We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Resort and nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Thai House Resort
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Nothing to say except that it's a wonderfull resort with a nice staff . Rooms are really clean !! The swimming pool is really nice. The resort has also a restaurant outside wher food is really good and cheap !!

I really recommand this place to spend quiet and pleasure holydays.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyrille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 134 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is good location quiet and not far from beach bar restaurant. The swimming pool not big but nice and clean, staff was nice with us. The bathroom is simple ,bed is ok, balcony is big and nice. Mini bar is not expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rattanaporn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We ate at their restaurant last night and it was disgusting. The food was severely undercooked to the point where I would consider it to still be raw and it was cold. Of course they still charged me for the food because the waitress said I ordered wrong. I did not realize I needed to specify that they needed to COOK the food as I thought it could be assumed that is what they would do. The pictures on the menu were not of the food they actually serve, and the drinks were watered down. I would not serve this food to the stray dogs wandering the area.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank OntarioLuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was my 4th time in Samui... This hotel was the worst! The room looks like built in the 80's, clean but old fashion.
The shower is terrible... There is no hot water, we called the reception they came twice, but still after 1 minute - the water becomes cold AGAIN!!! Feels like 1 star motel.... Water is flooding all over when you take the shower.
In addition, the safe box is not working.
Breakfast was ok and the swimming pool is also average.
The bed, which should be the simple part, is terrible. It is like sleeping on the floor - very tough and the pillows are from low quality. To add on that, they put us in the 2nd floor, in from of an old and small warehouse that also includes unused toilet - this is not what you expect to see each time when you back to your room.
The mini bar did an annoying noise that bothered us during the night.
Just take this tip from me - DON'T STAY THERE!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Itay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The pool is a very big plus. Clean, buetiful and quit. Great stuff. Very friendly and helpfull.
The beach is 2 min walk but dont have any chairs or shade.
The room is very nice & clean. Every day the made clean our room and supllied new towels.
Breakfast ok. Not that amazing but nice.
The locatiin is next to the beach and the main road but really tranquilty.
We where now and its off season so not realy vibrant atmosfhere.
Great for couples..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taltul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was a small "resort" more family oriented. We stayed for 5 nights. 30 second walk to the beach and a few minutes from Lamai centre with all the restaurants and shops. The rooms were a good size with big beds. The bathrooms were also nice and roomy. The breakfast was decent although not much variety. Great restaurant across the street from the hotel (Grand Thai). The pool is also nice but got crowded early in the morning and stayed full till the evening. At night there are many cats and dogs running around the area, not sure if that's always the case but can't go wrong with the price we got it at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in two pool view rooms. They are spacious and clean. Large bathrooms. Clean towels in the bathroom and to the beach every day. The pool are is nice, and we liked to relax at the pool after beach.
Breakfast is very basic. The staff shows lack of service and experience. That is just too bad. Being a cheaper hotel, one could only expect a simple breakfast, and so it was.

It didn't matter to us that the hotel wasn't located on the beach. We just rented sunbeds at Utopia. They have by the way quite good thai food, so we had luch there every day. In the night we walked to either Sri Nuan or to a place on the right hand side on the road nearby the fresh market. There are of course several other restaurants, we even had dinner at Grand Thai House's restaurant a cross the street, but it didn't stand out for us.

We might stay here again, but only if we have no other option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
718 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#33 of 63 in Maret
274 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#40 of 51 in Lamai Beach
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Inn
Summer Inn
#7 of 45 in Lamai Beach
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thai House Resort

Address: 135 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $24 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thai House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Thai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Thai House Hotel Lamai Beach
Grand Thai House Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing