We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sea view bungalows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #14 of 45 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed in a beachfront bungalow in november (supposedly monsoon season but was lovely weather the whole time) the bungalow was great really roomy with aircon nice balcony with a great view and separate ensure with hot shower. The resort was really quite when we were there with only 2 other bungalows in use. The pool area is nice, not too many sun loungers-not a problem for us but could be of there were more guests. The beach area is a small bay with a couple of loungers- no cushions! The only problem we found with this accommodation was the location it is a 10minute taxi journey to lamai or at very low tide you can walk along the beach takes about 30minutes and involves a bit of wading through sea. Lamai was very quiet (probably because of the season) but chaweng was a bit busier.
Staff were very friendly and helpful and there was a driver who was around all the time to drop you into town etc.
We really enjoyed our stay at lamai bay view and would definately recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyball1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 5 night and it made our holiday perfect. i cannot put down in words how amazing this resort is. you stay in little huts which all have a view down to the resorts private beach. The huts are quite standard, very clean and has everything you need. bed, shower, kettle,tv, aircon,fridge, and a great mini bar. when you wake up in the morning and look out the window and all your greeted by is plam trees, blue sea water and a gorgeous beach, you dont need a fancy room. its a family run business and john is so helpfull when it comes to trips, food places, boats to other islands. the swimming pool is deadly i just didnt want to get out of it, its an enterity swimming pool so when your in it it feels like it goes on forever.

this resort it 10 mins away from Chaweng Beach and 5 mins away from lamai both of these places have great nightlife. this resort is in a perfect location.
i would defo recommend the german Restaurant down the lane (3 mins walking) it serves gorgeous food and its very cheep to eat.
i would also recommend renting a moped off john at the resort its 200b a day becuase you get into places like the elephant trecks cheaper when you just turn up.
oh and wat made my stay here even nicer was when the maids cleaned your room the left a flower on the bed for you which i thing was just a lovely unexpected touch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosthappytotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We'd booked a bungalow with panoramic view.
When arriving we were not picked up at the airport, even though we had booked airport pick up of the hotel, and even confirmed this 3 days before arrival. We had to call the hotel and eventually an ordinary taxi showed up after 45 min. There were a lot of taxis at the airport we could have taken straight away if we had known they were late.
The bungalow was just like described when we booked, beside that there was no wfi.
The location of the hotel/bungalows was nice, but the beach in front of the hotel is not good for swimming. The breakfast was ordinary with butter, marmelade, yoghurt and juice. One of the mornings we ate breakfast we were asked if we wanted some eggs, but this happend only once.
The hotel had some troble with the electricity one evening/night, which made it hard to sleep as the aircondition did not work. The lack of electricity was only at the hotel, as all the other hotels had electricity, but I guess this not unusual in Thailand.

The hotel was OK, but we would stay at another hotel next time. We found that we could get better hotels nearby for the same price we paid here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Finn
6  Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in July 2011. The setting is gorgeous and the private beach is just wonderful! The rooms are quite snug but they have everything you need within them. The shower is very basic but also fine. The staff are lovely and very accommodating. Our only tiny problem was that our safe didn't work in our room and the staff didn't come to fix it despite us asking on several occasions. If you want to book any day trips or transfers then do so through the reception, they gave us advice on who to book with and they booked it all for us. The breakfast is good, make sure you try the banana muffins!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family bungalow for four nights and really enjoyed our stay! The view was fantastic and we had some nice walks along the beach. The bungalow itself was a bit dated, but we knew that! Nice little massage place on the beach too! The beach itself was beautiful, but the water very shallow - we had to walk far out in order to be able to swim... This resulted in us using the pool most of the time and that was fine with us. The food in the restaurant was nice, but not great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were recommended to stay at this hotel by some friends, but also decided to book 5 days afterwards at the luxury hotel "The Kala" which is just around the corner. We bitterly regretted booking the Kala. We missed Lamai Bay View immediately the day we moved to the Kala. We missed the fantastic location on the rocks with a small private beach, but still at the edge of the long Lamai Beach, where the male part of us went jogging everyday. We missed our lovely bungalow just 15m from the water. We missed the friendly and smiling staff, who understood the art of being helpful and at the same time relaxed and almost family-like. We will never forget the evening when one of the waiters and the owner of the hotel did an impromptu unplugged serenade concert at the restaurant. We missed the massages we got at the small wellness hut just next to the private beach, with the cool breeze from the sea coming in through the open walls. And finally we missed the great food at the restaurant, better than what we experienced at the Kala. The rumor we heard at Lamai Bay View is that the chef was trained at one of the best restaurants on the island.

All in all, for us it seemed like Lamai Bay View had found this unique blend of beautiful location, relaxation, and friendliness. Exactly what we came looking for!

Room Tip: Front row bungalows, right side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We want to thank you for the warm hospitality and charming.
The attention the little things and most importantly helped us long for every minute.
Your place is amazing, very beautiful and it seems like paradise.
Charming rooms and excellent dining.
Hope to come soon again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odeliabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
739 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#23 of 51 in Lamai Beach
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
574 reviews
9.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
481 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $35 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing