We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for 2 nights...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cottage@Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cottage@Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ok for 2 nights...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel was booked last minute, and I was disappointed and wouldn't stay here again. The rooms were clean, but very basic and old compared to other hotels we'd stayed in for the same price. The hotel is a few minutes walk from a gorgeous beach however so I guess it depends what you want from the holiday. The most disappointing aspect was location - it's a good 15 minute walk into Lamai for food and drinks in the evening up a very busy and badly lit road, quite dangerous but not really any other choice. There is a small restaurant at the hotel which has a limited menu and shuts early, and no atmosphere here. If I went to Lamai again to stay in a budget hotel I'd definitely choose a more central hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesQwerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    47
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
19
78
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Never expect more than you are prepared to pay for and you will not be disappointed. However it costs nothing to smile to make people feel welcome...this was not our experience. Least friendly place we experienced during four weeks of travel in Thailand.

Room Tip: Check the room before you decide to stay. Green Villa next door represents better value and the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheapskates_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I read very good reviews about the cottage samui, so I decided to go, although I saw more places in the center. The owner looked at me like a killer. I wanted a cheap room, and he told me I could get hot water just if I pay 500 baht or more. He sent a girl to show me the 300 room: tiny, no place to move, gloomy, and the worst: toilet, with no toilet seat. Disgusting. When I went back to the reception, to ask if he has more rooms, he replied, frowning: "you want just cheap, go look other places". I was amazed from his ton, and went away. Trip advisor shows that it's a cheap place, for us backpackers.

I went to the neighbor resort, just infront-"green Villa". I was welcomed with a smile, got an awesome room for 300, and you even have a little pool.

To conclude: don't go to the cottage samui, just if you like bad behavior.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mor333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyrilthai, Gérant at The Cottage@Samui, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
These comment are very hard for my hotel.
I do not think you have poorly received, look like a killer, abuse....probably a misundersdanding with the english language.
For 300 baht at night should not be required and if you read all the comments i think that the woles is very positive.

Gallis cyril.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have just returned from my third visit to the cottage and i will be returning next year. The rooms are very comfortable and are kept very clean, the towels and the bedsheets are changed daily by the wonderful staff at the cottage. A 30 second walk from the cottage will get you to a lovely spot at the top end of Lamai Beach. I have only eaten snacks from the restaurant but they were ery tasty and good value...Thank You Cyril and thanks to your brilliant staff...See You Next Year...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyHines69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We had just spent a week in Mae nam in a wonderful spa resort (samui native) with pool, spa and massive room with all the trimmings for 800B so when we moved to lamai for a night we were horrified with the prices- you definitely get less for your baht here. We paid 900 for a small AC room here with no pool. Felt a bit robbed but having checked other places this is probably the best for the money you pay. The room was pleasant enough with a fridge, tv small shared balcony and you can't beat the location- literally a 90 second walk to the beach. Staff were friendly enough but didn't really offer a warm welcome like other places we've stayed. The one thing I really didn't like about this place is the poor little monkey they have tethered to a tree during the day and locked in a cage at night. All in all this is a nice place but over priced because of its location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed for a week in a standard fan bungalow, which was a very good value for the money, and had everything you need and more (TV, closet, hot shower...). The resort is very nice, quiet and conveniently located, between the road and the beach. Just one minute walking to the very nice beach of Lamai, and a couple of minutes by scooter (you can rent one at the resort) to the center of Lamai Beach, where all the restaurants, shops and bars are. The staff is VERY friendly, helpful and trustworthy. Overall, we'd warmly recommend staying at The Cottage @ Samui!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Lovely resort located at 2 minutes walking from the seashore with different prices for bungalows that allow people to choose different kind of confort. During all the day, there's a restaurant where we can order very good and tasty thai food, Pad thai and Panang are my favourites. The western food was very good as well, especially the ravioli and foccacia.. The staff works fast. Cyril and Seb are so funny even in rush hour.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#24 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#23 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage@Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage@Samui

Property: The Cottage@Samui
Address: 126/11 Moo 3 | T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cottage@Samui 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Cottage@Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage@Samui Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing