We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best guesthouse in town I reckon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
“best guesthouse in town I reckon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great value for the price we paid. It's not far from the town's center but the owner drives you there for free. The rooms were tidied every day and were nicer than your average guesthouse were you would pay the same price or even more. There's a swimming pool and a well stocked bar with very reasonably priced beers. The owner is British and gave us a lot of advice on what to do and where to go. It's a very easygoing entreprise without being sloppy or dirty. If I go back to Koh Samui I'll know where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well what can I say that hasn't been said before! Steve is a perfect host and nothing is too much trouble for him. We stayed here with our friends for a fortnight and he made us very welcome with lifts into town or where ever we wanted to go as all part of the service. We celebrated our silver wedding whilst we were there and Steve arranged a fabulous day for us to renew our vows on a secluded beach with a celebrant to renew the vows for us, all food, flowers, hair do's and cake as well as a photographer nothing was too much trouble for him. He also took us around the island for the day in his jeep showing us the highlights of Koh Samui at a very reasonable cost. There is a little laundry across the street who will wash and iron all your clothes for you for next to nothing!
We had a fab time and would not hesitate in recommending Chaulty Towers to anyone:) Thanks Steve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helpmedressright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here on the 1st part of our samui 3 week holiday.I have to agree with most reviewer's here and its a perfect spot for a relaxing holiday.Was supposed to only stay for 4 nights but ended up staying for the week.The owner offers lifts the whole time but apart from one night we declined since its barely a 10 minute stroll to town centre and beach.If ur into running there's a lovely road that almost takes u up around the jungle,just take a left and left again from entrance.I did this most mornings and it was very quiet and a lovely experience.Also a Gym a few hundred meters from guesthouse.Rooms are well built and you cant here your neighbours.To be honest this was my favourite stay of our honeymoon.Those who complain would want to cop on,for 20e a night the superior rooms are equal to 150e a night rooms in any 3 star hotel in Ireland.

Room Tip: Pay the extra 3 or 4 euros for the superior rooms.There lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnymac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Steve is a great guesthouse owner making everything possible to make his guests feel comfortable. He met us at a port at the other side of the island and took us to the hotel, though the ferry was late and he had to wait on the pier. The transfer wasn't free, but the price was announced in advance and was better than Samui taxi prices. He was also always ready to take us in his car to any place in Lamai whenever we wanted, free of charge.
Our room was clean, with good Wi-Fi connection and everything else we needed, with only exception of bathroom floor rug, which probably would be provided, had we asked for it.
Common area also had everything one can ask for - a swimming pool, a pool table, a jacuzzi, etc.
The only thing one may complain is location: the guesthouse is about one kilometer from the beach, and late night walk back from it, especially the last 300 meters by a desolated road with stray dogs, may feel uncomfortable. But the road is safe and the dogs are totally indifferent to the strangers and even wag their tails if you greet them. Though the location is not for those who want to stay close to the beach, there are some benefits to it - it's in a quite green area and close to a supermarket, a local farmers' market and the single Lamai petrol station, which may be quite convenient for those who rent bikes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ostap N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was our second stay with Steve and Oh at Chaulty Towers. Service was still excellent, rooms great, and the value unbeatable. We stayed in the room down by the pool this time, and our friend took up the room next door. Good size room and fridge for stocking up with goodies from Tesco nearby. Chilly air-con. Steve has done some upgrades in the common areas, adding a nice sitting area around a big outdoor lounge, and upgraded the patios of the downstairs areas for a nice clean polished look. We arrived on the night that Southern Thailand was affected by a mass blackout, but gratefully whilst many larger hotels languished in darkness, Steve's back up generator still operated room lighting and fans, water pumps, and garden lighting for minimal inconvenience.

Laundry accross the road. Gym just up the road. Pharmacy, food and other shops all nearby. Short trip by bike to the beach or other food options such as our staple night market run near the boxing ring. Did try Brown Sugar restaurant on the beach road one night which I would avoid. Heard other bad experiences from here too. Steve recommended the current hotspot restaurant called Kob (dropping us off the first night as it is a bit harder to find), and the food was suitably delicious, so we ate there again another night. So location isn't beachfront, but we think it is just great.

Want to rent motorbikes, delivered to the hotel within 1/2 hr at 150bht a day without having to leave passport. Steve will often offer you rides around the place, and meet up out for a game of pool and a couple of drinks, offering you safe passage home at the end of the night too, which is a bonus. Full of info on latest and greatest places to play pool and eat (two of our favourite activites when in Thailand). Steve really goes out of his way to help you enjoy your stay, which only adds to already excellent value on offer.

Thanks again for another great stay Steve & Oh

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in April, and could not fault it! The value for money was fantastic! Our room was great, and had everything we needed. Steve made us feel very welcome, and although we were quite happy to walk into town as it is only about 10 minutes away, he always offered us a lift. We found ourselves spending the whole day by the pool, and having the local Tesco nearby was great as we could stock up on food for lunch etc and keep it in our fridge. We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

stayed here for five days small nice little guest house we had the apartment with balcony for only £6 extra a day well worth it was lovely and clean and had a lovely comfy bed tv dvd player a little kitchen with a proper cooker and microwave and fridge ,steve the host was nice and nothing was to much trouble and would do anything to make your stay enjoyable met some nice people and enjoyed my stay there

Room Tip: go for the apartment sunny balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchy1962_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing