We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a beach vacation”
Review of Marina Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Villa
Ranked #30 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a beach vacation”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Our stay at the Maina Villa was beyond expectation. We were given a garden room just 4 doors from the pool. Once you leave the busy street and enter the residence area you enter a tranquil oasis of lush vegetation. The motor bike noises dissapear and the sound of the sea can be heard in the distance.
This resort is on the beach. It has not one but two swimming pools. Something for everyone. We found it difficult to leave the resort during the day as it was so relaxing and a perfect place to rid ourselves of travel stress. Do yourself a favor, stay an extra day.
No kettle in the room nor hair dryer.
We were able to get late check out which we appreciated.

Room Tip: Lots of great restaurant choices around. The garden rooms are perfect; no stairs to climb. Early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    107
    29
    23
    6
See reviews for
50
89
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotell for three nights and enjoyed. It's a low price hotell, but has a good location on the beach and in the main street - but still it's a quiet place. It has a frontdesk open to 23, two pools and a beach bar/restaurant. Breakfast there was good, I didn't try something else since I eat at the restaurants in the main street for other meals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I stayed there for Christmas 2011, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a decent size, with all the amenities that one may need. The location is perfect, as I had stayed in Lamai before, it is not overly busy or quiet. Rent a motorbike, and take a drive all around the island. All you need can be found on this main road where the hotel is situated and as far as the beach is concerned . .. well it is right on the doorstep of this hotel. Two swimming pools to cater for your needs and a restaurant that is well priced, the food is not exceptional, but as an expat living in Thailand, it is pretty decent, although I would always recommend that you venture out for a meal, regardless of the time or day,but if time does not allow that, it's okay to get your day started.

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view room, go for it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahkruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We always prefer the bungalows to standard hotel rooms, but Marina Villa was the best value for money in central Lamai. The location is really what makes it a good place to stay, with restaurants, night market, shops, massage salons - all in a short walking distance.
The rooms are quite average, however the beds are comfortable, the mattresses and pillows are not too hard, the linen and towels are clean and changed daily.
That said, now about negatives:
- the hotel is shaped as two parallel 3-storeyd long buildings with balconies facing each other, hence no privacy and a lot of noise
- the shower in the bathroom is not separated in any way, no glass wall or curtain - so everything inside the bathroom is guaranteed to get wet
- the sunbeds are very old and falling apart, no umbrellas - thus no shade on the beach
- the hotel restaurant is not worth using, there are lot of better and cheaper places around (both on the beach and in town). Recommend to try Will Wait bakery and restaurant nearby.
- very strict policy regarding late check out (they charge full daily rate, plus 3% supplement for credit cards payments). Most hotels in Thailand let us use the rooms until actual departure, if they were not fully booked.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are very dark. Choose upper floors if you have no difficulty using stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DANET65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

best of both worlds beach on one side and the town on the other as much peace or bustle as you need lovely pools and clean tidy rooms all you need

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the Marina Villa for only one night as we had arrived in Samui a day earlier than expected. We had another reservation booked at the Weekender Resort. We took one of the mini vans to get from the airport to the hotel. It cost 150 Baht per person for one of the shared vans versus 700 Baht for a taxi.

The hotel is located on the beach and about a 5 minute walk to the center where the evening food stalls are. I found some of the best food I had in Samui from the food stalls at the night market. Most meals are about 40-50 Baht.

The hotel is quite basic but it’s priced quite a bit cheaper than the neighbouring hotels. The room I had was clean and simple with a nice balcony, a safe and free wifi. The shower is a bit odd. There is no shower stall for say it's just the whole bathroom that is your shower. Breakfast is not included but it’s easy to find breakfast options nearby. Lamai Beach is much quieter than Chaweng but has just enough of everything that you would need for a peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gord_Mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel. The hotel is near to the beach for the kids to have fun. Grocery store is just in front of the hotel. All the basic necessities are near. Would recommend this place for family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zairin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.0 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
553 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#35 of 62 in Maret
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#38 of 50 in Lamai Beach
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Villa

Property: Marina Villa
Address: 124 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marina Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Villa Hotel Lamai Beach
Marina Villa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing