheap and the service is quick. Cooked fresh in sight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imchai Thaifood also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Imchai Thaifood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing