We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #15 of 40 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb12 and had the smallest cheapest bungalow. The view was impressive, the room was small and the shower was in with the toilet ( Which could be a challenge if you are a big person, it was satisfactory for what I required) it has it's own private beach with a hammock and you can get a massage there. I would return, but I would pay more and get one of the larger Bures. You can also hire scooters here at a slightly higher price than down the road, but very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    59
    31
    11
    16
See reviews for
19
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Me & my husband visited this hotel on May. The staffs are very kind and helpfull, we had booked seaview standart A/C room, the room was good but our wiew was half blocked by another room's roof, we asked them to change our room with another room which have full sea view than they change & upgrade our room with superior room:) We dont pay any charge for our new room. The staffs give inportance their customers. The sea is not too deep on front of the hotel, if you should walk about 10/15 min, we can reach deeper beach on lamai. The hotel is very comfortable, the foods are very delicious. If you like nature & silence, you will never regret coming here

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhnkml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

our son booked our holiday, what a great choice, perfect view, clean rooms, excellent staff, always smiling - cheerful and helpful.
the restaurant has the best food, from breakfast to dinner, have tried other places and keep coming back here, and staying here for our food, 14 glorious days, want to buy bungalo and move to Lamai Bay.
cheers to the staff and thankyou Frank, marilena, Midge

Room Tip: southy side with a view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilena v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Off the main road, the name says it all. All the cottages face west over the bay and the day is crowned by a generous sunset view from your balcony. The restaurant has good food and found this hotel good value for what we paid. A 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Chaweng madness, it provides a quiet retreat to catch up after partying the night away in Chaweng. My only disappointment was that the ablution facilities- toilet and shower were very archaic, and the bed was rock hard. Apart from the first 2 days of rain, the stay was pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phokus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed in a beachfront bungalow in november (supposedly monsoon season but was lovely weather the whole time) the bungalow was great really roomy with aircon nice balcony with a great view and separate ensure with hot shower. The resort was really quite when we were there with only 2 other bungalows in use. The pool area is nice, not too many sun loungers-not a problem for us but could be of there were more guests. The beach area is a small bay with a couple of loungers- no cushions! The only problem we found with this accommodation was the location it is a 10minute taxi journey to lamai or at very low tide you can walk along the beach takes about 30minutes and involves a bit of wading through sea. Lamai was very quiet (probably because of the season) but chaweng was a bit busier.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a driver who was around all the time to drop you into town etc.
We really enjoyed our stay at lamai bay view and would definately recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyball1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 night and it made our holiday perfect. i cannot put down in words how amazing this resort is. you stay in little huts which all have a view down to the resorts private beach. The huts are quite standard, very clean and has everything you need. bed, shower, kettle,tv, aircon,fridge, and a great mini bar. when you wake up in the morning and look out the window and all your greeted by is plam trees, blue sea water and a gorgeous beach, you dont need a fancy room. its a family run business and john is so helpfull when it comes to trips, food places, boats to other islands. the swimming pool is deadly i just didnt want to get out of it, its an enterity swimming pool so when your in it it feels like it goes on forever.

this resort it 10 mins away from Chaweng Beach and 5 mins away from lamai both of these places have great nightlife. this resort is in a perfect location.
i would defo recommend the german Restaurant down the lane (3 mins walking) it serves gorgeous food and its very cheep to eat.
i would also recommend renting a moped off john at the resort its 200b a day becuase you get into places like the elephant trecks cheaper when you just turn up.
oh and wat made my stay here even nicer was when the maids cleaned your room the left a flower on the bed for you which i thing was just a lovely unexpected touch.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mosthappytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We'd booked a bungalow with panoramic view.
When arriving we were not picked up at the airport, even though we had booked airport pick up of the hotel, and even confirmed this 3 days before arrival. We had to call the hotel and eventually an ordinary taxi showed up after 45 min. There were a lot of taxis at the airport we could have taken straight away if we had known they were late.
The bungalow was just like described when we booked, beside that there was no wfi.
The location of the hotel/bungalows was nice, but the beach in front of the hotel is not good for swimming. The breakfast was ordinary with butter, marmelade, yoghurt and juice. One of the mornings we ate breakfast we were asked if we wanted some eggs, but this happend only once.
The hotel had some troble with the electricity one evening/night, which made it hard to sleep as the aircondition did not work. The lack of electricity was only at the hotel, as all the other hotels had electricity, but I guess this not unusual in Thailand.

The hotel was OK, but we would stay at another hotel next time. We found that we could get better hotels nearby for the same price we paid here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn

Helpful?
6 Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 50 in Lamai Beach
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Property: Lamai Bay View Resort
Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing