We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Utopia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Utopia Resort
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Not a bad hotel but tried to charge me more for our room even though I had booked a twin through Asia hotels they said price was wrong would have to charge more but I refused and asked for refund then they sorted location good right on beach lamai is a nice quite area beach can be clear but at other times a bit murky we found a better hotel further down called Mariana villa same money but much better booked trips with Amadeus travel ask for o say Darian sent you everything very very good there every trip we had was great and when we left our boat and flights to chiang rai all ran on time

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dariandoreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

If you are seeking a less traveled beach with less nightlife and noise than Chewang beach to the north of Lamai, this is a simple but very good option. the bungalows are not luxurious, but if you're coming here to stay in the room you are making a mistake anyway.... everything is clean and well maintained, the beach front is virtually right there, and the restaurant is very very good.
the only negative is cigarette smoke..... but that will vary of course based on who is there- I'm just used to better policies on that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I choose this resort after another one because i wanted a more typical resort.
The staff is really nice . Place really clean . The restaurant have good foods and good coktails.The resort is really really close to the beach which it's a good point !!

I really recommand !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyrille V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The reception:
- Not very good in english
- Sometimes not very helpful

The rooms:
- spacious bungalow (#7)
- loud air-con in the older bungalows
- fridge refiled with water
- cleaned properly each day!

The beach:
- the best spot on Lamai
- great sun beds (people actually come and pay for the same you get for free)
- clean water, but not clear (hard to get better on Koh Samui)

The restaurant:
- good enough breakfast (ask for muesli, yogurt, fruit, juice & tee/coffee if you want to be healthy)
- nice fresh juices
- there is plenty other places to eat for lunch or dinner
- friendly staff

Room Tip: Bungalow #7 is right in between the road and the beach. Dark wood bungalow with enough space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The fact that the staff and owner took great care of me, the linens were constantly changed and room perpetually scoured without me having to ask, and the close proximity to the everything.

In all honesty, Utopia Resort is not the poshest of hotels, but the service was definitely 5 star. Every single time I left my room, and came back, my bed linens had been changed, fresh towels had replaced my used ones, all bathroom surfaces were scoured, shiny, and spot free, and paper products were constantly replenished, as well as bottled water. I know for a fact that I dragged in more sand than there was on the beach, yet there was never a speck of sand after my room had been made up. The owner is lovely, and took the time out of her day to speak to me, and many other guests, to make sure we were doing ok, and to ask if there was anything we needed. The location can't be beat! Utopia Resort is right on Lamai Beach, and is in the midst of all the local bars, massage spots, and restaurants. For the price, this resort truly wins my vote. It feels very much like being amongst family while staying there. I would stay there again.
Report this review

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank amylaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went back to an old favourite resort for this visit to Koh Samui. This resort hasn't changed a lot in the last twenty years, the bungalows and restaurant have been upgraded and the grounds maintained but the staff are still as friendly as ever - even remembering and welcoming us back.
Perfect little resort. I did find the restaurant a little expensive and preferred to eat elsewhere. There are quite a few deckchairs on the beach for guests use. I would consider staying there again. Some of the previous reviews seem to be negative but i was happy with my stay and the facilities. The laundry was a little expensive making you pay one price per piece regardless of whether it was underwear or jeans.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsFreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New Years from 30th December 12 to 3rd Jan 13.

It looked nice and modern on our arrival, this is where our positive opinion of it ended. When checking in the owner was friendly enough but then showed why it was like moving in to an old people's home. My girlfriend asked for the wireless password and he cracked some joke about how we youngsters can't live without the internet these days for 5 minutes. No mate, we are on the other side of the world and haven't spoken with our family for quite some time.

Anyway, we got taken to the room expecting a fairly reasonable sized room and for it to be clean with the money we had spent on it. The room turned out to be absolutely tiny with paint chipping off the walls, air conditioning that barely worked, a sink crawling with ants and a bathroom that was so filthy and smelly that their were as my girlfriend put it "siht flies" all over the walls and hovering around the toilet.

We did have breakfast included and it was quite nice as it was freshly cooked, but a piece of bacon an egg, slice of toast and tiny glass of orange juice again is not acceptable for the price we were paying.

They had a tourist desk in the reception which we went and asked for some prices for a ticket over to Koh Phangnan for NYE, here we were told 1000 baht. Not a bad price we thought for what was included, however we went 2 minutes up the road and asked another travel shop for the same thing and were given a price over 200 baht less so please make sure you check elsewhere before stumping for the price you are given here.

My review is very poor, this isn't the worst place I have stayed though, it was just very poor considering the price we paid for it and because the owner was rude and a bit weird.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a bigger room nearer to the beach, they looked like they could have been nicer. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny255069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#29 of 51 in Lamai Beach
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#35 of 51 in Lamai Beach
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Villa
Marina Villa
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort

Address: 124/105 M3, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $35 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing