We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Luxury Hotel”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service is perfect and the team is very friendly and professional
Tina Liu (GM) is exceptional and very nice
The rooms and swimming pool are very clean and beautiful. no thing to say only I will come back with my family next time

Rachel & Franck

Room Tip: Ocean View Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lanavette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear lanavette,

Thank you so much for your kind note.

Knowing that you will return is the best information we can find on this review. We only hope to be welcoming you back for many years to come. The team will certainly be on their toes to ensure your family is well taken care of.

At this point in the year, may I take the opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a most happy, healthy and prosperous new year with many discoveries in an ennriching 2013!!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    223
    88
    29
    18
See reviews for
141
522
41
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Koh Samui is not really for families...but we did not know that until we touched down....on the way to the hotel, our very friendly hotel driver pointed out the highlights of the local area...but we could only see bars, massage parlors, laundry houses and restaurants.

The hotel itself is gorgeous...the rooms have kind of a Chinese decor and feel...absolutely lovely...the gardens are very well taken care for and the staff does make an effort to be polite, friendly and that makes the experience very pleasant....the main swimming pool faces the sea and inspires tranquility.

In terms of restaurant, they only have one...but the food, service and environment is great...also faces the sea...

I feel that this is a truly Le Meridien Resort.

The not so good things from a family point of view: there is no kids club and no area for kids to play...nor kids activities...
There was no sand on the beach....it was quite hard to understand what the staff said..., but something about a big wave a few days before...so the kids could not go to the beach....our swimming pool was a bit cold, but acceptable...

As a family. probably I will not return, but as a couple most definitely.




Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mbamaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear mbamaral,

We are glad that you enjoyed the property landscape, facilities and service and that it well reflects the Le Meridien Brand.

Unfortunately, you felt that the island in general and the hotel itself, not to be the most "ideal" destination for families and you may be right. While there are hotels and activities around the island that do cater to children, everything here is on a much smaller scale. However, that is also part of the beauty of this tranquil hideaway which still retains much of its simplistic charm.

Our resort is also designed more with couples in mind and while we do offer activities such as Muay Thai, Yoga, Kayaking, Arts and Crafts such as Batik & Bracelet making etc... to name a few, there is no kids club as mentioned.

On the other hand, extended families who travel with multiple rooms do tend to really enjoy our Pool Access Suites surrounding their own semi-private pools in cluster of 5, 6 and 7 rooms.

Although we regret that you will not be returning as a family, please do think of us when you have time for that couples getaway or once the kids are older!

As for the big wave, I think this might be a reference to high tide. There were some days earlier this month when a storm had passed through and the waters were more rough than usual over this period.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed late December 2012.. For just a couple of nights - this Starwood property is a complete stunner.. From the pier which extends into the sea to the lantern celebration every evening, this place makes you feel special and pampered..
The rooms are very nice.. With cute outdoor showers which lets sunlight in and the breeze.. The pool overlooking the beach is brilliant.. And of course the pier is what makes this resort special.. It's sort of a walkway into the sea.. Lying down on beachbeds in the middle of this surrounded by the sea is absolutely magical.. Dinner is organized some nights and is brilliant, needs reservation a day in advance
Food is nice and the chef makes a special effort - I wanted vegetarian and he made us some really nice thai curry.. People are very friendly and service of course is really good..
In low tide you can walk along the beach from the hotel to lamai beach and centre.. The way is dotted with massages on the beachside.. All of them are equally good and a must try..

Thank you le meridian for a lovely stay.. we dint feel like leaving the place at all..We only had a couple of suggestions - consider keeping cycles for use by guests, would be a great idea considering the rip-offs that taxis are and you am want to do something about the water puddles at the entrance..it's a tad annoying if we are out walking

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betttsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Betttsss,

It sounds like you discovered and enjoyed many of the unique highlights of our resort while here.

The Celebration of the Day ritual for one as mentioned, should not to be missed while here. Weather permitting during the short rainy season, Ocean Pier Dining is available with reservation but on other occasions when the tides and the skies better cooperate, we actually open it daily each evening for drinks and dinner, available to the public. This special experience can be enjoyed with others or privately with loved ones. There are different extensions that can be used!

As for the cycles, I assume you refer to motorcycles and scooters rather than bicycles? In any case, we do not accommodate these services directly because of safety reasons. However, at very affordable rates, they are readily available from 3rd party agents who are happy to pick up and drop off right at the hotel. Taxi rates can indeed be quite high, making our hotel cars very competitively priced. Usually price difference is only B100-300 Baht dependingn on location. There are also island tuk tuks (shared taxi's) which are most affordable for a quick ride. We are working on the water puddles out front on the main street in cooperation with local authorities as this comes from the mountainous area across street. When the rain stops, it is not an issue and we apologize for any inconvenience caused while here.

I see you had a chance to take alternative routes on the beach as well and went in to Lamai town which is accesible during low tides. Hopefully you found the area peaceful but not confining and will return for more holiday time!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed there early of December, as a SPG we get SPG room.Wow! Nice room.. I don't know why people complaining bout the bathroom. Even I like bathtub, but that private pool with water jet is fantastic! Bed in every Starwood hotel is always the best! There's fan and also Airconditioner in the room! And the socket near to kettle is covered for safety! And the coconut monkey that they use as DND is super cute, you got to have it.. And staff overthere is super nice.. I can't remember all (Fah..Diera..etc) and also housekeeping, when I called for adaptor, they are super fast sending it to me.. Everyday, there's always activities in the hotel, batik painting, candle making., muay thai class..and you can also rent scuba diving stuff overthere.and the restaurant is nice, nice design,nice people..definately will come again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear needhOliday,

As an SPG guest, we value your support and thank you for having stayed at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa on you recent visit.

It sounds as though you enjoyed the various features, activities/amenities and services available at our resort and hopefully, they added to an enriching stay experience. Our mighty protector of guest rooms, the hand crafted pig-tailed macaque, is everyones favorite and we are glad that you were able to relax when he was placed outside.

Fah, Dear and rest of team were also happy to be of service and I am sure they appreciate the recognition given. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and if you feel you "don't want to go home" we are more than happy to extend your stay!!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Meridien in Koh Samui for 3 nights in November and really loved it. We've been to other places in Thailand (Bangkok, Krabi, Chiang Mai, Phuket) but Koh Samui was the best for a beach holiday. We had Starwood points so we got bumped up to a room with the outdoor bathroom and little private pool. Honestly, that outdoor bathroom thing was better in theory than in practice. It poured one day and the outdoor toilet area had a big puddle for the next 24 hours and when you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night it kind of sucks to get your feet all wet! Plus it's hot and muggy and very buggy so taking a shower out there can be somewhat unpleasant and also itchy with the mosquitoes! I never used the private plunge pool either but it did look cool!

The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the pool is wonderful. As others have mentioned, there's not much of a beach but if you need beach there is the most gorgeous little cove with a picture-perfect beach and a place to get massages in a beach hut called Silver Beach/Crystal Cove literally a 5 minute walk from the hotel. There's even a free shuttle from the hotel if you're too lazy to walk 500 meters. But it is soooo worth it. Unfortunately I discovered it on my last day.

The staff was all very friendly and the food was good although we skipped the buffet breakfast after the first morning cause it was nothing special and quite pricey and you can just walk to Lamai for a cheap breakfast. We went to the beach at Chaweng one day too but that area is DEFinitely more if you're looking to get drunk and laid. It seemed to be chock full of drunk Aussie 20-somethings (and 50-somethings!) hitting on local teenagers. If you need nightlife Le Meridien is not for you but if you want a quiet, relaxing getaway it's wonderful. We did go to the spa and got the couples package which was utter bliss. All in all, well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Amy M,

The Plunge Pool Suite that you stayed in does incorporate outdoor space in to the bathroom area. The plunge pool itself has jets and is usually nice for cooling off in the open air so it really depends on what is important to the guest as our other suite options will also offer different unique highlights. The Pool Access Suites for one, offers direct access in to a semi-private pool. Nonetheless, the toilet area shouldn't get as wet as it does so we will certainly look in to how we can resolve this in the future. In the meantime, we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused during stay.

On the other hand, we are thrilled that you did indeed have a pleasant stay and enjoyed the hotel service and facilities. There is daily shuttle service to in to town and nearby beaches for guest discovery as mentioned. The hotel is conveniently tucked away off the main ring road without any disturbance from the hustle and bustle of passing traffic while allowing easy access to nearby attractions and nightlife. Lamai town is actually even accessible along the beach during low tides and as Samui's 2nd largest town, it is more frequented by local residents and even tends to have better priced drinking and dining options.

With direct flights available from Singapore and having discovered Silver Beach only on your last day, we hope you will return to Samui on a future visit to explore more.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

In November I celebrated a "significant" birthday at Le Meridien Koh Samui. From the moment we arrived at the airport until we left it was wonderful. My birthday dinner was celebrated on the floating pontoon sitting out in the water decorated with flowers, torches, and lanterns. Canapes were served, then when the sun had set we lit the lanterns and watched them float into the heavens. A superb dinner was served with drinks being offered from the bar. Botan, the food & beverage manager was magnificent. We were a party of 13 and had 8 pool villas (2 of which were upgrades). A holiday never to be forgotten

Room Tip: If a couple travelling alone I would find it a little intrusive sharing a pool villa room with 4,5 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear GeriSydney,

We are so happy to hear that your very special birthday on our floating Ocean Pier will be one to remember and that everyone had a great time! Hopefully plenty of pictures were taken too. BoTan is our gem and it is good to know that she delivered in executing your event.

Thank you so much for allowing Le Meridfien Koh Samui Resort and Spa to host your close friends and family for the special occasion.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I chose Koh Samui and Le Meridien as our final destination to celebrate our first year of marriage. Checked-in on 11/26/12; checked-out on 12/3/12. Needless to say, we didn't do a very good job at tracking Koh Samui's weather patterns and checked-in during their last week of torrential downpour. Well, what does one do when one is pretty much confined to their room? Catch up on sleep, movies, reading, etc. but making sure to do it in the space you're comfortable in. I am glad to say that our Pool Access Suite suit the bill perfectly with the most "heavenly" bed one could rest their pretty lil' heads on. We loved the decor but we especially love the service we received from the staff. I mean there are going to be times when you get one or two that does not compare as well to others but we're talking about an A to an A- here and you have to take into consideration the language barrier and interpretation between both parties...bottom line is, everyone down to the landscapers were very friendly/accommodating and would immediately stop what they were doing to give you a proper greeting as you walked by.

We had a couple of really good days when the weather behaved properly and utilized the pool area, kayaking equipment, bracelet making activity, and so forth. Heck, we even swam in the rain just so we could use the pool attached to our room! Daily breakfast buffet was decent, coffee was excellent (they brew Illy brand coffee and I love the Illy), and dinner at the restaurant featured fusion Thai cuisine. But with every pro comes a con like every yin has its yang. See below for our list that prevented us from giving it a 5/5 rating.

1) Need a better ISP <or insert appropriate technical jargon here> since neither internet or cable works when it is raining heavily; no wonder they have a dvd player and video library available to guests (tricky, tricky).
2) Invest in a better dvd collection (refer to #1)
3) Housekeeping services should run at a more predictable schedule. We never knew how long we needed to stay out in order to ensure our room was cleaned (not good when it's pouring outside).
4) Alcoholic drinks should contain alcohol - had to go to the restaurant next door (Starbay) for a proper Jack & Coke (for my husband) and a cold beer (for moi).
5) Invest in building a curb outside hotel so guests could venture out on foot when it rains; entrance to driveway had a couple foot of water due to insufficient storm drainage system and no curb.

Room Tip: Get the pool access suite at the least for the uniqueness and deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Melinda S,

Firstly, congratulations again on your 1st year anniversary and thank you for choosing to spend the special occasion at Le Meridien Koh Samui!

Sorry we couldn't help much with the rain for part of your stay but it's good to know that you were comfortable in the Pool Access Suite and found the beds to be "heavenly". The terrace is certainly a great place to stay by room, lounging or reading while still having quick access to a pool.

The best for us though, is learning that you were delighted with service received from the staff!

As for your suggestions for improvement, we apologize that the wireless internet was affected by the weather during your stay. Understanding how crucial this is in todays world, we do plan for continuous improvement at the property. The DVD library is by no means any substitute and is a completely different activity available free of charge for guest enjoyment. Accordingly, we will continue to build that and our book library as well. For housekeeping, we regret if any inconvenience was caused by not knowing when our team would service the room. The times may change depending on overall guest movement each day but we are happy to take requests for preferred times to suit schedules whenever possible. There is no excuse for preparing a poor Jack and Coke which is standard and your comments have already been with our Beverage team. Last but not least, in regards to the water at entrance when it rains, we are quite frustrated with this situation as well and have been working with the local authorities to help resolve this. The water comes from the mountains after the rains and as suggested, we are trying to get proper drainage installed so it doesn't flow across street to hotel side. Hopefully this can come to fruition soon and we are pushing for it. Luckily the rainy season in Samui is quite short compared to other Southern regions of Thailand with November typically being the wettest month. Thanks again for highlights made as it is always helpful to learn from our guests.

I saw your picture of our Loy Krathong Festival posted too and hope that you found the event to be both beautiful and enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing