We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Villa
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for 10days beginning of May. The front of the hotel is slightly set back from the main street and the hotel backs onto the beach. Plus there is two pools. We booked through Agoda and had no problems whatsoever checking in. We were advised of which rooms were available and asked which we would prefer. The staff that we had dealings with were always friendly. We didn't eat at the restaurant (mainly because of other reviews) at all so can't comment on the service. Our room was always cleaned well. They only supplied us with two towels which we had to use at the pool as well as none were supplied at the pools. But you could get extra if you asked for them. Both pools were reasonably well maintained (yes there was a few tiles missing). The pools were cleaned on a regular basis but as its near the beach you can't always keep the sand out. The deck chair cushions near the pools were fine but some of the ones on the beach had seen better days..... The hotel grounds were always kept clean. I had one of the best foot massages from one of the girls at the massage place at the back of the hotel (on the beach). Also note that no umbrellas or hairdryer are supplied and we only received a bar of soap on our last day, which didn't bother us we just bought a bar of soap at the Family mart up the road. The room is basic but we were quite happy with that. We didn't hear any noise from the bars up on the main road. There is plenty of restaurants within 5 minutes walk and most of the girly bars are in the side streets. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiseCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    102
    29
    23
    5
See reviews for
48
85
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed four nights with my parents and a couple of friends. The rooms are neat and clean, the service at the front counter is good once you get past the language barrier. Both pools are great, but they could do with a little more attention. And it's really close to the thick of Lamai.The only real issue we had was with the service in the restaurant. I didn't eat there, but watched my parents, friends and other customers receive laughable service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has everything, great location , 2 sing pools, beach, restaurant overlooking the sea however it does need bit of renovation. Tiles are missing in the swimming pools, sun beds are old and covers are mouldy. There are dogs and cats running everywhere. Just don't get ..could be easily 5 star of they wanted. We stayed in cheaper rooms or 1000bht an nite and was grand for value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarolaVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed 9 nights in Lamai at Marina Villa. The booking was made on the internet. When I arrived they did have my booking and reception staff were warm, friendly and smiling. I was asked on what floor I wanted to have my room and one staff member came with me to show me to my room. She even showed me several rooms to choose from. The towels were missing in the room and were brought to the room within minutes.

I often slept inn and had the 'Do not disturb' sign out. Housekeeping always respected the sign and waited for me to leave the room.

The restaurant is an interesting one. I had one breakfast and one lunch there and decided not to go back there to eat. It is like the staff are running a competition where you win a medal if you speak as little words as possible with the customer. No hello, no goodbye. The only piece of conversation was the amount on the bill. The attitude came across as an 'I don't really care if anybody eats here or not' attitude. But this problem is easily solved as there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel and there is a supermarket across the road.

I rented a motorbike from the hotel at 150THB per day and it was all hassle free. The bike had absolutely no petrol in it (Not sure if they take it all out).

I would stay here again but would avoid the restaurant with a passion. The food by the way was not bad and not good..let's say average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eur0pa2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beach pleasant, Pools pleasant, Room and facilities excellent, and the restaurant had good food,
But if you want service in the dining room,Forget it!!
The food is great, but the waitresses need a good swift kick up the Butt,or better training so as to be more attentive to guests.
Waitresses chatting together and ignoring guests is just not acceptable.
Its obvious the restaurant manager needs to pick up his act,as staff will only do what they are told or trained to do.
Also if you like Room service occasionally as a treat,that is almost impossible to get, and if you do manage to get it,it is begrudgingly given.
I dont know or care what the wait staff get paid, thats not my problem,service still must be of a suitable standard.
Overall this is an excellent property to stay at,its relaxing and comfortable with good facilities.
Also there are plenty of outside facilities a walk away such as superette, restaurants and liquor supplies.

Room Tip: Always view any room before you check in,and check that all the rooms facilites work like air con,Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n0mad4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow and it was a nice, large room with a pretty comfy King size bed and for the price we paid we can't complain. We had a good working A/C, fridge and TV with some English-speaking channels.
The bathroom was very clean and even though there were no shower curtain (as in many places in Asia) it didn't bother us, the water disappeared quickly from the floor.
The pools where great and a lot of sunbeds to choose from, and it's only steps to the beach. We ate a couple of times at the restaurant and it was pretty average, there is lots of other restaurants nearby if you want a change of scenery.
If we ever come back to Koh Samui we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTwoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

marina villa does have the potential to be a lovely hotel however they do not pay enough attention to detail and many parts of the hotel were run down. there is lots of rubbish throughout the grounds of the hotel. the sun beds are totally ripped and falling apart. the pool area was ok however it was way too crowded for the size of the pool. the rooms were nice and large however, upon turning the air-con on there was often a gross smell. another problem with the rooms was that you could always here people above you and there was a constant sounds of furniture scraping against the floor tiles above. the reception staff were friendly at times however one lady started yelling at us as we were leaving one morning because we took our complimentary bottle of water outside the hotel (which is really odd!!) they also took 48 hours to do our washing which they promised would only take 12 hours. Lamai itself is not a very nice area. There are much better places to stay in Samui. Try Bophut!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#33 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#36 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Villa

Property: Marina Villa
Address: 124 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Villa Hotel Lamai Beach
Marina Villa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing