We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok not fantastic”

Uncle Rang Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 151 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ok not fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We called in here as we were driving past.

It's a nice location right on beach.

The food was ok nothing to rave about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    62
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good food and the staff was very nice. The restaurant is cute and on the beach. The place is clean and good price for the food. We went there two times to eat.

Terry and sherry clark

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you very much Terry and Sherry for your review. We do appreciate it. Thanks a lot to know that you enjoyed and loved to eat in our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Handy local restaurant on lovely beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This local restaurant was closest to our Banyan Tree hotel so we dined here a couple of times. It is on a really nice stretch of beach, with shallow waters all the way to a coral reef which encircles it. Food is good and reasonable, and there is a good choice. Wine is available, but like in Thailand everywhere is more expensive - stick to beer! Staff are friendly and service is good.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for this great compliment about our place. Thanks a lot enjoying our food and services. This is another encourage for us to keep it up our job and responsibilities.

Thanks for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you are looking for rustic Thai food in simple surroundings, Uncle Rang would be a good choice. Do not expect luxury. Plastic chairs, a menu with too many choices (a bit more restraint in their offering would be good, especially having the Western dishes seems odd) but a lovely view over the bay towards Lamai beach.

The friendliness of the owner/manager makes up for any mistakes. This is a place to relax and have a bit of fun. If something goes wrong with your order as we saw a few times around us, just let it go...with these prices and the friendly intent of the place everybody should remember their on holiday.

The curries were very good, especially the yellow one. Cocktails are not bad at all.

In short: A cute little place to visit, solid rustic Thai food with a killer view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for such a great review about our location. Thanks as well sharing your views, this could help us build a stronger and competitive service in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

For our last meal in Koh Samui, my husband and I wanted to go somewhere near our hotel and near the beach. We hadn't idea what to expect when we went to Uncle Rang. We were pleasantly surprised by the amazing beach side view and the delicious food. We asked for everything to be spicy and it was just right. I highly recommend their green curry soup with roti. My husband got the pad thai with king prawns. He said it was delicious as well. The service, however was not great. It took an hour for us to get our food, but thankfully we had a gorgeous beach view to distract us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monita81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Rang Restaurant also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Uncle Rang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing