We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of A Small, Comfortable, First Class GuestHouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gem of A Small, Comfortable, First Class GuestHouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Wonder place, incredible hospitality, very comfortable rooms, built in tour guide and host. fabulous food. highly recommend. not to be missed in koh samui.
wow did i luck out to stay at the chaulty towers. it was sheer serendipity to find this extremely comfortable, and very affordable, small and very accomodating guest house in koh samui. beautiful pool and bar. the owner, steve, took us personally to some amazing places around town, and was the consummate host. the food was custom and quite good. i had a spacious room with all the amenities, for a price i loved, and would be happy to stay there much longer. there was even a table/desk area, overlooking the azure pool, where i was able to work on my computer when not running around. not for those wanting a large, impersonal hotel, but for an amicable and personalized stay, this is absolutely wonderful. better than any tour around, though he will also help you with those if you like as well.
Nightlife Tip : Don't turn a chance to go with Steve, the host, anywhere he is willing to drive you, which he usually is. Whether it is bar hopping, out for dinner at the the Shamrock Restaurant (great Irish bar), or to Chewang for one of extraordinary "lady boy" cabaret shows.I ended up staying for a longer time since I liked it here so much.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and face or overlook the pool. The ones on the main side have a seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Like many others I found Chaulty Towers through Tripadvisor, and it lived up to its excellent reputation. Without a doubt Steve and his wife (and his young daughter!) make the place a terrific haven in Lamai. Steve dropped us into town a number of times, advised us the best places to go on Koh Samui, invited us along on nights out, and basically was a wealth of local information. The room itself was absolutely spotless and cleaned daily, the pool and poolside bar a great place to hang out when not in town. A great policy of note: the bar itself operates on an honour system so if you're thirsting for a beer (which I frequently was in the heat...) and Steve is not around, you can still satisfy your thirst!

I feel I should add that Koh Samui itself wasn't our favourite place - we found Koh Tao to be much more our style, more young people etc. - but this takes absolutely nothing away from Chaulty Towers! If you're heading to Samui - definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIkhail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed at Chaulty Towers for 2 weeks in November 2011, and what a fantastic holiday I had. It is very difficult to add to what has already been said in other reviews already posted on Trip Advisor, but I can only endorse those comments by saying that Steve and Ore are a fantastic couple, and will go out of their way to make sure that your stay with them is memorable.

The guest rooms have all recently undergone an upgrade, and are all decorated and furnished to a high standard. I stayed in Room 2 with the blue lights set into the ceiling - fantastic!!

Steve has recently opened a 6th guest room on the first floor by the breakfast area, and this is also of a very high standard.

My holiday was so enjoyable that I have already booked to return to Chaulty in March of 2012, and I really can't wait.

I can only emphasise that when you stay at Chaulty Towers, you arrive as guests, but leave as friends.

I cannot recommend Chaulty Towers highly enough, a fantastic guesthouse, set in a fantastic location, and run by a fantastic couple.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well furnished and decorated, but my favourite is Room 2 with the blue lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisfromSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacehaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I have just spent the most amazing two weeks at Chaulty Towers in Lamai with Steve and his wonderful family. The guest house is fabulous and every attention to detail is catered for. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
I chose to stay at Chaulty Towers having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and I am so glad that I did. Steve will go out of his way to make sure that your stay with him is memorable. This is so much so that I have already booked again to stay with him next March. I can't wait for this to happen.

Bruce

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had an amazing time. Steve invited us to his birthday where we met his friends and they helped us out so much during our stay. Steve also gave us a free upgrade which was fantastic!

We'll definitely be staying here when we come up next. Service and breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiviyaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koh tao thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

If you are looking for a nice , quiet and cheap hotel in Lamai.....this is the place to go !
Located at 10 mn walk from the center of Lamai beach , in a coconut aera , this small and quiet hotel is running by Steeve and his wife On , very nice couple , who will explain and recommended you all the best things to do in Koh Samui.
My wife and me like this place , we feel at home , not in an hotel , with this nice swimming pool and the independant jacuzzi.
I recommended this place for anyone who are looking for a nice stay.
See you next time !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandrofascia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at Chaulty twice during a span of 2 weeks. After just a few days at the guesthouse and in Lamai, we fell in love with the whole area. Steve, the owner, is a true host. The guesthouse is about a 10 minute walk to the stunning beach, but Steve is more than happy to give you a lift into town. He did this nearly twice a day for us -- once in the morning as we headed to the beach and once again in the evening for dinner.

The guesthouse itself is clean and comfortable. A/C and satellite TV were nice. Bathrooms more than clean and the beds comfortable. Rooms were cleaned every day, and breakfast was good. We were introduced to true English tea and traditional English breakfasts, complete with ingredients imported to Thailand. There's a nice pool, a small bar area and a pool table to pass the time.

When he wasn't arranging breakfast or taking us to the beach, Steve was a wealth of knowledge for information about the area. He pointed us to a small Thai restaurant (Jeerapa) that had some of the best Masaman curry we've ever had. And he showed us where to find cheap drinks and good pub grub when we weren't in the mood for Thai. Because of his connection on Samui, Steve has tons of connections with local bars and hotels that he's more than willing to share with his guests. That's one of the reasons we opted to spend an additional three days on Samui instead of Koh Phangnan. Plus, on our second arrival, Steve upgraded to a bigger room at no extra charge.

If you book at Chaulty, you're getting more than just a room. You're getting transport, information and hospitality. What more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ja228299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing