We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutely amazing resort. Such attentive and helpful staff especially Luke and Botan, they really make you feel at home. I never want to leave. Fresh food and spectacular drinks with a jaw dropping ocean view, such a great way to start the day. I wish the wifi was better. I had no reception in my room or on my balcony which made it difficult to work. I will definitely suggest Le Meridien to friends and family and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyMRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear SydneyMRyan,

Great that you met both Luke and Botan during your stay and found them to be helpful and attentive.

While we are pleased that you enjoyed the resort in general, we do apologize for the internet reception and recognize that this is indeed an important service to have working well. While I'm not sure if our IT Support was called to assist, we will certainly monitor and try to make general improvements throughout.

Thank you for recommending Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa to friends and family as mentioned and we also hope to be welcoming you yourself back as well!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 973 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

This trip was very special and close to my heart and Le Meridien Koh Samui, Was the icing on the perfect cake. Everything was excellent and impeccably managed. The resort has great ambiance, excellent food, amazing location and super hospitable staff.

Room Tip: Choose anything its just beautiful... I went for the pool access suite and it was awesome !!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pankaj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Pankaj M,

We love being the icing on your perfect cake....Thank you!

Your positive recap of the stay is much appreciated indeed. Glad to learn that you were pleased with the resort, ambiance and team all around.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the moment we stepped into our ocean front villa we knew we were in for a relaxing vacation ready to be pampered. The villa is spacious and well appointed with many areas to lounge. The decor is Thai inspired with beautiful dark woods and the landscaping is mature and gorgeous.

The outdoor daybed was a great place to lounge in the morning while having coffee or to get relief from the sun during the day. To catch some rays there is a great big lounge chair for two on the opposite side of the daybed. The pool was clean, great size and private from the world. There is a perfect sized shrub separating the villa from the beach. To get relief from the heat there is an 'outdoor' living room which closes up and has great air conditioning. We honestly didn't use this room at all, but the option of course is always nice.

The bedroom is comfortable and spacious. The bed is extremely comfortable and the air conditioning works very well. We both slept great!! There are no words to describe the view we woke up to every morning. Waking up to the birds chirping, looking at the infinity pool spilling over into the gulf of Thailand was a taste of heaven.

Overall the bathroom was great. The only complaint we had about the villa was the lack of air conditioning in the bathroom. Since it is an 'outdoor' shower it is exposed to the climate which at times is extremely humid. So stepping out of the shower into an air conditioned room would have been nice but it certainly wasn't a deal breaker and was something different we eventually enjoyed. With that being said the shower wasn't completely outdoor, it was mostly indoor and a screen protected the shower from any bugs outside. The bathtub was completely outdoors, still private however, and could fit four people easily. It wasn't very practical so we didn't use it, but it was nice to look at and added to the ambiance of the villa.

At the risk of sounding cheesy, the releasing of the lanterns every night at 19:19 was magical. We only participated twice but it was a great way to kick off the night.

The service was top notch. Everything to the pick up from the airport, to the check-in, to breakfast service, to housekeeping was spot on. The language is obviously a barrier as we don't speak Thai, but the staff was very willing to understand and respond to every request or inquiry. We didn't meet Tina until the last day as we never really left our villa, but she was gracious, full of knowledge and was very pleasant to speak with.

Transportation to Chaweng is a piece of cake. If the hotel doesn't have a shuttle running to Chaweng when needed, we found it easy to walk out to the main street and hop in a shuttle/truck to Chaweng for extremely cheap.

Overall, we loved loved loved our villa and the boutique feeling of the resort and would have no problem returning there in the future. Well done Tina and team!!

Room Tip: Gotta book the ocean front villa! No questions!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlrRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear TrvlrRob,

I can understand why you were able to give such a fantastic description of our Ocean Front Pool Villa seeing that you mentioned you rarely left the room! Good that you snuck out for a bit though so that I could say hello.

Waking up to see the 25sqm infinity pool running in to the horizon of the Gulf of Thailand right from the bed can indeed be breathtaking and we're glad that you loved that and nearly all aspects of the room. We're also happy to learn that the team took good care of you and that you felt relaxed in the boutique feel and design of resort and its landscaping. The Celebration of The Day ceremony each evening at 19:19 is a highlight for many guests indeed so there was absolutely no risk in sharing that you enjoyed it!

May I help you with some Thai for your next trip which will hopefully be back here with us once again: Khob Kun Mak Kha Laew Phob Kan Mai Na Kha (Thank you very much and see you again)!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staying in a Pool Access Suite, which is a good room but not necessarily very spacious. The resort includes the outside terrace space into their sqm room space count, so that it's really only the small bedroom that is air conditioned. The semi open bathroom concept does not really work for me, but that is personal. Closet space is extremely limited with hardly drawers or shelves. The bed is very comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, knowledge of English varies. We were originally assigned a room with a fairly exposed terrace and asked if other more secluded rooms are available. The staff was very helpful to accommodate this and showed us various options to choose from.
Thai dinner at the restaurant was just OK, certainly not spicy....
The breakfast choice in the morning is average. The atmosphere at the hotel is very quiet and relaxing with sufficient space around the pool. Overall the resort is fairly good for the money, just don't expect it to be 5 star.....

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MOZBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear MOZBOB,

It certainly sounds like you had mixed feelings about the resort and while it was found to be good value for money, we regret that you did not find it was anything special.

It is at least good to know that our associates were friendly and helpful, particularly in finding you a room to best suit your needs. Each of our 4 suite types and 2 villa types have distinguishing features and I encourage guests to look at descriptions and floor plans on
www. lemeridienkohsamui.com/rooms for more information. The Pool Access Suite that you stayed in has the extra outdoor deck with lounging space so guests can maximize their experience of having a direct access to a shared pool while relaxing by the comforts of own room so yes, this does count as part of the suite space. It's just not an indoor air conditioned space just as you had mentioned.

As for the food in the restaurant, I'm sorry that it was not spicy enough as we can certainly adjust the levels to suit individual needs. Southern Thailand is renown for spicy cuisine so it would be very easy for our local chefs to raise the bar for a more inspiring taste! Moreover, we recently revamped our breakfast buffet and do apologize that this was not completed in time during your visit.

Should you have an opportunity to return to Koh Samui, we hope you will stay with us again to see some of the improvements made and we will certainly do our utmost to try and create more memorable impressions.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Le Meridien Koh Samui is awesome hotel. We love the japanese architecture, everything was very clean and we never saw more than max. ten other guest, so it was very quiet and perfect for a relaxing holiday. The hotel appears to be very high class and the location between lamai and chaweng beach is perfect.
The rooms were perfect and the highlight is the open air shower.
The most impressive and best part was the hotel team. Everybody was extremely friendly and tried to fulfill every wish. Especially Pan is the good angel of the crew, she did everything and many things more for us, thanks a lot :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heiko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Heiko L,

We are glad you seemed to enjoy your stay with us all around and had a most relaxing holiday. The location situated in between the 2 largest beach resort areas of Lamai and Chaweng does indeed provide a nice convenience for getting around and hopefully, you had a chance to visit both towns.

Best of all is to learn that the team took great care of you during stay, particularly Paen who looks after our fitness and activities team. I am sure she was delighted to be of service and if you didn't take a Yoga class with her on this trip, consider one for next time!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second stay at a La Meridien property, and the first one on the beautiful island of Koh Samui.

The resort is a little bit hard to see from the road. Our driver actually missed it and had to backtrack. You would never guess a large and beautiful resort is hidden there. We were greeted at the gate and escorted to a beautiful open lobby where we were greeted with a delicious beverage. The staff was friendly and professional. The room we originally booked was not available so we were upgraded to a pool-side villa. It was amazing. The room itself was a bit small, but the bathroom (or more precisely: bath area) was huge with sunken tub, large shower and double sinks. It felt like a true spa hotel. The pool was shared with 5 other villas (which were all occupied), but it still felt private. The whole area was surrounded by plumeria trees with singing birds. It was very relaxing. The room also had a large porch with a lounger, a table and a ceiling fan. There was a drying rack, which was a great addition, you could hang your swimsuit out.

The hotel sits on a quiet area of Lamai beach and features a long jetway into the ocean. The main pool overlooks the ocean and has many loungers and chairs.

We only used the hotel restaurant for coffee but it was also very relaxing. A manager (I believe it might have been the general manager Tina) came to see if all our needs were met. Another manager, an Australian (I think his name was Dave?), chatted with us quite a few times during our stay and was always available for suggestions and directions. What a great staff! I should also mention our housekeeper Maew, she was so helpful and friendly! We loved her. She even peeled oranges for us!

There is a happy hour at both the restaurant (4-6pm) and the bar (6-8pm). The coctails at the bar were great and the young lady serving them spoke great English and was very friendly. Make sure you visit the lobby at 19:19 for a lantern ceremony!

Lastly, I wanted to mention the cute little coconut monkey that the hotel uses instead of Do Not Disturb sign. It's a great souvenir from Koh Samui, they are locally made. The hotel one is quite pricey at 800 baht, but if you happen to be on Koh Samui on a Sunday, you can pick one at the Lamai Night Market for a lot less!

Overall, wonderful hotel, would love to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatifnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear hatifnati,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience, highlighting many details about the room, service and experience!

It sounds like you were staying in our Pool access Suite. The direct access in to the semi-private pool and deck area does offer a relaxing experience next to the Plumeria trees as mentioned. Fragrant too!

We're glad you also experienced some unique activities at the resort such as walking on the Ocean Pier (hopefully you did some fish feeding too?) and the very special Celebration of the Day at 19:19 each evening!

Your kind comments about the team is much appreciated and has been shared. Thank you for the recognition given, particularly Maew! Hopefully you felt at home with her care.

Please do come back and visit us soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last week at this beautiful resort. We actually booked this very last minute, as the other hotel we were staying at was terrible!
The hotel is really lovely and the staff were all very nice and attentive. We were impressed that they would greet us by name at the pool and the restaurant!
Breakfast was included in our rate, and they had a really nice breakfast buffet with something to offer for everyone. We also had some really great Thai food for lunch there as well.
The room was nice, clean and comfortable. The only complaint, was it was a little dark and hard to put makeup on due to the lighting. The bed was super comfortable and we got a great nights sleep.
The bathrooms are outdoors and very spacious. The only down side to the outdoor bath and showers, is the mosquitos could be a little annoying at times and you had to be sure to close the door right away so they didn't come in.
One of the highlights of the stay for me, was every night they do a Thai lantern lighting ceremony set to music. We got to have our own lantern and have it sent off to the sky with a wish. It was so peaceful and I'm glad we got to take part in that tradition. :-)
We would stay here again in a heartbeat and I'm glad we were able to get a room here at the last minute!
Oh, and I see some reviews complaining about the staff not speaking English very well. We didn't have that issue at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Kelly C,

We regret that you had to move hotels during your holidays but are fortunate to unexpectedly get you to stay with us as a result!

It is good to know that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from food and accommodation to service received and unique experiences like the Celebration of the Day ritual. As for the point about lighting, we will see how we can better improve this and do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Should you have a chance to return in the future, may we recommend the Terrace Suite or the Pool Access Suite which are more enclosed than the Verandah and Plunge Pool Suites which feature outdoor bathroom space. Hopefully, coils were at least set-up in the evening to minimize discomfort.

Thank you for your support and for taking the time to complete a review of your stay. Your comments have been shared with the team and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager


We apologize if the lighting in room was not sufficient enough for make-up and actually do have make-up mirrors available on request. However, once we find a permanent solution

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $167 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing