We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Coco Mantra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Coco Mantra
Ranked #1 of 41 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

This new hotel on the eastern side of Samui, at the northern part of Lamai, opened its doors in February 2012. This was our thirs saty on the island and this time we stayed in Palm Coco Lantra. Just for a couple of days in October 2012, in a perfect room on the third floor (35, Deluxe Seaview)
Everything was spic and span and the only complaint we could find is that they'd forgotten to refill the complementary instant coffee. Who drinks this anyway? A filled minibar compensated more than sufficiently.
With its private beach and cool, on-the-beach swiming pool the hotel offers great possibilities for a relaxed stay. The view from our room was exactly as from their website photos: great!
Though Lamai main beach is only about 400 metres away via the beach, I would still advise to rent yourself a scooter (200 THB/day at the hotel). Pitty they were unable to supply a helmet. Simple helmets at the local Tesco are available between 200 and 600 THB. Perhaps a nice souvenir to take home, but don't expect too much of it.
When arriving on Samui make sure you booked your pick up by the hotel bus. The driver is a great host and instantly makes you feel welcome. As he represents the hotel, he is a very good ambassador. You can only make a first impression once! It instantly gave confidence.
If you choose to take a cab it might set you back between 500 and 700 THB.
The reception staff is very welcoming and do their utmost to make you feel comfortable. They must work on their English, but hey, I wish my Thai was as good as their English. With hands and feed and some Thanglish you get what you want.
It's the charm, and their hospitality which makes up for a lot. I bet this is a family owned business.
Tips:
*be careful with little children on the balconies. The balustrade fence has horizontal bars and they can easily climb over them.
*get yourself a scooter or car if you want to explore the island.
*the distance to the main road (4169) where you can stop a cab is about 200 meters. But we choose the daring way.
*should you choose the villa, be aware it can be noisy as they're situated very near to the beach and pool. But if you have kids, they'll love it and so will you.
*the free WiFi was excellent all over the place and fast!
*if you look for a good nightlife nearby, (Walking) forget it; this hotel is for peace and tranquility. However, Chaweng is nearby and so is the moderate Lamai. I'm sure a cab driver will drop you off at crawling distance from the hotel.
*I had the Thai massage and loved it. It's all there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBUYFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    71
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
149
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Booked through agoda.

The hotel is located just by the beach, but not really a walking distance from the main road. Since we rented a car, this was no issue. If you're directing anyone here, tell em it's behind the Sawasdee building, and beside the Renaissance hotel.

Booked two rooms connected to each other. Only one room facing the beach tho, but it was good either way. Large, clean rooms with extra cushions and chairs. Also there were 2 lazy chairs at the balcony.

Stayed for 2 days 1 night. Checked in early as we moved from another resort near Chaweng Noi.

Kids enjoyed the pool. Pool depth of 3ft - 4ft. Length approximately 40ft or more. No pool for kids. The girls had their arm floats on, so they managed well. Huge towels provided and smaller for the kids. You can get a drink from the cafe just off the pool - you don't have to exit the pool to place your order.

A few steps from the pool and there's the beach. Good swim only when there's high tide. During our visit the tide rises late in the afternoon and maxed at midnight. The beach was clean and beautiful. Stretched between a few resorts. Good stroll.

The spa was a wow. Beautiful traditional set up. Descent dressed and polite female masseurs. Enchanting aroma. Relatively cheap compared to other spas nearby with the same setup. But there are always other cheaper (maybe naughtier) spas out there at Lamai beach walking street.

Would definitely go here again. Maybe will stay longer next time. Excellent for what we paid.

Room Tip: If you have extra $$$ and want more privacy, book the villas which are closer to the pool, beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the palm coco mantra hotel, this is located some way outside of lamai and is ideal if you want a peaceful stay.
It is a relatively newly refurbished hotel and as such has a few teething issues, no towels at times around the pool and unsure how to make cocktails, both very minor details as the staff were all very eager to help.
We had one of the beach villas and they were excellent, very spacious, clean and modern.
We had an amazing view of the beach and the infinity pool which looks out to it. Our villa/room was about 20 metres from the beach.
The staff were all very helpful and would call local companies to organise tours, taxis etc on request.
The hotel is next to the renaissance hotel and spa, this is probably a better reference for taxi drivers etc as it is more widely known.
We walked back from lamai but wouldn't advise it as it is about 3km to the centre.
Overall I would definitely stay here again, excellent staff and rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iangault1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiroshima, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I liked this place enough for the one night I stayed to come back after scuba diving on Koh Tao, but after staying another 4 nights my opinion decreased considerably.

Upside: quiet, secluded location with ocean view and nice pool, plus clean rooms and decent buffet breakfast

Downside: grainy part of Lamai beach is not suitable for swimming, far from any shopping or restaurants (and their own is overpriced and not very good), try to rip you off with their 'shuttle' service to the airport

After being lied to about how long the ride to the airport took and taken for 600 baht when a taxi would've been less (despite their claims otherwise and that a taxi would make me late for my flight) I'm tempted to give them a 3, but the rest of the staff was so nice and hotel was pretty classy for what I paid on agoda, so I'm rounding up from what would be a 3.5. But I only recommend it if you want to do nothing but lay by the pool! Insist that they call you a taxi when you leave, no matter what ridiculous lines they feed you.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms don't have a view--spend a bit more for a balcony with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.7 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Coco Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Coco Mantra

Property: Palm Coco Mantra
Address: 143/11 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Coco Mantra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Coco Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Coco Mantra Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing