We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”
Review of New Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hut Bungalows
Reviewed February 6, 2010

I stayed here just once because the guesthouse I usually stay at next door was full. The location was good and the hut was rock bottom basic more like a tent than a hut. I'm not complaining about that however because it was also quite cheap. At first the owner was friendly and the place seemed like a real find.
However all this changed because I continued going to the guesthouse next door for most of my meals. My friends were there and besides, the food was much better! My mistake because I didn't realise that the GH makes most of its money out of the restaurant.
After about three days of this, I came home from a night out to find all my stuff dumped in front of my hut! I was being kicked out. I tried to rectify this issue with the owner and the motorcycle helmet that belonged with the scooter I had rented from them went "missing" during these minutes. It was quite obvious that it had been taken by one of the hotel staff but try to prove this. I refused to pay but the woman called the police on me (they were there in 1 minute, must have been prearranged) and they extorted the money out of me.
Moral of the story, if you really want to stay there (they do have the cheapest beachfront huts in Lamai) do so but take care to eat in the restaurant at least once a day, watch your belongings and check the bill carefully because the owner isn't really a honest lady.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jlw1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 335 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

Nice minimalist huts with clean and cosy rooms, great food at sea-vew restaurant, friendly and unobtrusive staff. The beach looks awesome, BUT the sea is shallow with some rocks on the bottom, so watch your step!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toni4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2009

Located in Lamai beach the New Hut bungalows combine a fare price with excellent bungalows. Backpacker will love it. You have no hot water but the huts are clean and come with fan and mosquito net. We payed for a bungalow with beach view 500 Bath per night, in comparison with the other huts around a fantastic price. The beautiful restaurant has excellent dishes and a broad choice - from breakfast to dinner!
This family run place also organizes transport and tours for you. So actually no need to leave New Hut to go to Lamai.

2  Thank Dardhoumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank LeaGz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Piet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank lisalubiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: On peut fréquenter le restaurant sans pour autant louer une chambre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mobilandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
209 reviews
1.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hut Bungalows

Address: Moo 4, Tambon Maret | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $13 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hut Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
New Hut Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing