We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Trip.com
$294
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com$424
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,009)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveler rating
1,677
233
63
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,677
233
63
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa host saffron restaurant sands restaurant hillcrest villa buggy service private beach in villa dining buggy drivers four seasons ocean view villa koh samui our honeymoon infinity pool mobile phone thai cuisine turn down service f b
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,323 - 1,328 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We got booked a holiday in the Banyan tree for a stay of 11 nights with our kids.
Before our stay on Koh Samui, we have spent 4 days in the Shangri La Bangkok (perfect) and 4 days in the four Seasons Chiang Mai (overwhelming) .

Our opinion about the Banyan Tree Koh Samui:

The rooms:
The rooms where very nice with a small terrace and plunge pool.
Also very spacious with a living room where the kids could sleep, a master bedroom and a large bathroom. unfortunately it was a very noisy air-conditioning, so it was impossible to sleep with the air-conditioning on. After a complaint, a technician came to fix, but the result remain the same. So we got to sleep without airco and the result that it was very hot to sleep.
If you like to move in the resort, you have to call a buggy. They mention always a waiting time of 15 minutes. Not very convenient with kids.

The restaurants:
The brochure of my tour operator mentioned 3 restaurants.
1)The Terrace where you have breakfast and lunch. Breakfast was very good and a very large selection of all good products. For lunch, it was a disaster, there are no guest that have lunch over there and the waiting time was very long. So we only have got lunch once over there. The Terrace is not open in the evening.
2)The Saffron is a traditional Thai restaurant on top of the resort. A very nice view over the sea and the resort. Unfortunately the y have not enough tables. Or all the tables are inside or they are outside. The food was delicious but the kids menu was not always suitable for them. So it was difficult to have diner over there every night.
3)The Sands is a beach bar and restaurant. The atmosphere is not quite good, especially not in the evening. The selection of food was ok, but the same at noon as in the evening, so it get boring after a few days. Also it was not so clean. The waiters service table was always full with dirty plates, glasses, etc.. so not very nice to have a look on it. Also it took a very long time to clean the guest there tables.

The Beach:
Very nice beach with a lot of wooden day beds but a lot of the tables were broken and a lot of cushions were torn. There was also a kind of a massage tent on the beach, but the whole week covered with blue plastic. Not very nice to see. The service on the beach was very unprofessional. After lunch, the plates and empty glasses stayed there sometimes for more than an hour. We also have found several times pieces of glass on the beach (and mentioned this!).

The pools:
There is a nice pool with nice views on the ocean. No remarks on this. There is also a smaller kids pool with a big fountain. During the 7 days, there were laying 2 glass table tablets on a small wall. Not very save to leave this around a kids pool.

The Spa:
My wife have visited the spa (Rainforest) and told me that it smelled musty. Also that on several places the plaster came from the walls. Not very hygienic for a spa.

After 4 days, I have made several complaints to my tour operator and to the staff and have asked for a meeting with the general Manager. The General manager didn’t found it necessary to come to us and to listen to our grieves. We also asked to reduce our stay to 7 nights and asked a refund of 4 night. The refund was absolutely not possible. They proposed an upgrade to a larger villa but this wouldn’t solve the problems, so we refused the upgrade. After all this, I have contacted the Four Seasons Koh Samui to see if there was a room available for our family. A manager of the Four seasons called me and proposed me to pick us up and to visit the resort. So we have quit the Banyan Tree and spent the 5 last days in the Four Seasons Koh Samui. The morning that we checked out of the Banyan Tree, then we have seen the general manager. He have got heard about our complaints but his reply was that the Banyan Tree is a Spa Resort with beach facilities, not the opposite. For us, very pour beach facilities.
Fortunately that we have got moved to another hotel, so we still have a nice souvenir from our holiday in Thailand. For us it was the first time that we went to a Banyan Tree, but absolutely the last time. We went worldwide to several Four Seasons, Oberoi, Aman resorts, Hyatt, Meridien, etc… and the conclusion is that Banyan Tree Koh Samui is absolutely not a 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThierryV580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeManagement, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Thierry V,

Greetings from Samui!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback as it is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.

We are delighted to read that you found our villa to be spacious and comfortable, and both our in-villa pool and beachside pool to be suitable for your relaxation and enjoyment.

However, it is with our sincere regret to learn of your disappointment with various aspects of your stay including the noise from the air conditioner which disturbed the time spent in your villa, the selections available at our various dining outlets and the cleanliness and service at our beach area. The issues which you have mentioned have already been addressed this with our management to prevent these from happening to our future guests. These instances were obvious shortfalls on our behalf and we wish to assure you that we have taken heed of your valuable comments and have already applied these regrettable incidents into our training to ensure that our staff remain more attentive to our guests needs.

Thierry V, thank you once again for your stay with us. We hope these few incidents you experienced do not mar your overall perception of our brand and we do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect. Should you care to visit other locations, we would be honoured if you continued to choose our brand as your Sanctuary for the Senses.

With warm regards,

Banyan Tree Management Team\

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is my first day in banyan tree. I m very impressed of their service from their first welcome to everywhere I have been around hotel. The views from the various restaurants are beautiful. They are very caring. They print a little picture for us as soveiour. Their services are unexpected high.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiniExotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear NiniExotic,

Thank you for staying with us and for offering your comments. I am delighted to read that our service upon arrival and during your stay exceeded your expectations and that you have had a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday while enjoying the stunning views of our private bay and the Gulf of Thailand. It is our pleasure to be of service to you and to pamper you with special touches throughout the resort. I hope the picture presented to you shall serve as a reminder of your memorable stay with us.

NiniExotic, thank you once again for your stay and it would be our pleasure to welcome you once again to our resort for your future holidays.

With warm regards,

Banyan Tree Samui Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have just stayed 6 nights and had a fantastic villa (A15) with fabulous views over Lamai on the left and gulf of thailand on the right and the whole resort in between? Staff were fantastic, food was great especially at Saffron. We were really sad to leave. Special thanks to Oui, Wi and Pop.

Room tip: Always go for an ocean view room. It is worth the extra.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Dear John C,

Greetings from sunny Samui!

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to offer your comments. It is fantastic to read that you felt relaxed in our Grand Sanctuary Pool Villa and enjoyed the stunning views overlooking our private bay as well as the Gulf of Thailand. We strive to offer a variety of cuisine at our dining outlets throughout the resort and I am pleased that you found Saffron to be great. I have already passed along your praise to Oui, Wi and Pop as well as all of our associates as it is comments such as yours that provide motivation for our team to continue delivering the highest standards of service which are a trademark of our brand.

John C, thank you once again for choosing Banyan Tree Samui. We would be delighted to serve you once again here on Samui; however, should you choose to visit a different region of the world, we would be honoured to have you stay at one of our sister properties for your holiday.

With warm regards,

Banyan Tree Samui Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We just came from the W Retreat Koh Samui which was fantastic and checking in here is a totally different experience. The rooms are higher quality which is a hard thing to beat, you really cannot fault the place, the environment, the service, the little touches. It is a gorgeous place and my wife absolutely loved it. If you are the kind of person who needs to be a little closer tot he action, this might not be the place for you. We were given a massive villa at the top of the resort which is a 8 minute buggy trip from the hotel, their buggy service is brilliant and very efficient, but you just feel quite detached. However, I guess this is the idea of the hotel, especially for people who really want to swtich off. We loved Wi, our villa host, she was the highligh of our stay, amazing lady with a great personality and sense of humour, she took care of all of our little needs, and was a real pleasure to be with.

Room tip: Try to get a room closer to the main hotel (letters A and B)
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AhmadAtalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear AhmadAtalla,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback. It is always a pleasure to read notes such as yours and I am delighted that you had a wonderful and rejuvenating holiday. I am pleased to know that you found your villa to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the various areas of our resort. While our villa do offer a sense of privacy for our guests, our resort is nestled between the main cities of Chaweng and Lamai, and our free, daily shuttle service provides guests access to shopping, sightseeing and nightlife should our guests care to explore the area.

I have already passed along your comments to Wi, your Villa Host, as well as our entire team as it is feedback such as yours that provides added motivation for our team to continue delivering the highest standards of service.

AhmadAtalla, thank you once again for your visit to Banyan Tree Samui. It would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back in the future to deliver another equally memorable holiday.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. It was everything we had hoped for and more - the ocean view villa was up high, so very private (F12). The villa itself was lovely and kept immaculate everyday - we loved the gift left every night when our beds were turned down! The pool was huge and perfect for chilling out after our champagne breakfasts. It was nice to eat at the various restaurants in the resort, as well as go further afield - especially as the resort itself is very expensive to eat, although standard of food very high.
Afternoon tea on the beach is a must -although Sands do not have it on their menu, they organised for it to be delivered from The Edge and it was fabulous!

Room tip: Ask for a villa situated high up, as you are less likely to be overlooked
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear CJCS1,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui!

Thank you for choosing our resort as the start of your honeymoon and I am delighted to read that your overall stay was a relaxing and rejuvenating as well as romantic and memorable. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at The Edge, relaxing poolside in your villa and enjoying our Afternoon Tea on the shore of our private bay.

CJCS1, thank you once again for staying with us. Congratulations to the both of you on your marriage and I wish you nothing but happiness as you journey through life together. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Samui for a future anniversary or any occasion.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews