We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here one night and had no problems whatsoever. I read reviews about theft at the hotel but we didn't encounter anything like that. Ideal short stopover in a good location. Rooms pretty basic but for the price we didn't complain. Taxi 370bhat from airport & can book boat transfers for 450bhat with pick up from hotel. Our stay ran smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    31
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
33
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

From the moment we started checking in, the two front desk staff acted suspicious. The lady would only allow us to pay cash on arrival, requested us to sign a blank invoice (including passport number) and could not explain what it was for. After I paid cash, they were quick to show us the room. I requested a receipt which was ignored until I asked again. The two staff spoke to each other in Thai and she filled out another sheet in the invoice book (not the one I signed).

The man led us to our bungalow- showed us around the room and then stopped at the safe in the closet. Asked me to put in a code as he stood there watching. I refused and he tried asking again. Finally left the room when he realized I wasn't going to use the safe in front of him. The beach bar at the end of the bungalows closed early, yet the three staff remained sitting in the dark talking to someone on their walkie talkies as we were on the beach for another three hours (confirms suspicions of previous review).

We had an uneasy feeling about the hotel and read the other review on this website. We carried all valuables with us for a day and decided to check out two days early. I would strongly recommend avoiding this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank 242Stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends in late March 2013. They rooms were neat, the bed large but very hard. Hard beds suit some but not others. The bathrooms were a bit of a disappointment. A shower screen would have been nice and it’s not nice to have a toilet with a shower. The WiFi was very slow in the rooms but reliable and fast when on the balcony. Considering the price, location (right on the beach) and they quality of the accommodation I would definitely recommend others stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chodoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Nice rooms, cleaned everyday, good little beach bar to drink at. Net cafe at the entrance organized activities had excellent service and gave great deals. Great value for money. I like hard beds so this wasn't a problem for me at all, others may not like it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattr1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

now, we mainly booked this hotel as we see it close to beach and have pool, well, dont be fooled, the pool is from next door neigboor marina villa, and of course you cant use it.. upon arrival, we had to pay via credit card which is extra 2.5% charge as we didnt had cash with us, but thats not hotels problem.. we rented the bungalow, my advice, avoid bungalows, their outdated, air condition is old, working but not as it should, tv is old, the furniture needs to be renovated and tgh only plus, the beach is less than 30m away from you.. we had a chance to visit the appartments, and they looked slightly better with balcony view to the sea and marina villa pool.. the staff looked friendly the times we asked them for anything, wifi works..
overall rating is ok, but theres better options for the same amount

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Great bungalows right next to the beach. Rooms all have balcony and are well maintained. Right next to the walking street. Motorbikes can be parked just a few meters from the bungalows. Family friendly, no russians.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank felixhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The room is decent for the price, clean bed and bathroom. We stay in a standard room with no beach view, but rooftop views. We do not recommend to use laundry service, which is done by third party, we got our laundry back with yellow stains and a dirty t-shirt. The hotel paid for the damages though. There is additional charge if pay with creditcards.

Room Tip: Lamai beach is very quiet at night, compare to Chaweng beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzym0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#37 of 62 in Maret
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Villa
Marina Villa
#31 of 50 in Lamai Beach
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Beach Resort

Property: Marina Beach Resort
Address: 124/169 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing