We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't understand all the fuss!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't understand all the fuss!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in August after reading all the 'amazing' reviews!
We emailed and arranged the airport pick up - Steve didn't appear! On phoning him, there was no apology (this happened the next day when he realised he forgot) instead just a comment to get a taxi! Needless to say I was already peed off by the time I got to the hotel.
We were put in an upgraded room purely by chance. Steve's maid had booked someone else in ours. this may sound fab but we then had to move to our original room two days in as someone else was booked in the superior suite. this just proved to be a pain in the bum - not being able to unpack and moving from room to room. I would have rather been in the more simple room from the start.
The rooms are very basic. But, heh, you get what you pay for, and for the cost - the rooms were fine. Clean bedding, air con and a tv. Don't move any furniture mind you as they don't get moved by the cleaners! we didn't pay for breakfast included but we did have it one of the days and it was brill, with PG tips and marmite.
The hotel is a good walk from the beach but not a major problem in the day, a bit more so at night time when you are walking up tracks with no lights and lots of dogs!!!
The lifts to town were offered but we never asked. We did go and watch the Thai boxing but to be honest, I found it, and the offer of going on to another bar, all a little bit sleazy. We would have preferred to go to the boxing on our own and not witness the stereotypical British behaviour of our 'guide' and the other men from the hotel around the Thai girls!!!
If I had a bit of cash I would NOT stay here again, in fact, even minus the cash I wouldn't. Spend a few extra pounds and stay at some where that your girlfriend will feel a little more comfortable staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chault, Owner at Chaulty Towers, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
This review was posted word for word last year, I responded to the review 6 months ago, but you said my comment was not in your guide lines. I am now shocked to see the same review re-posted. It would appear that the client has copied and pasted there original review. and then deleted it, to enable to resumit it again now. This is not in your guide lines, but you have chosen to break your own rules. Further more I have two independant vistors staying in my hotel now who have read this review last year when they were choosing their holiday, and both of them said they are going to respond to the review, pesumably you will block their responce as well ? While I don't exspect you to do the decent thing and exspose the personal attack on me, I would appreciate its emediate removal. ( if you do print this, it would deter other people in the future breaking the trip avisor rules ). Many Thanks Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A second visit says something by itself. Small hotel but with all the facilities, bar, pool table, jacuzzi and a pool in a quiet location but only ten minutes walk to the town and nightlife. Excellent clean facilities and Steve, his wife and his staff cannot do enough to help. As an addition this year Steve can now organise personalised trips for groups which we found excellent and his knowledge of the places to go and nightlife is superb.
Same as last year, highly recommended, in fact even more so!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON ENGLAND
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed the previous night at weekender villa ( that rates highly on here) and looked at amity(+ville !) bungalows .I thought that the islands lower side of the under £50 search selection were all going to be terrible. That was until we struck lucky and booked Chaulty towers at the last minute. Steve is totally on top off his game. He understands that lower price does not mean lower standards . He has thought of everything . Fan, aircon and ceiling fan! Not just one all three. Beautifully well presented rooms with clean welcoming decoration and modern fresh bedding . Beds that are comfortable and showers and toilet wet rooms with a European tiled standard that 4* hotels would envy. The only thing missing is the hot tub and if you want that it's available pool side! The whole ambiance of the place is laid back and friendly . Should your trip advisor iphone map app put a star in the middle of the ocean ( like mine does) he is up the road opposite the only petrol station in lami ( pharmacy on rhs with back to petrol station) passed gym , passed muai Thai school and toward the top of road before bend . big house on right hand side. Oh 1 last thing . Moped rental 100 baht less than everyone else and better quality bikes too . Have a great stay . We did.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and where very happy with the room and location. Steve is most helpful and happy to organise anything you need. It's a five minute walk to the town but is very safe and well lit.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanNicTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have to agree with previous posts.This is a great place to stay if your on a budget.The rooms were a lovely surprise,much better than we expected to get for the money we paid.Steve was very helpful,giving us a lift into town whenever we wanted.We had the upstairs room with its lovely balcony overlooking the pool.A great stay,thank you Steve !

Room Tip: The upstairs room with the balcony is a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Myself and my partner arrived at Chaulty Towers without a booking in June 2012 and Steve immediately made us feel welcome and accommodated. Pool is wonderful, honesty bar fantastic and the entire atmosphere is very relaxing and comfortable. Upon arriving Steve informed us of an acoustic show that his musical duo would be performing that evening. We went along (as did the two other couples who were the only other residents at the time) and were taken to a fantastic beach-side resort in the back of Steve's car. Cocktails and bbq buffet were great and the entertainment was brilliant. Had a fantastic time and it was a wonderful opportunity to become friends with the people we were sharing Chaulty Towers with. Later in our stay Steve organised a personalised tour for the 6 of us including a boat ride to various islands, a trek around local waterfalls, a visit to a practically deserted island (save for a wonderful buddhist temple constructed of driftwood) complete with a meal consiting of freshly caught and cooked fish, amongst other local delicacies.

We had the guest apartment, kitchen was perfect for our needs, free wi-fi was more than good enough and the air conditioning was perfect. Steve cooks a fantastic british breakfast and even offers proper british tea.

A lovely find, well priced and Steve's local knowledge was a real added bonus. Had a fantastic time here.

Room Tip: We arrived without a booking and were shown each available room so we could make an informed decisio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jessjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We travelled to Steve's bijou but beautiful guesthouse in November.
It is immaculate,rooms beautifully nestled around the pool like a small
oasis.The room was impeccably serviced every day and our four days
there were a dream.Steve is an amazing host who ferried us hither and thither,giving us a bounty of tips and ideas.You would be a fool like
Basil not to stay here.

Room Tip: Any will do,don't walk past this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing