We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coconut Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 40 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“pretty view”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

... clean room in the main building, we were there in june 2012, and we were still offered the beach front huts which were appalling. no fit state to be rented out, you'd be safer/cleaner/comfier in a tent on the beach. as everyone else has said here do not expect any hotel staff; our room was set up by what looked like a group of friends, texting etc whilst we were waiting.

we payed a lot for the room but we had little option as we got there late and needed somewhere to stay - in hindsight there are many better places to stay for the price you pay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nbbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    17
    12
    11
See reviews for
29
53
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I spent three nights at Coconut Beach Resort in Lamai in July 2012. I had returned from a few weeks over in Koh Phangan and Koh Tao (after initially starting my holiday in Lamai, just up the road at Lamai Inn 99 where I spent five nights).

I had the transfer shuttle from the ferry port, drop me back at my motorbike lady (Khun Vanida, opposite Lamai Wanta). I hired a bike (200THB p/d - new bike too), left my luggage with Ms Vanida and went riding around Lamai looking for a hotel for the last three nights of my stay in Thailand. I checked out several properties (including Bill Resort which I thought thoroughly unappealing) and ended up settling on the Coconut Resort, which caught my eye several weeks earlier.

First up, this is a really nice, modern airy building of three stories in total. It is situated in an old coconut grove/farm – hence the name. It is right on Lamai Beach and the hotel pool can be found between the main building and the beach and it is a very attractive pool I might add. I could see some old 'classic bungalows' on the edge of the property and if you read other reviews below, some people refer to these. But it is apparent they are being dismantled and removed.

I inspected a room and negotiated a price of 1300THB (was 1400THB including breakfast, which I declined). I went back to Khun Vanida on the motorbike, picked up my bags, came back and checked in.

Huge room on the first floor, decent sized balcony, all very clean and modern. Nice amenities – TV, fridge, writing desk, large bathroom with bath and shower – nice large glazed tile floors throughout (cool on the bare feet).

Now, as another reviewer has pointed out – this hotel is not your average ‘hotel’. The reception consists of an office desk over in the corner of the cavernous lobby. The furniture in the lobby consist of a few wooden arm chairs and a coffee table. You could play a game of tennis in the lobby otherwise, it is so big and open. There was a new water cooler installed as well. Free wifi in the lobby - which I managed to access from my room on the first level - but which may not be accesible from rooms on level 2).

It seems to me the owners spent all their money building this very nice property but forgot one thing… staff. A friendly girl runs reception during the day, in between playing games on the Ipad, and a guy runs the show from sundown onwards. Very nice people I might add.

So, overall, if you arrive with a mindset of this being more of a ‘serviced apartment’ – with virtually no normal hotel services, this place is great. There is an element of the place being ‘unfinished’ or only 90% finished – which didn’t bother me one bit.

The location is superb in terms of the main drag of Lamai – and is very centrally located on the beach. As for restaurants and bars – the Bikini Bar, the Bamboo Bar and the Chillin’ Bar are all moments away, down on the beach. (Be sure to walk up the south end of the beach to have lunch and laze around the Café del Mar. Excellent spot) – and the swimming is very nice up here also.

It’s true that Lamai’s few nightclubs are not far away and if you try really hard, you can sometimes here them at night. But the hotel is very well insulated for sound and the soft, unobtrusive hum of the air conditioning blocks any of that noise. I slept solidly every night.

If you need a hotel with all the bells and whistles and amenities and a large team of hotel staff to wait on you hand and foot and to make your stay enjoyable, you might be better off elsewhere at a more established property like The Weekender or Lamai Wanta.

I would stay at Coconut again, for sure.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the pool which would be nice. The rooms at the front of the building pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RicardoMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great central location and good sized rooms. That's the only positives. This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in Thailand.
On arrival the receptionist was unfriendly and was like that for our duration. The rooms were poorly cleaned. My daughter found a used cotton bud on the floor of the bathroom on arrival. Bed sheets were stained and felt unclean.
On 2 occasions we had to ask for our rooms to be cleaned at 4pm, despite being out for 4 or 5 hours. Toiletries were not replenished. We had to ask for loo rolls on 3 occasions.
The balconies varied from having 2 mismatching chairs to none at all. The balcony doors had large gaps enabling mosquitos to enter the room. We had to buy coils to keep them down. The wifi is limited to reception area and a few rooms close to reception. The coffee facilities was a kettle and paper cups in reception. There are definitely far better hotels in this price bracket.

Room Tip: If you want wifi, ask for a room next to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coconut Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Now we already change a broken balcony lamp & unmatching furniture in a new one and approve cleaning standard in our hotel. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Phetchabun, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

i have stayed here on a number of occasions,
staff friendly, good motorbikes for rent, smack bang on the beach. good tucka too!
Cant go wrong, nice massage beachside as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Classic example of Thai son taking over the family business after university, except he knows NOTHING about running a resort. The hotel pricing for the bungalows is ridiculous, the hotel rooms are way overpriced. The pool can only be used by bungalow people for a fee-but who wants to walk on 100 degree platform. Breakfast is extra charge-definitely NOT worth it. The best part of the resort are the trees in front, but these are overrun with people NOT staying at the resort. People from other resorts take chairs off the bungalow porches and when it rains they go onto the bungalow porches for shelter and the management does nothing!!! There used to be a little white fence that kept outsiders out, but it washed away and the management is too cheap to replace it. Basically, the son pinches every penny, puts nothing into the property and keeps raising rates. There are way better places close by-Weekender-for a much better value and service. There is suppose to be free fruit, tea and coffee but the only thing that is ever replaced is the coffee. Oh, and now the son wants people to pay by credit card ONLY!! Outrageous when you consider foreign transaction fees. He should learn some bookkeeping skills. He is very nice, but is incompetent when it comes to running a business.

Room Tip: Booking on line is more expensive than walk in rates. There are plenty of places to stay nearby at b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevillebartos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coconut Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your advice It's the truth butnow we already adjust mangement concept by
1. setting one standard price by demolish all old bungalows remain only new hotel.
2. accepting both cash and credit card paying.
3. setting staff team for excellence service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Found this hotel, had a look at the hotel rooms - very nice, however expensive and smelt a little like sewage. So we had a look at the 'beachfront huts'. All we are going to say is that there was a dead rat in the bathroom and it was literally a derelict shed - no other way to describe it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SGBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Coconut Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
It may be the truth for 500THB beachfront hut but today We demolish all our old bungalows and built a new three-floor building hotel. Currently, we have 44 rooms in standard and luxuary style with pool & gym.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2011

...in hotel is a reconstruction. Beach bungalows demolished to build new ones. In this regard, travelers are not very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvetlanaMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 50 in Lamai Beach
677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#32 of 50 in Lamai Beach
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#37 of 62 in Maret
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Beach Resort

Property: Coconut Beach Resort
Address: 124/433 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centra Coconut Beach Resort Samui is located on the secluded Thong Tanote Beach, on the south-western tip of Koh Samui, with views across to Koh Tan and Koh Mutsum, two renowned diving and snorkelling spots. Nestled amidst luxuriant surroundings the resort offers a variety of experiences with a choice of a comfortable stay in a room overlooking the pool or offering direct pool access, or greater comfort in villas situated steps away from the beachfront pool and the fine sands of the resort’s beach. Resort accommodation consists of 53 rooms and villas ranging from 44 to 63 square metres of living space including a furnished balcony or terrace, 23 rooms offer pool access providing additional comfort to all guests and the 7 villas feature a Jacuzzi, comfortable living space and garden or ocean viewsCense by Spa Cenvaree will offer holistic experiences as well as therapeutic and beauty treatments in a tranquil environment. There are several treatment rooms and two Jacuzzi rooms. Two swimming pools comprising one beachfront swimming pool and a longer pool flanked by the resort’s buildings. Activities outside the resort are aplenty and can be arranged via the tour desk.The resort’s all-day dining restaurant, Coconut restaurant, offers a eclectic mix of Thai and International cuisines together with great ocean vistas. A Beach Bar is situated adjacent to the Coconut Restaurant and serves cocktails and refreshments throughout the day.The resort is a 15-minute drive to popular Lamai Beach and Nathon Pier where ferries disembark from the mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coconut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Coconut Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing