We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Good Value”

Sabienglae Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 153 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Value”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Sabeinglae after it was highly recommended by locals. It's large, on the water and provided an great balance between great food and value. The picture on their website far overstate the casualness. Overall, we found the prices to be reasonable, with the only real way to run the price up being ordering dishes that are sold by weight. There's nothing tricky or ominous here, just that a big lobster or prawn costs more than a smaller one. People shouldn't be surprised by this. Many items are fresh (live) but everything was good. Spicy can be dialed up or down; just ask.The food is Thai and heavy on seafood but there are a few western items on the menu also. Our hotel charges 140 baht for a soft drink, here it's 20 to 30. Beer was fresh, cold and reasonably priced. They can accommodate larger tables and children. Of note, the fried morning glory was excellent and the dessert: Mango and Sticky Rice, very good.
They accept Visa credit cards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SQBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    226
    77
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We discovered this place on a visit 2 years ago and returned this year to find little has changed! The menu is long but there are really great dishes here - the Mussamen and Green curries are among the best we have ever tasted. The steamed fish is fresh and well cooked and the seafood is excellent. As per usual the clue is the number of locals who eat here. The tables overlooking the beach are worth trying to get just for the view

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food, not the cheapest”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were given the name of thos restaurant by the cabin crew on Thai air. As it was close to our hotel (Rockys Resort) we decided to try it. There is a fairly extensive choice but be aware, some items are sold by weight. This is clearly marked on the menu, things like lobster and king prawns. We chose pineapple rice and king prawns in tamarind sauce. They did ask how many prawns we wanted, due to being sold by weight. As someone else has previously commented, the rice arrived first, and we waited and waited for the prawns. We decided to eat the rice before it went cold. It was absolutely delicious. The prawns did eventually arrive and they were enormous! They were also delicious, but I would have liked to eat them together with my rice. Other restaurants seem to be able to serve things together, so I don't know why this one can't. It was very busy, and our waiter really worked hard. The food was really good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ionlytravelfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Nest Thai Meal That We Had.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fantastic food, great service and good value, we shared a spicy seafood salad as a starter, my wife had the deep fried sea bass and I had the pork massaman curry all of which were mouth wateringly good, along with 2 large beers each the total bill was less than 10000baht (around 20 quid). This was the best Thai food that we ate in 2 weeks in Thailand.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LanzaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't come any better”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Excellent service, so many choices best prices around. Tempura prawns to die for,great chicken satay and spring rolls and then all the lovely main meals to choose from...never had a bad meal and went most days whilst at fenix hotel over a week

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabienglae Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Sabienglae Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing