We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not leaving up to reputation - Poore value”
Review of Beach Republic

Beach Republic
Ranked #33 of 172 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We visited the Beach Republic as the Brunch came highly recommended as the Brunch with the best food experience on Samui.

Unfortunately the Beach Republic failed to deliver to our expectation.

The Food selection was good, but the quality of some of the food items fell short of our expectations and it seemed that there was no real passion and soul in making the food from the staff but it was more about ensuring a fully stocked buffet and get the food out.

There was a DJ which was total unnecessary because the atmosphere was more of a kids playground with parents having a picnic and not a Sunday chill out DJ Brunch experience.

Compared to other 5start buffet venues Beach Republic was not good value for money in our view as the buffet included not even soft drinks or Water.

Been there done that and will not come back.

Recommend this place only if you are traveling with kids and wants a Sunday relaxed picnic experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Asiaunknown_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello reviewer. Please send our best regards to your friend “Peter J”...a couple of reviews down. A Sunday “picnic”...you guys certainly made us smile and for us, that's worth a another “bad” review from yet another person in the same party. People aren't stupid and we trust that they will see the vindictive nature of your multiple posts here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 216 of 440 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went for the Asian Buffet last night and was pleasantly surprised and the assortment of flavours that the buffet had. Sushi to start with and a mixture of dishes from different parts of Asia after that.. I particularly liked the lamb masala, excellent. The staff spoke good English and were polite in every way. We will be heading down there this Sunday to try the brunch then relaxing by the pool until dark. If you're going to Koh Samui, make sure this place is at the top of the list. Location, decor, staff, food & drink all superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JustinnGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our best culinary experience on Samui. We were given a complimentary drink upon our arrival at Beach Republic - we chose a glass of white wine. We had a fantastic table outdoors with a view on the ocean; who could ask for more! The food selection is just amazing, from mini angus burgers to lamb and seafood, cheeses, salmon, succulent Thai food...(much more) and let's not forget the desert selection, especially the ice cream!! On top of the food, you have access to 2 great pools with salt water systems and there is a DJ on site; you're in for a treat!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vero G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Being one of two highly recommended Brunch venues on Samui island the Beach Republic this Sunday felt short of expectation to both food and atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Peter. As we discussed after your visit via email, your disappointment was caught by our internal hotel feedback system (U Say) before you paid your bill. And as I agreed with you, we wrongly gave you a slightly pink chicken skewer from the BBQ and the staff did not take the correct actions thereafter - no question about that. I assure you that this mistake will not be repeated. We also didn't meet your standards when it came to the sushi, which are quite high since you lived in Japan for 3 years. I also agree with you that we can do better and it will be close to Tokyo quality next Sunday! It is interesting that you compared us to one of two great Sunday Brunch venues on the island when you actually have never been to the other resort. It's also a little perplexing that you assume everything is better at the other resort, when again, you have never been there. As we discussed, some of your comments are really based on personal taste more than anything and it is very likely that other guests would disagree strongly with some of your opinions. Having said that, you did make some valid points and we will strive to improve in these areas. We are not striving to be the ultimate destination of cool. We are simply aiming to provide great food, great drinks, and great music in a truly fantastic atmosphere. And I must say that overall, day in and day out we achieve this goal. You are most welcome back and I value your feedback and indeed feedback from all of our guests. It is the only way to improve and get better in my world. Also, I looked at your previous reviews and can't believe you were recently actually thrown out of a restaurant - interesting owner's reply too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

To celebrate husband Patrick's 60th birthday, on Sunday, our choice of venue was Beach Republic. We have been huge fans since it's opening & love to introduce our Samui friends & visitors....every one in our party was very impressed in all area so look forward to returning.
The standard of service is high, atmosphere is fun & the food is great. We have been to many of the BR Sunday brunches but felt that, this time, the selection & standard had gone to a new level.Everything we tasted was delicious &, with all afternoon to 'graze', we did it justice! Wonderful so thank you chef Eric & all at Beach Republic. A fabulous time was had by us all.
We look forward to our next visit; perhaps for dinner as the black cod is to die for! Penny

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachRepublicGM, General Manager at Beach Republic, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Penny. Thank you for choosing Beach Republic for your big celebration. We have put in a lot of work and expense to make our signature brunch even better. Its very nice to hear your positive comments especially since you have experiences at other brunches. I also think we a are much better now, but we are still constantly trying to find ways to get better and improve. It’s an eager team we have now that will never surrender to stagnation. Next week we will launch a brand new live station with gourmet truffle raviolis. Thank you for mentioning our chef and our atmosphere in a positive way and thank you for taking time writing this review and your continuous support. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Republic also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Beach Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing