We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant for young and old alike”
Review of Live & Let Dive - CLOSED

Live & Let Dive
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live & Let Dive is a Finnish owned and managed PADI Dive Center (S-17454) and currently the only 100% AWARE Partner Center on the island of Koh Samui in the Gulf of Thailand. We can offer you diving courses, diving trips and snorkeling trips wether you are a beginner to the activity or already an experienced diver or snorkeler. We have chosen to keep a small team at Live & Let Dive and we will always dive in small groups so that we can give all required attention to the individual diver and assure you a pleasant, relaxed and safe holiday experience. We also have private (1:1) service available for all trips upon request. Would you like to own your own dive or snorkeling gear? We can help you choose from a wide range of possibilities and brands including Aqualung, Scubapro, Suunto and Apeks. Ask us for more information. We hope to meet you on the tropical Koh Samui Island and warmly welcome you to discover the beautiful underwater world of the Gulf of Thailand!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant for young and old alike”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

I had the good fortune of booking with Live and Let Dive a double dive for myself (100+ dives) and for my preteen son (6 dives) during our visit to Koh Samui.

Milla and Jorma went all the way to provide a professional and excellent service with a smile.

Courteous, punctual, safety-conscious and well organised. They are a fantastic team and we have a special "thank you" for Milla, for buddying up with my son and taking him thorough the Sail Rock dive site.

The whole experience was brilliant and we will book again with then in the future.

If you come to Lamai and you want to dive, this is the shop to talk to.

Helpful?
Thank Carlos-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liveandletdive, General Manager at Live & Let Dive, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Great divers get great divemasters ;) it was pleasure go diving with nice customers! Say Hi to Gabriel and we hoping to see you guys again

-Milla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Switzerland, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a great dive school”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Me and my wife took the open water diver course at this simple but wonderful dive school run by a nice Finnish couple. They made the course a very personal experience unlike the other "big schools" - which in my opinion helps ease any nervousness that might arise from the first underwater experience. Jorma is really a thai fish disguised as a human being, he knows the reefs around Koh Tao in and out..... Go "Live and Let Dive", you won't regret it!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank d_travelbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liveandletdive, General Manager at Live & Let Dive, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you guys your lovely words. We really appreciate it! Hope see you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
1 review
“A very good reason to return to Samui”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We booked with Live & Let Dive following the recommendations on TA weren't disappointed.
First of all, AMAZING dive trip!
My first holiday in Thailand and I would recommend to everybody.

First thing I noticed was that agreements were kept, i.e. a 7 o'clock pick up was at seven - actually a few minutes early. All the safety precautions - that I consider crucial - were in place together with great dive plans.

The boat crew were exceptionally helpful and good humoured and the food was great!

Milla is a great Dive Master, friendly, knowledgable, and perfectly tailors the dives to your experience level. Even that we are experienced divers, safety was really important for her. She told us everything; lots of information about dive sites, what we can see there and also what we should (or should not) do when we see Sharks!
I was in shock how some dive schools started to follow sharks and went extremely close! They are pretadors and I thought it was stupid behavior. We felt safe with Milla while hovering close to the pinnacle and we could still see the Sharks easily. We went to Sail Rock which was really busy on that day. So many divers around but still our dives was memorable!

Before going with Live & Let Dive, I sent emails to some other diveschools as well asking about a private group. They could offer "small groups" on the phone but Live & Let Dive was the only one who promised a private group (only me and my wife).

If you want to avoid dive school factorys where people come and go in big groups, make it easy for yourself and go with Live & Let Dive.

Thank you Milla & Jorma. Great team work. Everything was straight forward and simple.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pekka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Dived 2 fun dives with Jorma and Milla of Live & Let Dive and had so much fun decided to complete my Advanced Open Water with them. These guys go above and beyond to make your experience as good as possible; even squeezed in a night dive for me on my last night in Samui. The ONLY company that will do night dives in Samui as of writing. And they did it simply because I showed an interest in doing one. Nothing was too much trouble, if it was possible we did it, the DPV's were a lot of fun! Really got the sense that these guy's love diving and continue to have fun which is what it's all about right? Whilst still being very knowledgable and safety conscious. During our dive at Sail Rock where we dived with at least 3 possible 5 Bullsharks!! I never once felt that the situation was out of control; it was very professional and very very fun! Also on my dives I saw turtle, jellyfish, giant moray eel, batfish, triggerfish, juvenile sweetlips, banded sea snake, puffer fish, stingray, boxfish the list goes on! Best value for money on the island no question, but don't take my word for it go see for yourself. Call, email or drop in and see them face to face. Great people, great times, great memories thank you LLD!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liveandletdive, General Manager at Live & Let Dive, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you Jay! it was so nice to meet you! Hope we see you again!

Jorma & Milla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great people, plus a whale whark sighting!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Finished up my Open Water certification in mid-August with Jorma, who is a very patient teacher and makes everything easy to understand. Following a couple dives the next day, went to Chumporn Pinnacle with Milla on a Saturday and we were very lucky to spot and swim with a whale shark. She did a great job of getting some nice pics and was fun to hang out with between dives and on the boat ride, These folks will treat you great and try their best to show you all that diving in Thailand has to offer. Fully recommended!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liveandletdive, General Manager at Live & Let Dive, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Cheers for the outstanding review Jamie :) much appreciated!
We had a great time too. Can't say no to a Whale Shark, the gentle giant :)

See you next time mate. Be safe in Japan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Live & Let Dive also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing