We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lamai Chalet
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lamai Beach
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Bill Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samui Beach Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Buathong Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Sunrise Bungalow(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siva Buri Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
24
15
4
5
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
15
4
5
15
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 63 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Absolutely awful stay in that ghastly place. As many people have already pointed out, the owner is a vile character who couldn't care less about the welfare of his guests. We discovered some really disturbing looking bugs crawling all around our beds while we were staying there. All the owner did was give us some ant killer. We couldn't sleep properly because we were so worried about these bugs crawling around us while we were asleep. Lamai as a place is sleazy and should be avoided by anyone under the age of 50 who is not looking for 'special thai massage'. YUK YUK YUK would never go near here!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choowoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We ended up at Lamai Chalet after using a government sponsored travel agent (who charged way too much). At first, we had a great experience - the Thai food at the restaurant at the Chalets is good, the setting is pretty, the pool is nice. We also liked our room, which was large and had an outdoor toilet area, which we liked. However, the owner, a very large and imposing german man, was so incredibly rude and hostile to us, that it really ruined our experience here. He sits in the restuarant smoking day in and thinks nothing of yelling at guests who dare to ask for basic things, such as having their stopped up toilets fixed, or who seek to stay an extra night, but not pay to have breakfast included, when they know they will be leaving way too early too eat. Stay away, you don't want to have to deal with this man.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainstategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We got this room through the TAT (Tourism authority of Thailand)..the room was very clean with bathroom outdoor (I dont think this is with every bungalow, we stayed in standard). The room had a fridge, tv and hot shower and was cleaned everyday. The safe was at the front with management which was a little bit off since we couldn't access our stuff without asking first. The management was kind, the owner was a big Swiss guy that ran the place. Dont get on his bad side, he quickly kicked two travellers out after there was a mix up with their accomodations...it was not a pretty sight. The location is o.k, it's close to a bar/shopping area down the road...pretty quiet beach, not the best I've seen. There was garbage everywhere. All in all it was clean & basic,...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariah84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We arrived paying over the odd's from a TAT office to find that we would be staying in a shabby hut. Not clean, very worn out and the owner was rude and wasn't interested in sorting out what we had booked and paid for instead offering us to stay in the adjoining property which was much less and run down. Don't go unless you are prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonflashpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Stayed here in late December 2009. The Hotel itself is well kept, basic rooms close to a nice beach further down the Lamai strip. What would have been a glowing review was tarnished by the rubbish attitude of the owner who was more preoccupied with the money he was making than providing a happy experience for his guests. The non-thai staff seemed to prefer sitting around smoking rather than tending to their guests. Whats more is that the price we paid per room was more than double the normal price as we were conned into taking a room at a higher rate (thanks again to the nightmare owner). Not a great place to stay at all.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Newbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews