We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a "beauty" !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a "beauty" !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at chaulty towers for 8 nights. It was "chaulty" not "faulty" ! The place is like a home from home, clean rooms with great facilities - especially the free wifi (which larger hotels often charge for). We met some great people who were also staying there. Steve was a great host, he picked us up from the airport and often gave us lifts into town. We had some friends staying about 10 mins away and he was very helpful to them too. Steve recommended some places to go to at night - none of which were "sleezy" !
We had breakfast once - it was very good, The pool was nice and clean and the rooms were cleaned every day. In fact this was the first place I've stayed at in Thailand that didn't have that "musty" smell, so I was pleasantly surprised.
Steve can also organise excursions if you want him to, he organised a hire car for us and a snorkeling trip! Nothing is too much trouble, you just need to ask.
After leaving Chaulty, we stayed at a place in Karon in Phuket, it was twice the price, the room smelt "musty" and they charged a small fortune for wifi, which half the time did'nt work.
So in comparison to everywhere I've stayed in Thailand over the last few years, I reckon Chaulty Towers is top of the list !! The best value for money we've ever had !!
The place speaks for itself !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Staying at Chaulty Towers is like becoming part of a family of hosts and travelers. If you're looking for privacy and an intimate getaway along the beach, this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for a family-run home-like environment where you'll get invited out every night with your hotelier and guests, only a short walk from town and the beach, then this place is perfect! A genuine group of ex-pats and locals come together to run this small guesthouse, and they pull out all the stops for you using their connections with the Lamai community. We were only on Samui for 4 nights, but we were glad we spent every night here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

After staying in chaweng for one week and walking miles every night to the bars etc, it was finaly time for us to go and see What all the fuss was about at Steves!! We had dropped him an email to see if he wouldn't mind picking us up and we would pay him for when we had to check out! But he emailed straight back saying 'don't worry il pick you up at 12 free of charge' so that was a bonus!! As soon as we arrived he introduced us to his customers and made us felt welcome straight away it was a lovely atmosphere and friendly people too!! He then took us up to the breakfast area and served us real English tea where we chatted to him and his friend John for hours about lamai and Wat was around etc!! It felt like we had knew them forever already!! He then took us around the town and showed us where was cheap to eat and drink and where to go and where not to go!! He then invited us out with him and a few other of his customers that night to show us WhAt lamai town was all about!! We all drank and danced and met many of his local friends and experienced many of his local bars too!! It's a great laugh- never turn down a night out with Steve!! On thursdays he also plays in a band which is a good night out and sundays takes whoever wants go into town for a rosst dinner which is good!! He arranged a moped for us the next day when we asked which was 150 baht aday!! And what great use it was too!! He then showed us where to take our laundry and asked that night if we wanted anything special for breakfast the next day, as he would go out and get fresh. Croissants etc if we wanted them! I asked for a chocolate croissant and he served up fruit and yoghurt with it too which was amazing and he even came out with a pot of english tea and orange juice! My boyfriend had an English fry up which I Definately reccomend and I also recommend you ask him for the chaulty special which is ham, egg, beans and cheese on toast! It was coming too the end of our 2 week stay and we really didn't want to leave so we extended our stay for another week, apart from one night that we wanted to go over to Koh Tao for the night and even then Steve was happy to book us a place to stay there at a reccomended hotel called bowthong resort!! We booked a trip through Steve too and he arranged for us to get picked up right outside etc, nothing was a problem to him! He was always happy to help and make your stay as nice and comfy as possible!! He's got a lovely wife and daughter also everyone is always smiling and the maid does a brilliant job cleaning the rooms and giving out fresh towels when needed etc!! By the end if the third week it was time to challenge Steve to an omelette I wanted for breakfast one morning, it's not his special or on the menu but I really fancied one And knew Steve wouldn't mind giving it ago for me, it came out tasting amazing do nice I asked for it the next morning!! I Definately reccomend you ask for this even if it may come out like scrambled egg but still tasting as nice! Sorry Steve I've had to mention this as it was soo good! I could write so much more on here but will be here forever! All I can say is thanks to Steve and his family for an amazing 3 weeks and thankyou for all your help!! We will Definately be back next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmychoo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

After staying a week in a 5 star hotel up the road in chaweng we were a little hesitant about what to expect, but we needn't of worried, the time spent at chaulty towers was 1000 times better than the 5star hotel, it had everything you could want plus more, a beautiful pool, friendly guests which became very good friends, and steve, probably the best host in Thailand , he picked us up from our hotel free of charge, burst through the door bright and bubbly and took us to his place, giving us a little tour on the way, once we arrived he showed us round the place and met a few of his guests, he then gave us a pot of english tea and we chatted for a few hours before going to our room. The rooms are lovely , huge fridge with ice compartment, nice beds, flat screen tv and DVD player and even surround sound, spotless too, the maid cleans every morning and there's no need to worry about belongings being left out, we left cameras laptops, I phones etc out and they were all tidied up neatly and fresh towels and bedding put on each day. The location is great, 10 min walk to the lively part of town, but far enough away to get a good nights sleep, steve took us all out and showed us round the town and took us to a few of his local bars.... Not to be forgotten in a hurry! He put on BBQ for a guests bday, and has got a lovely cocktail making machine called John, hotlips enjoyed those cocktails :) nice new sofas outside to lounge about on too, we booked for 2 weeks and stayed for 3, is the highlight of my travels so far, steve, his family and his guests all made this trip amazing and I can't thank you enough for that, we shall be back very soon! Thankyou so much. Tom

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfgti220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Chaulty Towers had so many good points. The room was large and clean, with very powerful AC. The pool was refreshing and always very clean. The English Breakfast was fantastic. The owner, Steve, is very friendly and accommodating. He helped us arrange a great snorkeling trip, got a taxi to pick us up at the end of our stay, and was always willing to drive us the short distance to the beach or town. A highlight of our entire trip through Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks and had a wonderful time, Steve was a great host, he could advise us of places to go and took us out a few times. The rooms were nice and the hotel is within walking distance of the beach and the town centre but Steve could give us a lift when he wasn't busy.
A scooter and a car were quickly arranged by Steve upon request. A guitar was even arranged for my son who was having withdrawal symptoms from not being able to play.
All in all very good, the only thing I personally didn't like was the two dogs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _Stephen_1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Everything that I read in Tripadvisor is true! Steve looks after his customers and really makes you feel at home.
I only stayed for two days so I didn't have time to see him playing in the bar.
But one night he took us to see Thai boxing!
Bedrooms are big, clean and the swimming pool is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahoralucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing