We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$306
View deal
Hotels.com
$306
View deal
Trip.com
$278
View deal
Booking.com$371
eDreams$371
ZenHotels.com$492
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,017)
Filter reviews
2,017 results
Traveler rating
1,684
233
63
21
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,684
233
63
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa host saffron restaurant sands restaurant hillcrest villa buggy service private beach in villa dining buggy drivers four seasons ocean view villa koh samui our honeymoon infinity pool mobile phone thai cuisine turn down service f b
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 2,017 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. It was everything we had hoped for and more - the ocean view villa was up high, so very private (F12). The villa itself was lovely and kept immaculate everyday - we loved the gift left every night when our beds were turned down! The pool was huge and perfect for chilling out after our champagne breakfasts. It was nice to eat at the various restaurants in the resort, as well as go further afield - especially as the resort itself is very expensive to eat, although standard of food very high.
Afternoon tea on the beach is a must -although Sands do not have it on their menu, they organised for it to be delivered from The Edge and it was fabulous!

Room tip: Ask for a villa situated high up, as you are less likely to be overlooked
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJCS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear CJCS1,

Greetings from Banyan Tree Samui!

Thank you for choosing our resort as the start of your honeymoon and I am delighted to read that your overall stay was a relaxing and rejuvenating as well as romantic and memorable. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at The Edge, relaxing poolside in your villa and enjoying our Afternoon Tea on the shore of our private bay.

CJCS1, thank you once again for staying with us. Congratulations to the both of you on your marriage and I wish you nothing but happiness as you journey through life together. It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Samui for a future anniversary or any occasion.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose Banyan Tree Koh Samui to spend 4 nights during our honeymoon in Thailand. Among several luxury hotels in the island, we chose Banyan Tree because we thought the hotel had the nicest villas. The resort is indeed beautiful and the villa was just what we expected, however the overall experience was a total let down compared to the Oriental in Bangkok and Four Seasons in Chiang Mai where we stayed before coming to Koh Samui. While those two hotels offer you a very personnalized and efficient service, we felt that Banyan Tree service standards were at par with that of a 4 stars resort hotel.

Our first criticism would be the beach which wasn't thorouhghly cleaned up everyday. We found several cigarette stubs in the sand as well as pieces of paper and even of lettuce! Not to mention the cigarillo that was left on the table next to our sunbeds.

Regarding the spa, the whole experience was another diappointment compared to the spas of the other hotels we stayed at. The quality of the massages were average at best and the treatment rooms were quite gloomy with no effort made in design. But these are minor flaws compared to the large spider webs in the shower of the treatment room.

Our other issue was with housekeeping. I don't think that waiting until 2.30 pm for a room to be made up is exactly what you would expect from such a hotel. Also, we did not expect turndown to be made while the guests are still be in the villa, around 5-6 pm. The room turn down in other 5 stars hotels is usually carried out while guests are out of the room, during dinner for example. Finally, the biggest complaint we have is the checking out procedure. This is the first time in our lives when the cleaning lady came in the room just before we left to check that we hadn't taken anything from the room, making us feel like thieves!!!! It is totally ok to ask if we have taken anything from the minibar and to check while we are on our way to reception but doing so while we are still around in the room is utterly unacceptable!
Another thing that happened when we left the hotel is that our villa host was nowhere to be seen and didn't bid us goodbye. Strange for someone that we saw everyday day and who is supposed to cater to our every needs. You would expect him to be here when you leave, hoping you had a pleasant stay and making sure that everything went smoothly. The whole check out experience was really like being at a shop counter with no one caring about you once you have paid your bill.
The resort may be very nice but we will definitely choose another hotel with higher service standards if we were to return to Samui.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Melissende D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Melissende D,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your feedback concerning our property. It is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.

I regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations in regards to personalized service, the cleanliness of our beach area, the ambience and décor of our Banyan Tree Spa, the turndown service and inspection from our Housekeeping team as well as the manner in which your departure was handled. I have already shared your remarks with the respective departments. The issues that you brought to our attention are important to us and are being addressed, so that we can make adjustments accordingly and guarantee the best experience for our future guests.

Melissende D, thank you once again for your stay with us and I hope these few incidents do not mar your overall perception of our brand. I do hope you shall reconsider our property for any future visits to Samui and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We
- we booked an Ocean view villa but we couldnt see the Ocean ( villa #B07) except a walk path with people going in and out from the beach --- no privacy at all!! Later we found out the villa next to us ( #B06) is a garden view villa which costs much less than Ocean view villa. 
- after we complained about the villa location, we were told to move to B02 with much better view, but we have to wait for another half an hour to move in. When we came back to the villa at night, we found out the the weight scale not working, curtain was broken and couldnt open, and most importantly, the bathroom water was not hot at all! Since it was very late already and we were too tired, we could only told the management next morning
- next day  hotel tried to fix the heater but in vain, we got hotel's apology and upgraded to G09 which was a very good villa with excellent view. But we didn't feel good as it was already our third villa in 2 days, moreover, at night when we took bath, again, the shower sprinkle was broken and we couldn't use it!! What a shame....
- yesterday we took the hotel shuttle bus in the morning to Laima beach and scheduled a return pick up at 2pm with our host before our departure. We waited at 1:50pm till 2:20pm only to see the shuttle bus didn't come. Hotel reminded the guests to book the shuttle bus in advance and we did! We called to the hotel and the answer was: "sorry, it is a mistake!" My husband tried to figure it out what happened but the staff couldnt explain and just told us the shuttle bus was coming now. Unbelievable!! Due to this "no show" incident, we almost couldnt catch our scheduled shuttle bus from another Spa on time!! It was totally unacceptable and make us feel this hotel is not up to an average hotel standard, not to mention a  luxury hotel level. Our host tried to apologise but couldn't give us a clear explanation why this happened, only asked us to talk to the management ( but we were in a hurry and have time to talk!) All the spas and restaurants we tried in Samui offered car pick up service very well and never came late. Very disappointed from Banyan Tree.
- a lot of dead insects were found in the outdoor jacuzzi but not at the swimming pool next to it, why?
- housekeeping service was not consistent:  one day with essential oil burner on , another day not; one day to put all our amenities in order, another day not

Pros:
- nice special villa setup for our wedding anniversary 
- staff are always friendly and polite 
- private pool is huge

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank JG1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear JG1809,

Greetings from Samui!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback as it is with constructive comments such as yours that we are able to fine tune our services.

I am delighted to read that you found our anniversary setup to be special, our associates to be friendly and helpful and the private pool in your villa to be suitable and relaxing.

It is with my sincere regret to learn of your disappointment with various aspects of your stay. The issues which you have mentioned have already been addressed this with our management to prevent these from happening to our future guests. These instances were obvious shortfalls on our behalf and I wish to assure you that we have taken heed of your valuable comments and have already applied these regrettable incidents into our training to ensure that our staff remain more attentive to our guests needs.

JG1809, thank you once again for your stay with us. I hope these few incidents you experienced do not mar your overall perception of our brand and I do hope you will honor us with a return visit to our property and allow us the opportunity to show you the improvements we have made by delivering the usual high standards that you both deserve and should rightfully expect. Should you care to visit other locations, we would be honoured if you continued to choose our brand as your Sanctuary for the Senses.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Was the best holidays in Koh Samui incredible time everything perfect and the time in banyan tree is wonderful thank you because my holidays was fantastic
food service views a real paradise a corner in the world worth visiting my holiday was wonderful cant wait everything was perfect really very grateful banyan tree recommend to couples on their honeymoon family friends enjoy this paradise just as spectacular as this was thanks thanks thanks to an unforgettable experienceI LOVE BANYAN TREE

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com
Thank Voyage383358
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Banyan Tree Samui for your recent holiday. It is a pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed our dining options, attentive service and relaxing throughout our resort. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for a future holiday.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Banyan Tree for our honeymoon for 8 nights in July and August 2012 and we have never stayed at a better resort in our lives. We spent months researching hotels, even making reservations elsewhere and changing them a month before we arrived because we wanted something more special. Koh Samui has many “5-star” properties, but only a few seem to truly luxury, including Banyan Tree, Four Seasons, W, Six Senses and Conrad. We rented a car one day to explore the island, and we decided to stop in to these other properties. The staff was so welcoming and allowed us to explore, and we can honestly say that Banyan Tree is #1. While those hotels are magnificent as well, there is something so special about the ambiance, beauty, layout and privacy of Banyan Tree which put it above all others.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were given welcome flowers and escorted to the lobby where we were served coconut water in beautiful glasses and greeted by our villa host, Wi. The views of the entire resort and sea from the lobby were amazing and so much better than any online picture (if that seems possible!). We received a complimentary upgrade from a deluxe pool villa to a grand pool villa (the difference being an outdoor living sala and a jacuzzi in addition to the pool). When we stepped foot in our villa, special honeymoon amenities were waiting for us, including rose petals in the bathtub, a glass of wine and exotic fruits, and a heart-shaped arrangement of flower petals on the bed. Wi also gave us a cell phone to use to contact her at any time during our stay. We stayed in villa C09 which was perfect because it was close to the spa, pool and beach, so we really only needed the buggy service to go to breakfast in the morning (although we walked some days) or to the lobby if we wanted a taxi to go off property. Regardless, whenever we called for a buggy it would arrive within 5 minutes or if we started walking on our own and a buggy passed by, the driver would always ask if we needed a ride. The villas are huge, beautifully decorated in a modern style with a touch of Thai design and provide countless amenities. When we opened our curtains in the morning, the sunshine and views were astounding. Banyan Tree offered turn-down service every night which included a special gift (including incense, coasters and a writing pad) and a snack (such as chocolates and mini pastries).

We received one free certificate for the Rainforest experience at the spa if we purchased another, but because it was our honeymoon, the hotel offered us both for free. My husband and I really enjoyed the one-hour treatment where we rotated between the steam room, sauna, various showers and a vitality pool with different massage stations. One day I also had an avocado body conditioning treatment and a Balinese massage which were the best spa treatments that I have ever received. I had a pavilion all to myself, complete with an outdoor shower area and separate changing area. The technician was wonderful, and all of the treatments come with refreshing snacks once concluded (peppermint tea and fruit with yogurt).

The food on the property was delicious, especially the breakfast buffet at The Edge. My husband and I woke up on our first morning at 6am and were the first guests at the buffet because we were still getting used to the time change from the U.S. The staff at the hotel joked with us because shops and activities do not open/begin on the island until near 11am, but we rented a scooter and just rode up and down the coast, stopping in the afternoon at an animal safari. We spent our days at the pool and beach and the staff always set up our chairs with towels and brought us fresh iced water. The snacks at Sands, the beach bar, were perfect treats, such as Vanilla and Mint smoothies. We ate at Saffron one night which was the only meal that we did not love, although it could have been our choices as we were not used to traditional Thai food. We are adventurous eaters, but something seemed a little off. However, the views were wonderful and we even received a special photo of my husband and I as a souvenir. My husband became friendly with the executive chef at the resort, Chef Rainer, and when he found out that we had to leave our hotel at 4am on our last night, he offered to prepare breakfast for us to go which he left at the front desk (unbelievable!!).

The service was #1 and every single member of the staff was so pleasant. Our villa host, Wi, became a good friend and we felt very comfortable talking with her and asking for her advice about everything from safety to pricing. She picked up our calls from the phone that she provided to us every time we called (no matter what time of the day or night!) and she even spoke with taxi drivers on our behalf. Wi arranged for our car rental and booked us a day trip on a boat to surrounding islands (although we ended up cancelling the tour because we did not want to give up a single day at the hotel pool and beach!). Pop, the front desk manager, was wonderful as well and always made a point to come over and talk to us when she saw us around the property. We have stayed at many fine hotels around the world, but none compare to Banyan Tree. We did not want to leave and cannot wait to come back for our anniversary one day.

Room tip: Villas starting with a letter A, B or C likely will not have an ocean view, but they offer more privacy because they are surrounded by trees. While ocean views are spectacular, guests at the pool and beach will be able to see you when you are on your deck.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle072112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidcayuela, General Manager at Banyan Tree Samui, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Michelle072112,

Greetings from Samui!

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to offer your comments. It is always a pleasure to read notes such as yours and I am delighted that you had a wonderful and rejuvenating holiday.

I am glad to read that you found your Grand Pool Villa to be comfortable, private and conveniently located within the resort and that your enjoyed the special touches delivered by our Housekeeping team with their honeymoon setup and nightly turndown gifts and treats. Our award-winning Banyan Tree Spa features world-class service and treatments from our therapists and I’m happy that you enjoyed your treatment as well as your visit to The Rainforest, our exclusive hydrotherapy wellness facility featuring an array of treatments that utilize the healing power of water to revitalize and restore your health.

We offer a variety of dining options throughout the resort and it is great that you were able to experience all of our restaurants. I am pleased that you found our breakfast buffet at The Edge to be fantastic and the snacks at Sands to be just what you needed while relaxing during the day. I regret that you were not satisfied with your meal at Saffron and hope this shall not detract from the enjoyment of your holiday.

From Pop, our Rooms Manager, who coordinated your stay to Wi, your Villa Host, who met your needs in a warm, friendly manner to Chef Rainer for serving you an early farewell breakfast basket, I am absolutely delighted that we exceeded your expectations in every regard. I have already passed along your comments to our entire team as it is comments such as yours that provide motivation to continue delivering the highest standards of service.

Michelle072112, thank you once again for your stay with us. Congratulations to the both of you on your marriage and I wish you nothing but happiness as you journey through life together. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to our Sanctuary for the Senses for your future holiday.

With warm regards,

David Cayuela
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews