We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's got what you need”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Thai House Resort
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in two pool view rooms. They are spacious and clean. Large bathrooms. Clean towels in the bathroom and to the beach every day. The pool are is nice, and we liked to relax at the pool after beach.
Breakfast is very basic. The staff shows lack of service and experience. That is just too bad. Being a cheaper hotel, one could only expect a simple breakfast, and so it was.

It didn't matter to us that the hotel wasn't located on the beach. We just rented sunbeds at Utopia. They have by the way quite good thai food, so we had luch there every day. In the night we walked to either Sri Nuan or to a place on the right hand side on the road nearby the fresh market. There are of course several other restaurants, we even had dinner at Grand Thai House's restaurant a cross the street, but it didn't stand out for us.

We might stay here again, but only if we have no other option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoctailsAndDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 137 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here for 21 days. This is our second trip to Lamai and because this accommodation was cheaper when we were booking several months prior and knowing the location we took this in preference to the one we stayed at previously. We had a ground floor poolside room. A few minutes to the town centre and a couple to the beach and about 15 minutes to Tesco centre. Accommodation was large enough for 2 people, bed was good but had to request a hair dryer and purchased a jug for hot drink from Tesco. The pool is well used and well maintained, a little on the small side. Room was serviced each day by friendly staff. The breakfast menu changed to a smorgasbord a week into the stay and we thought that was better overall, still able to order eggs, broth etc. as required. The massage girls attached to the complex were fairly priced and very competent , used often. Sunday market a couple of minutes down the road, and the street carts in the centre of town supplied good cheap Thai food. If you have seen the sites 3 weeks is a little to long but if you like sun, sand and laid back atmosphere then great. We used the beach loungers to the right by the Bamboo Restaurant and had a couple of Thai evening meals there to, great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I feel it is important to point out that the reviews on Trip Advisor under the heading "Thai House Beach Resort" (which is a 4.5 star resort right on Lamai beach) are wrongly intermingled with the hotel details, photos and reviews for a completely separate business called Grand Thai House Resort (which is a 3 star resort also in Lamai but 200 metres back off the beach with direct access to the beach via soi). The confusion commences with the street address on Trip Advisor which is for the Grand Thai House NOT Thai Beach House Resort; all of the "professional photos" are for Grand Thai House Resort NOT Thai Beach House; many of the travellers photos, for example a most recent photo entitled "view from top floor room (sold as a 'pool... (thecoaster, Apr 2013)" is from the room I occupied on top floor of the Grand Thai House Resort. Similarly all of the photos by (Kristofino, Jan 2013) and many others are for the Grand Thai House Resort.

So having tried to clear up the confusion between these two businesses this review is all about Grand Thai House Resort. In March 2013 I had the pleasure of spending 8 days here and I cannot recommend this hotel strongly enough. For about AUD50 per night you can have a large airconditioned room with an ocean view, a huge bathroom, breakfast with eggs cooked to order, a good-sized pool, easy access to the beach, free internet. The Manager Piak is most sympathetic to guests needs and arranged all transfers and sightseeing tours for us. I suggest taking an island tour with Mr. Por's luxury minibus service for a reasonable THB 500 p.h.

I am a frequent visit to Koh Samui and have stayed in Lamai on many occasions since 2010 in all levels of accommodation from 3 to 5 stars. I strongly recommend Lamai over Chaweng and for a budget-conscious visitor I think the Grand Thai House Resort represents the best value for money accommodation I have experienced in Samui.

Room Tip: Even though it is pain to walk up 3 flights of stairs take the rooms on the top floor - they all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank grimmo2wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a holiday in Thailand.
Note there seem to be about 3 properties that go under the thai house lisitng- I think- the thai house and grand thai house and beachfront detached bungalows.
I think there is only 1 combined listing on trip advisor- so if there are variable reviews perhaps it depends where people stayed. The thai house is described as more basic accommodation, and the grand thai house, as you’d expect, the higher standard accommodation. I stayed at the grand thai house which offers hotel accommodation with a pool.

On the plus side;
• The room had a colourful, homely feel to it
• Chose a pool view room which resulted in us getting a top floor room- great as had nice views and could just see the sea
• The grounds and view are of palm trees
• Very nice pool- level and very clean
• Good balcony

The only negative point is that the shower seemed to leak a lot of water over the bathroom floor.

Overall though, it’s a couple of mins walk to lamai beach, and a good place to stay on Samui.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

my partner and i booked this place after reading several reviews. We knew we wanted lamai beach to escape the crowds of other nearby towns but did not expect to love our stay this much. the accommodation is great. clean, tidy and a good size room. the bathroom floods a bit when you shower which is a minor flaw. our balcony over looks the pool which is fantastic and kid friendly too. the breakfast could be improved but again only a minor issue. the one thing i was dissapointed in was there was no bar. you can take beer from the mini bar in your room (40 -60 baht) though or there is a 7/11 only a 2min walk away which is where we get our beers from. despite being on the main drag there ia minimal noise and you are surrounded by great shops and restaurants. you are only a 2Min walk to the beach too. we liked it so much here we extended our stay by 3 nights....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here for the second time recently for 6 nights (last stayed 2009) and was not disappointed. The room was a good size, huge bathroom (with big bath), free water daily, comfortable beds, room cleaned daily.

Nice outlook onto the pool and well kept garden, small verandah with chairs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Pool very clean and relaxing, plenty of pool chairs. There was a small buffet provided each morning and eggs were cooked to order. The massage was heaven!

The beach is only a 2 minute walk down the track so very handy and the hotel is very convenient to the local shops and food market. So this hotel doesn't provide tea and coffee facilities but I couldn't complain about anything really. It was quiet at night, well enough away from the noisy bars, the only noise really was fireworks occasionally going off but it wasn't an issue.

I would definitely return a third time.

Room Tip: I would recommend the ground floor rooms as you can walk directly out to the pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyminato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012. The rooms were pretty standard, however the shower and bathroom taps barely worked, there was also no hot water, and the bath drain was blocked. Our bedsheets were not clean, and when I told the manager she refused to believe me. Air con worked but was extremely weak.

Having travelled Thailand many times, most of the above didnt really worry me. My main issue with the hotel was the extremely rude and unwelcoming staff. In particular the senior manager (or possibly owner). She is obviously tired of all the tourists on Samui, and lets you know it. The land of smiles wasnt named after her.

I have previously travelled to Lamai roughly 10 times, staying at Golden Sands, Weekender, Marina bunglows and buddy's.

I recommend Marina bungalows, which has almost identical rooms, is beachfront and has friendly staff (although it doesnt have a pool). It is also far cheaper at around 1000 bht.

For a more upmarket experience, stay at Buddy's. It is basically the same price but you cannot compare the two hotels. Buddy's is in a different category with far superior rooms and breakfast, as well as friendly and professional staff.

I can only assume that the good reviews this hotel has is only because the reviewers dont know how much better some of the other hotels are.

Room Tip: Go to Buddy's or Marina Bungalows instead!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.5 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#32 of 62 in Maret
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thai House Resort

Address: 135 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $32 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thai House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Thai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Thai House Hotel Lamai Beach
Grand Thai House Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing