We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service with a fantastic view.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TawaNN

TawaNN
Ranked #24 of 151 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Thai Local Seafood Restaurant with all products locally sourced on the Island of Koh Samui. Well known fot its Seafood Platters and Samui Lobsters
Chengdu, China
2 reviews
“Great food and service with a fantastic view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great environment with fantastic view. Very friendly staff and great food (Thai food with a twist). The atmosphere with very friendly and helpful staff, nice weather, great food and a fantastic view made this dinner to one of the best I've had in a very long time. You can chose from not so spicy to very spicy, it's up to your preference. Thai food made with a personal touch, a little special and it really works. Also they have some great drinks you can chose from, their soft drink with ginger is really nice, ask them to add some vodka in it ... makes it even better =;o).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foppa65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at TawaNN, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Foppa65,

Thank you for you kind review and I will share this with my team! We have changed the concept of the restaurant to a Thai Seafood Restaurant since 15th of December and all the guests are very enthousiastic about it!

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Attention to detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

After an initial communication error with our reservation, the staff, manager and chef couldn't do enough for us! The chef came down to the beach in the afternoon to introduce himself and came out to the table before each course to make sure everything was excellent. Lovely to see his pride in our delight! The food was delicious and very different; a vegetarian 3 course made for me! Fantastic experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at TawaNN, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Ibis R,

Thank you for your kind review and again our sincere apology that we did not have the correct reservation during NY Eve. As mentioned we had a special vegetarian menu, but unfortunately this was not communicated to you. Again i hope you had a great time and looking forward to welcome you again in the future

Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Probably the best in Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We haven't tried every restaurant or cuisines in Samui but at this level you'd be hard pressed to find such great atmosphere, view and food quality anywhere on the island. The menu is 'nouvelle' cuisine and is unpretentious, well presented and with great service. While the menu isn't wide it should satisfy everyone. It's worth the trip to Lamai.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at TawaNN, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Andrew,

It was great meeting you again and it is realy good to hear that you enjoy your stay again with us. Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment for our Signature Restaurant TawaNN.

Please let me know when you are coming back again and then I would love to show you the new concept of TawaNN as Local Seafood Restaurant.

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Very nice food but quite expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The menu is not extensive, I had ravioli with lobster my wife had the beef, both were very nice, service was pretty good but the lighting was very poor we couldn't see what was on our dish. I had soup as a starter my wife had a chocolate brownie, both were fine, the cost was 3,867 baht, expensive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbo367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at TawaNN, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Jimbo367,

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui and thank you for leaving you valuable comments for our TawaNN Restaurant.

Hereby I would like to provide you some feedback regarding your points.

Indeed our restaurant is a little bit higher priced then other local restaurants due to the fact that we only work with imported products from approved suppliers. Additional I would like to let you know that we already changed the lighting in the restaurant which improved the atmopshere as well.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and please let me know if you have any other questions

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Intimate and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I didn't have any expectations high or low but went in with an open mind and wow! The setting is lovely, very intimate quiet and romantic - nice view. Service attentive, lovely staff. And the food was excellent from the bread, to starter, main and dessert... Nothing at all was bad! If you're nearby it's definitely a nice surprise.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Anon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, Manager at TawaNN, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear 22Anon22,

Great to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant! more to come, because at the moment we have a new chef from Australia, chef Troy! we are planning to change the menu within 4 weeks.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again at TawaNN

Be well

Didier Guiaux
Beverage & Food Manager
didier.guiaux@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TawaNN also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to TawaNN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing