We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven can wait !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heaven can wait !”
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

On Earth, this resort with the architecture, amenities, staff and service can be easily mistakened for heaven. We selected this resort for our annual break and although there is an understanding of not revisiting a resort there is a strong likelihood that this golden rule may be foregone for a revisit to Le Meridien. Here are the reasons why?

1) The relaxing artichectural character.

On arrival the relatively narrow picturesque entrance steps up to the warm reception is a contrast to the usual grandiose entrance of 5 star resorts. However let not this fool you as the step down from reception to the resort will soon provide you a sense of the sheer magnitude of the resort. There are rooms with or without pool access (private pools), villas, a small gym, table tennis corner, large main pool, a stony beach, a plastic pier, a bar, a restaurant and spa.

2) Pool Access room, Verandah room, Pool Villas

We originally had a pool access room and a verandah room. The interiors of both with the minutest details and amenities provided a generous comfortable living space with the elements of Koh Samui in mind. The sleep was peaceful and magical. The beds were soft with perfection. Following two nights, the remaining other rooms around our shared private pool were occupied by very loud neighbours who kept the noise level at an unbearable level from near midnight to early morning. The hotel was sensitive to our plight and offered to either change our rooms or for a nominal fee be upgraded to Pool Villas, away from the noise. We opted for the pool villas and experiencing it for two nights we highly recommend it to all (Here enter Mosquitos but the hotel places repellents in numerous locations in the villa) . The villas provide more space, exclusive private pool and a few additional amenities. In all options, wifi (room and entire resort) and breakfast were complimentary.

3) Main Pool, Pier and Beach

The main pool area is breathtaking, relaxing and with enough lounge chairs to easily accommodate many guests. As 'Latest Recipe' the only restaurant overlooks the pool, we moved to the lounge chairs right aft breakfast and only left the area till evening. The beach just in front of the resort is shallow and stony with a long plastic pier. The resort offers complimentary rubber beach shoes for a walk on this stony beach but swimming here is highly unlikely. At low tide, I walked from the hotel on these stones deep into the sea. This 45 minute walk waded through ankle to knee deep water. In the evening the pier has a bar which opens till 10 30 pm and we spend one evening under the stars and night sky sipping drinks. For those who are keen to feel sand and water, a shot walk of 15 minutes to the right of the resort along the sandy beach will surpass the stony elements.

4) Friendly Staff

The staff is friendly, sensitive and hospitable. We were heard on our concerns of chlorine levels in the pool, requests for tours and provided us with names of great Thai restaurants in Chwaeng and Lamai beaches. Endek, KK, Luke to name a few. That said, without exception, all staff members were kind and generously accommodating.

[The taxis or cabs have no meters and you need to negotiate the charge from one location to another. we usually settled for THB200 to Lamai and THB300 to Chwaeng]

See you soon, Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and SPA !

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Taymur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Taymur M,

We love it when rules are broken for good reasons and definitely hope to see you back at the resort!

Like you, most guests do indeed find the design special and feel super relaxed here. The landscaping is tops on the island with many feng shui elements incorporated in to the features and decor. Your thorough review will surely give readers good insight into what to expect at the resort.

We apologize however, for the noise caused by neighbors but are happy that a solution was found to your delight. While the tides are low this time of year (usually back again by September), our beach does facilitate long walks and exploration so it is good to know that you found a swimming area nearby. In the meantime, we currently also offer daily shuttle service to 2 of the nicest beaches on the island for further options. The beach shoes as you have tried are also fun for endless walks and kids in particular love this.

Our superstars Endek, Luke and KK were delighted to be of assistance during your stay and we hope you will return for another visit.

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    227
    90
    30
    18
See reviews for
144
533
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We ended up moving here from a villa we were staying at down the beach. Compared to where we were staying, this was absolute heaven. Fah (who was FANTASTIC!!) showed us a few rooms before we made a reservation, and because of my Platinum status, we were upgraded to a Pool Access Suite (although, if we chose, we could stay in the Plunge Pool Suite, Terrace or Verandah rooms).

The mosquitos were a bit of a problem (but not near the problem we had at the other place), which is why Fah recommend we stay in the Pool Access. They put extra mosquito coils in our bathroom each night - which was very nice of them.

The platinum benefit included free breakfast. They also had a two-for-one special at their spa. I picked a 3 hour treatment, my husband picked one that was 60% of the cost, and they let us take that "extra" and turn it into two more treatments. That was really nice of them.

Endek - an intern from The Netherlands - was very nice and engaging.
KK resovled some SPG point issues for which I am truly grateful.
Aim helped us with some other things - and was very personable.

This was a nice place to stay and relax. The grounds were very beautiful and calming. While the beach is not very nice, the pool certainly is and the fact that we had a pool right outside our room was great.

If I came back to Koh Samui, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Molly S,

Having moved from a villa to our resort, it is so nice to learn that you found the experience to be heavenly! It certainly sounds as though you were able to relax during your stay and enjoyed our spa facilities. We have different promotions being offered at all times and are glad that you were able to take advantage of that.

Service is key to ensuring that the needs of our guests are properly met and it is good to know that Fah, Endek and KK all took care to help fulfill your various needs.

As a valued Starwood Preferred Platinum guest, thank you for your loyalty and we hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!

Sincerely,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Depsite the unseasonably bad weather (halfway through our stay), le Meridien has provided an oasis of calm and relaxation from the stress of work back in England.

Ive been a Starwood Platinum memeber for 8 years staying over 600 nights at their hotels so I know what I like and don't like. Le Merdien hits the spot for friendly service, excellently designed Pavillion Villas and a general atmosphere of relaxation.

The villa in particular has been a God send considering the rainy weather. The layout lends itself for chilling out whilst the rain falls on the private pool. The bed is extremely comfortable and the nice little touches such as the Nespresso machine, iPod dock, hdmi enabled TV make for a home from home stay.

I have no criticisms just some positive suggestions which could enhance the property further;

- a door bell so you know when there is someone outside
- ice with turndown service
- decaf Nespresso pods
- more information on what's going on in the resort the next day ie. a flyer at turndown
- why a shuttle to Lamai at 3.30?
- papaya at breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MintyBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear Holyporter,

As a valued Starwood Preferred Platinum Guest and an experienced traveller, it delights us to learn that you felt comfortable at the resort and enjoyed both the facilities and service throughout your stay. Sorry we couldn't do anything about the rain or else we would!

Thank you for your suggestions, some of which we touched upon during your stay and kindly allow me to address them as highlighted. For the Villa doorbells, we are currently considering the best options in order to keep the serene feel of our resort yet function efficiently; for ice, we can certainly provide this during turndown and have already made note for future stays; for Nespresso pods, we are looking in to suppliers who can provide this and hopefully alternatives were offered as we do have decaf options; for activities next day, we do have a calendar of daily activites, tours, and spa information in each room. I apologize if it was missing from yours or if you were referring to something a bit different; the shuttle to Lamai is for guests who want to explore our closest town only minutes away and has restaurants, bars and Samui's second largest beach after Chaweng. The central part is nice for swimming; as for Papaya at breakfast, you are absolutely right and we have asked the chef to ensure a frequent setting of our famous tropical fruit which you had a chance to enjoy while still here.

Again, we love to hear from our guests so thank you once again for sharing and for staying with Le Meridien. We hope to be welcoming you back again soon for more relaxation!

Best regards,

Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights, Impressive from the hotel entrance; got the pool access room upgrade. Loved the salt water pool that you can jump from the terrace in front of your room. There are around 6 rooms around this pool, so it is quite private separate from another pool in front of the restaurant. The lobby was fantastic with the nice lobby bar.

Pros:
1. Salt water pool
2. Resort decoration feels like staying home
3. Quiet inside the hotel even it connected to the road

Cons:
1. Bath room needs mosquito repellent incense at night smell bad
2. Even private beach but not nice for swimming compare to the Chaweng beach

Room Tip: 1.Hotel limousine is a good choice as the competitive price compare to the local taxi 2.Choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerciGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear KatieOnTour,

Thank you for your insights and we're glad that you felt at home while at the resort. You highlighted a very good tip about our limousine prices and that they are indeed very competitive to the taxi prices here in Samui.

Unfortunately, the bathroom mosquito repellent made you uncomfortable and for this we apologize. We do have different kinds and could certainly have provided another type.

You also mentioned traveling with friends so please bring more next time. We have 3 different clusters of Pool Access Suites surrounding semi-private pools like the one you stayed in so with just a few more rooms, the whole area could be yours! And, we'd be very happy to welcome you back home again!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north vancouver
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Le Meridian Resort/Spa in Koh Samui is a truly luxury experience. Resort is well maintained and staff is helpful - particularly Aom, the director of food and beverage. We stayed in the ocean front pool villa, and would recommend it. Food is excellent. I enjoyed the prawns with tamarind sauce.

Only real downfall is the beach is terrible, rocky and no where to lay down. But the pool area is very nice. There are plenty of other beaches to go to, about 10 mins away- you can easily rent a scooter for about $10 a day. The hotel will arrange it for you and have the scooter delivered.
The spa was excellent as was the personal interactions of the manager Miss Liu a great host.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bigGNorthVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear bigGNorthVancouver

It is good to know that you had a relaxing stay with us and with an Ocean Front Pool Villa, that should be easy to do indeed.

Samui is an intimate island which is very easy to get around so glad you had a chance to explore the many pockets and corners. We're also glad that you enjoyed the food in Latest Recipe and that Khun Aom, Director of Food & Beverage was particularly helpful! Thai food here in the south is particularly pungent and shouldn't be missed. We also have cooking classes available so maybe next time, you might want to learn how to make the Prawns with Tamarind sauce so you can enjoy it back home. Otherwise, we'd be happy to send you the recipe. Just let us know!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This resort is away from the busy beaches and town and provides a tranquil getaway. As you would expect for the Meridien it is very well maintained. The pool is nice and big enough and looks onto the beach which works well as the beach is not really for swimming in, in fact, the beach is horrible. However the main swimming beaches are only about 10 minute drive away.
The main entrance area is very nice with a pond from which guests can light lanterns each evening.
We stayed in a Terrace Suite that was well maintained and quite large and the amenities are what you would expect for a 5 star resort, i.e. very good. There is only one restaurant, located near the pool. Breakfasts are excellent with good selection of food as well as eggs made to order.
What made the stay with us was the friendliness and support of the staff. My wife injured herself on a snorkeling trip during our stay, when we returned to the resort the assistance staff gave us was exceptional. They drove us to the local pharmacy and later in the evening a fruit basket was delivered to our room with a card wishing my wife well from the management. While some would say that such level of service is expected from the Meridien, the fact of the matter is that they delivered on that service which was great!
Overall an excellent resort made even better by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pies1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear pies1311,

First of all, we hope that your wife has by now recovered fully from her snorkling trip injury!

It is good to know that the team looked after your needs while here. Getting hurt while on holiday is bad enough but having this experience away from home in a foreign country can be even more discomforting so it is good to know that the team delivered in providing assistance and care as mentioned.

When you both have a chance, please do return to take full advantage of any experiences that may have been missed this time around. And most importantly, please take care!

Best regards,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What an amazing hotel - true 5 star experience! We travelled with our 8 month old son and stayed in a Pool Access Suite. The Le Meridien is a private resort with everything need to relax in style. The hotel facilities were great, the pool by the ocean was great, the staff were very friendly. Our room was amazing, the bathroom was as big as the room itself. it had a big balcony with private access to the pool. The pool was shared with 4 other suites but when we stayed we had all the pool to ourselves. We requested a cot, and when we arrived the hotel when one step more and left us a basket of baby amenities (Baby wash, shampoo, wipes, powder ect) this was a great extra we were not expecting. the bed was the best part of the stay, it was sleeping on a cloud - usually i prefer a Westin Heavenly Bed but i am going to change, these beds were AMAZING. the nightly ritual at 7:19 each night was a nice touch, with the traditional lighting of the lanterns. The restaurants had great food and was reasonable priced. we did go out a few nights but the food at the hotel was worth staying in. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. All-in-all an amazing experience at a very reasonable price. the best example of a Le Meridien resort i have stayed in (and i have stayed at many) worth the experience.

Room Tip: the Pool Access Suites were great. there are rooms with plunge pools in the room, but the bigger poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew_Fairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Andrew_Fairbairn,

We are thrilled to learn that you and your family enjoyed the Pool Access Suite and the convenience that it offered with the terrace right over a semi-private pool. As babies require plenty of napping time, hopefully this was also a good way to stay close and still be able to enjoy the resort environment as well.

With all the vacation basics covered with good sleep and good eating as described, hopefully the Celebration of the Day ritual left some special memories and pictures to bring home!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing