We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“no recommendation”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

booked for 7 nights because a friend recommended the place. when we got to our room there was a terrible smell of sewage all over. when we came back from dinner in the evening, we discovered that when you flush the toilet, water runs out of a pipe all over the bathroom floor. the tap was loose and in the sink there where stains of dried toothpaste of someone else (thought maybe its paint, scratched it a little, could be easily removed and sink underneath was in perfect condition). at night we could hear the ahs and ohs, as well as gagging from some poor thai girl getting skrewed by a dirty farang two rooms down the hallway (probably not the hotels fault, they left their window to the hallway completely open). got woken up by water dripping through the AC on my face, checked out after one night and found a nice clean room for a little bit more money 100m from rich resort. rich resort could by a nice place if staff would pay more attention to hygiene and the condition of their facilities. food in the swing bar was good though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPoisonDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate all feedback as we strive to make our product better. Sorry to hear about the problems in your room. After you described the problem to reception the maintenance dealt with these issues asap. I checked this case and yes there was a leaky hose on the back of the toilet tank and the white drops in the sink were actually paint that had dropped into the sink from a ceiling repaint/reno. Either way you are correct the housekeeping and maintenance staff should have dealt with those issues before. We will discuss with maintenance and housekeeping pro active measures to prevent this from happening again in the future. Thanks again for your review and we hope we hope you enjoy your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    146
    60
    33
    39
See reviews for
27
147
95
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Pros:
Wifi works quite well.
It is just some metres from the beach, although it is not on the same beach.

Cons:
The hotel is not so nice as it seems on its website.
The mattress of the fan room A needs urgently to be updated.
The fan room B is a little bigger but the window opens to a corridor, that makes the no cozy.
Some of the staff at reception is unfriendly.
Definitely, it is not a cheerful and lively place, neither is the bar.

By the way, Lamai beach and Samui itself is not a place I would recommend, unless you like the crowd, large beaches and packed of hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your opinion and feedback of our hotel. It is good to hear that you liked the location near the beach and the WiFi was good signal. Sorry to hear about the mattress. We will add that to our list for our daily inspections of the vacant rooms.
The A and B rooms are the same room type it is just a parameter of our bookings system. The standard vs. deluxe rooms are different rooms. Sometimes guests are upgraded for free from standard to deluxe room type if there is a maintenance issue with the standard room type they booked and all of the other standard rooms are full.
If you are upgraded to deluxe, yes the rooms do not look the same as standard but they are larger, have better features and are the same as the deluxe photos online.
Our hotel is a budget hotel, so yes it does not satisfy everyone's expectations, however most find it good value for the price.
Sorry you did not like Lamai, everyone has a different opinion. I think many people enjoy Lamai Beach. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This was another great stay same as before. The weather was great and the accommodation and service on par same as before. The sea was a bit rougher this trip. This time we booked online through the hotel website with no problems. The only issue we had was the housekeeping forgot to our free drinking water in the room a couple times. It wasn't a big deal just got them from reception. The best for the cheap price and location in Samui. We will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriceforbois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. You came back again sounds like you enjoy our establishment...great. Great to hear that the accommodation and service was up to your expectations. Sorry to hear that the housekeeping forgot your free water, we will remind them and double check on our room inspections of the vacant rooms. Yes you can book online easily through our website with good rates and policies. We will be waiting to see you on your next visit. Thank you again for your opinion of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and two friends stayed one night. The staff was so awful and rude. They'll try to get money for everything (we lost a recite that no one told us we needed for check out and got to pay extra for it, ridiculous). The room were hot, dirty and smelled odd. The only good thing was the location.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion of Rich Resort. It is good to hear that you found the location good. Sorry to hear you found the fan room too warm. The room you booked was room 104 deluxe fan room with an extra bed to accommodate 3 people. We offer the fan room because it provides a lower priced room for guests to book. Our motto is "affordable beachside accommodation" and we try to provide this. Yes for some people the climate in Thailand is too hot. We have many people stay in our fan rooms with no problem. It is one of our most popular room types because of its price. We offer higher priced air conditioned rooms also and guests are always welcome to upgrade to an air conditioned room dependent on availability.
In regards to the key deposit, I have investigated this case via cctv and found that once the reception reminded you that you required the receipt you returned to the room to retrieve it. I found that the key deposit was refunded to your party as the original receipt is signed with the same signature as the check in receipt and the portfolio file and I can see the refund via cctv recording. If you require a photo or scan of the signed key deposit receipt or have any other questions please email me direct at reviews@richresortsamui.com and I will be happy to assist. We always refund the key deposit even if the customer loses the receipt, as we have a duplicate carbon copy of the receipt in the customer’s folio. Thanks again for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villedieu-les-Poeles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked two rooms for four nights, we only stayed two and this would have been less if we had found alternative available accommodation sooner. On arrival the hotel looks nothing like the publicity and our rooms are definitely not included in the photo gallery for this hotel. On entering the room the smell and the heat hit you instantly (there is a smoking area just outside the room and the smell entered the room through the poorly fitting door). Our room (fan A) had one small patio door that looked out onto a brick wall just two foot away and 8 foot tall. Water was cascading onto this area from the AC unit above. The door did not fit letting all sorts of insects including cockroaches into the room. The base of the bed was made of concrete (seriously) as was the headboard and the 'soft' seating. Surprisingly though this was quite comfortable! The seat cushions (mickey mouse and Garfield covered) had all seen better days but we couldn't actually see how clean they were because of the poor lighting in the room. Basically, the room felt like a prison cell. If you are a backpacker on an extremely tight budget you might find this hotel acceptable otherwise avoid it. We moved to another hotel for just two pounds more per night and it was excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid the fan rooms on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our accommodation. Good to see that you found that the hotel was in a good location. Sorry you did not find the room to your standards. We specifically went through the hotel rooms with the photographer to make sure the photos shown online represent the rooms properly to avoid any discrepancies. We will look into the issue of the communal smoking area and the possibility of moving it, however it is not that close to the rooms and is open air. I think we do a decent job of providing a good value for the price from the number of positive reviews we have received from reviewers with more than 1 review on tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we will look into ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamai Beach, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a fan room, with a 5% debit card charge , it worked out at 1000 baht a night . I stayed 5 nights total
The room had no window , but was great for the price
After the madness of chaweng this place feels so relaxed :)
Free internet that works
Great central location ( 3 minute walk to macdonalds )
The swing bar opposite draws a good crowd
Restaurants and bar's all around for every taste
Relatively quiet
Staff were cheerful for Samui

No complaints

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. Nice to see that you found the staff friendly and the location good. Just to clarify all the rooms do have windows. The standard room which you booked is the cheapest room and has window(s) near top of the wall, which you can see in all of the photos of this room type online. This is the cheapest room type and has windows near top of wall for privacy since these are interior rooms. These windows are more for ventilation as you can see from the photos. Good to hear that you found the room to be good value for the price and the internet was good. Overall sounds like you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2014

nice place with very clean room. very good for the price i think. very busy everyday and we stay for 6 days. staff very polite and helping. good location right beside the sea and the town. this place was very fun also for meeting other travellers. i would recommend to other people this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 50 in Lamai Beach
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
418 reviews
3.6 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,603 reviews
7.3 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#45 of 186 in Bophut
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Property: Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Address: 109/12 M3 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is conveniently located on the central Lamai beach road, close enough to all of Lamai's amenities yet far enough for a nice, quiet relaxing holiday. Located on what many consider to be Koh Samui's most beautiful beach, Rich Resort Beahcside Hotel is within walking distance to all of Lamai's major amenities and conveniences including shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing