We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, shame about the guests !”
Review of New Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hut Bungalows
Reviewed April 30, 2012

While New Hut is in a great location and the staff could not be more helpful or friendly, if you are looking for a peaceful break - forget it ! We have been here for four nights and on every single night, have been awoken by noisy guests, partying on the beach right outside out hut. The beachfront huts are the most expensive ( US Dollars 20 per night - reduced to 19 if you stay more than 2 nights ), so, while you have a great view, guests from further back ( cheaper ) huts take advantage of the lovely position, to sit infront ! Maybe we are 'too old' for this location !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nbichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for New Hut Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 329 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was just arriving yesterday and the next day in the morning there were 400 Euro away. I also heard that they like to steal money on this place, thats really bad! the rooms are pretty small and cheap and its really loud in the early morning to get a right sleep. Usually I dont tell bad things about hotels, but if they steal me my money, thats really bad. Take care of your money there and greets!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My friend and I have been traveling for three months now and wanted to end on a high. We decided to stay on Koh Samui, Lamai Beach for a week before heading home. On the ferry over we met Loi, the lady who owns 'New Hut' told us the price and we decided to book a beach bungalow for two nights at 600bht per night (the cheapest we had seen) Loi is lovely, Shame about her very rude staff. The lady on reception never smile, Never looks at you when talking to her and often walks away from you in mid conversation. One morning my friend orded breakfast and it came out wrong, not what she asked for. The lady serving us didn't say much but got the receptionists, who started to shout at us. Told us we orded wrong. We tried to be nice about it but she snatched the plate off my friend and shouted "no food for her again!!" everyone in the restaurant was shocked. My friend got up and walked out. The manager, Noy, then came over and started shouting at me. Cursing me. I told him he was over reacting and should calm down but he continued to shout saying he didn't care about what I had to say. Such a mess over eggs!! We didn't eat in there again, despite walking through it more than twice a day to get to our bungalow. We have never met such rude and frosty attitudes before. Others we spoke to after said they had the same attitude thrown at them from the staff!! From then on we ate breakfast in the restaurant next door 'Beer House' much better staff, food, welcoming, wifi connection.

As for the beach it's self, they don't keep it clean. Often we would walk along and see bottles, plastic bags and even broken glass. We stopped going and found a hotel with a pool.

All in all we didn't get the happy ending we wanted from them.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheffieldSuzanne1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We arrived having not booked and got one of the 2nd row bungalows for 350b. The a-frame huts are small (although seem larger inside) but comfortable, and come with mosquito nets. The shared bathrooms were very clean. The restaurant was also good, and there is free wifi which is very useful. Overall, a great budget place to stay, in a perfect beachfront location. (There is also a 7/11 up the road)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We were travelling on the boat over when the owner of the New Hut caught us and told us all about her bungalows on the beach. The deal was, we had to book 2 nights in order to receive a free taxi ride there. Otherwise, she said it would cost 150bht each.. We booked one of the huts on the front of the beach with a fan, fly net, toilet and (cold) shower. After a 35min ride in a taxi we arrived and the place looked great, with a restaurant, mini shop for clothes and motorbike hire. They seem to do it all.
We were lucky that our beach hut was right on the front so had a great view of the sea. The beach was swept every morning, which was nice. Especially when you walk further along the beach and see some of the rubbish that has been washed up. We were a little disappointed with the sea as it was really murky. The hut itself was small and very basic. We locked up all of our valuables in a bag just to be safe.
The staff didn't seem too cheerful and think the towels in our room could do with a good wash as they were a bit stinky!

Room Tip: Pick at hut at the front for a good view of the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairelouise24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The bungalows at New Hut are very basic but fantastic value and literally located on Lamai Beach. The restaurant attached to the bungalows is really good value and the food is good, although the service leaves a lot to be desired. The owner is brilliant, she sold us our room on the ferry over and we were delighted we decided to go with her recommendation as there is a great atmosphere there. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a front row bungalow if possible, otherwise you won't have much of a view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seanspacifica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My sister and I decided to stay here after meeting the owner on the boat on the way across from Surat Thani. After coming home from dinner the first night my sister was sexually assaulted by the owners brother after we asked for his help finding her wallet which she had dropped in the sand. After helping her find the wallet he proceeded to grab her around the neck and tried to get his hand up her dress. She pushed him off and he grabbed her again. Luckily she got away. We attempted to ask the woman owner for our money back and explaining what had happened (and being abused, called liars and refused) we decided to just leave. Called the police, nothing was done about it. A pretty horrible experience, we definitely do not recommend staying at New Hut Bungalows.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank harry123syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
774 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hut Bungalows

Address: Moo 4, Tambon Maret | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $13 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hut Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
New Hut Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing