We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely and delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imchai Thaifood

Imchai Thaifood
Ranked #5 of 146 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Imchai is a really small place on the roadside of the ring road a few minutes outside of the city center of Lamai. It is nothing more than a few benches beneath a wooden roof and an open kitchen adjacent to the seats. But this is authentic Thai atmosphere and the dishes are wonderful. Really tasty, really cheap and made fresh before your eyes! We went there four times in a week because we felt so at home.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ws78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    66
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic local restaurant with really fresh food. Great for veggies.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The restaurantis easy to miss, as it is a little set back from the road compared to the neighbouring outlets. The restaurant is truly authentic, with the kitchen at the roadside ( behind a counter ) and seating to the side and rear. Do not expect silverware and ironed napkins.

We took out 2 year old son along, and while there are no child seats, there are plenty of cushions to sit little ones on.

We were the first people in, and were greeted and served promptly. My wife is vegetarian, and when ordering and requesting no meat, the owner/ waitress/ chef :-) offered tofu instead.

The food was amazing, although dishes came separately. We noticed the chef running out every so often, and she was popping to the local market stalls and buying the ingredients to make the dinners. You can't get fresher than that !

By the time we left, the restaurant was full, with the chef running in and out continuously. The food is amazing. I have never had vegetables in a Thai like it. The mains are approx 60 baht each, and all in including beers it was less than 500 bht.


A great local restaurant, well deserving of their trip advisor reports.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Thai dish of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are looking for authentic Thai food, fresh and full of flavour then this is the place to go. Exellent value for money and origianl setting (in a bamboo seating on the edge of the road)
I had the seafood chili paste - outstanding. Beer is cheap and the service is quick. Cooked fresh in sight.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best food on Samui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Being a panaeng lover I rate this as the number one restaurant if the ones I tried on Samui. The food is freshly cooked and the flavor is perfect every time. The papaya salad is fresh with distinct flavors, and the panaeng had both me, my wife and our kids in Thai food heaven. Skip the so called fine dining options - they are most often horrible cooks - and eat here instead. The price is low, but even if it would be five times higher, it would still be the best option for good food on Samui.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HenricBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thai food doesn't get any better than Imchai!))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

During our stay in Koh Samui we've been to about 10 different restaurants and Imchai is by far the best one on the island. The food here is simply delicious and the prices are unbelievably cheap. And of course the owner and her daughter are very nice and open people who are always happy to see you and do their best for you to enjoy the food and the atmosphere of the place. All of these factors just make you want to come back to Imchai again and again and thats exactly what we'll do next time we go to Koh Samui.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ILYA_MED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imchai Thaifood also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Imchai Thaifood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing