We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Jamin Cafe'

Jamin Cafe'
Ranked #64 of 154 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A brilliant little cafe, sitting at the end of the main road this little Jem is an absolute must visit in Lamai. The food is excellent, the service brilliant and the decor is a little piece of Italy in Thailand. Add to this the hosts are so friendly and attentive and it's little wonder you find yourself migrating back here for more.
Try the coffees, the best in Thailand by a mile.

Don't miss this place, you'd be missing something special..

And did I mention it's amazingly good value too?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreimack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee and lovely breakfast”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Jamin' Cafe is a rare gem in Lamai, in that its coffee is seriously good - real, proper Italian-style, as opposed to instant. They do lovely breakfasts and paninis too, as well as very well-priced Thai food. I had the cooked breakfast, with eggs, bacon and toast, along with a lovely cappuccino, for 140 Baht - far superior to the breakfast on offer in our hotel. We'll definitely be back before the end of our trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julllaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Lamai hands down!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed next door at the Lamoon Lamai, a great hotel, but breakfast was not included with my room. Man oh man was I happy to discover Jamin cafe next door! I'm from Montreal where we're pretty serious about our coffee and this was the only place in Koh Samui/Lamai and pretty much all of Thailand that reminded me of home. The owner, Luca, an extremely nice guy ... is from Italy as is the fantastic coffee he serves. For some reason almost everywhere in Thailand they serve instant coffee ... even at the 5 star hotels I sometimes stayed at !?!?
Not at Jamin! I had 2 double espresso's every day I stayed in Lamai and may I also add that his girlfriend and cook serves up incredible Thai dishes as well as Western breakfasts, panninis and much more. I couldn't believe how reasonable the prices were for the high quality of the food and beverages. If you consider yourself a coffee lover you MUST check this place out! Go for a nice espresso or cappuccino and try the crispy pork or any of your favorite noodle dishes and you will be 100% satisfied!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cafe, Great Service”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

It's a cafe so let me start out by saying the coffee is fantastic. Most places on the island will serve you instant coffee but not here. I cannot begin to explain how friendly and happy the owner of this cafe is. Anytime you walk in there and you can't help but be in a better mood. The cafe serves delicious thai and italian cuisine. The italian paninis with salami or chicken are really tasty and the breakfast plate is great also. Best bacon I had on the island for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nirvico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamin Cafe' also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Jamin Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing