We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only satisfied by the location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samaya Bura
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only satisfied by the location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

As soon as we booked our room for Samaya, we had an issue with their reservation system (we did not receive a confirmation email, though payment was made) and tried several times to reach out to their front desk without any success. Not to mention the fact that none of their staff speaks english, we decided to deal with that problem once we land in Koh Samui.
We arrived at the reception to explain our situation, and the staff was of utterly unpleasant, not comprehensive, and consistently under delivering.
The room's amenities were fine, however, their AC turned out to be a big mess. I don't know if it's been ages without maintenance, but we really suffered from the odor and had a massive headache. Obviously we didn't explaining to the staff as none of them understands english.
I would only say that the location of the hotel is convenient, and the view at the beach is amazing. We were also content with the pool.
Overall i wouldn't recommend it unless a dramatic change in the quality of the staff service is improved. I would give the 2 rating for the location and view.

Room Tip: make sure the rooms are facing the beach to enjoy a nice view. the opposite side is facing a noisy s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elkhouryhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    118
    45
    18
    16
See reviews for
21
92
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed in Samaya Bura for 4 nights in August 2013. On check-in I was given the wrong form to fill in (someone elses) and they charged my card for one night of accommodation. This was quickly resolved and after another charge to the card for the remaining three nights we were all set.

We stayed in a Sea view room, which was spacious for the baggage and overall pretty good. The biggest let down we found was the bathroom, especially the shower as it wasn't a fixed shower it kept swiveling around to face the shower curtain (it could be taken off the hook so you can hold in your hand), meaning that most times I had to shower with one hand so i could hold the water outlet with the other.

The breakfast was average but good enough. it seemed as though some items (i.e the cheese) was reused over a few days (there weren't many people at breakfast most days). Apart from that they had the usual assortment of items, a limited selection of fruit, some dairy, basic hot meals and some cereal.

If you use the pool you have to go to reception to get a towel, unfortunately we didn't realise this until we got into the pool, luckily it was sunny so we could dry off with out them, but a weird system nonetheless.

The staff were friendly and always welcoming. Note that it is about a 10 minute walk to Lamai center from this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, otherwise it will be noisy as you will be on the street side The "spa&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The pool is awesome and nice views from the rooms.
Staff is helpful and even gave us a free upgrade to a seaview room which was a nice touch.
Would highly reecommend it.
each room has a nice balcony too.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GertsMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedehusene, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel on the north side of the Lamai Beach. Rooms with seawiev is nice and quiet don't go for the rooms pointing at hillside the road outside those rooms are very noisy. Staff are friendly as normal all over Thailand. The hotel restaurant is poor as is the food, for a hotel of this standard you would expect more, not something to recommend go eat somewhere else the Beach in front of the hotel is poor you have to walk for 15 min on the beach to get a good spot. Stayed at the hotel for 14 days and will use it again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JanOhrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and liked it.

On check-in we were made to wait about 10-15 minutes because there had been a complication with our booking. Staff did not explain what was going on, just told us to wait, and this was a bit distressing, having travelled far to get there.

We were given a free upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite because the room we booked wasn't available. This room is NOT advertised on the website. It's better than a standard room, and has a little back garden with a jacuzzi. It faced the sea, but as it was on first floor, you couldn't see much of the view. However, this was good for us as it was more than we expected for the money we paid.

The garden and jacuzzi weren't clean or maintained at all well, I wondered whether this was because they hadn't expected guests to be staying in this room. The jacuzzi wasn't working. We called reception and they sent someone to sort it out immediately.

The room itself was very large, very clean, modern looking and comfortable. The rest of the hotel is the same. It feels contemporary and this has been carried out to a reasonable standard, with some finer details being a bit slack.

Generally the hotel staff are OK but I felt they seemed stressed out and for the standard of the rest of the hotel they perhaps should have been friendlier, the odd smile wouldn't have gone a-miss!

Breakfast was OK - go early for the best selection. There was a good choice of fruit, salad, hot food and an egg chef. We found that the hot food was all a bit past it by 9.30am and that the egg chef was not always in attendance.

Samaya Bura is right on the main road round Samui, and was very easy to locate. Also near lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - the road at the front of the hotel is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night as we'd booked another hotel for the majority of our stay, but had a great stay.

The rooms are contemporary but high quality, everything works and wifi is excellent. The property is only six years old and is immaculate. It's right on the beach and picture perfect. Little fishing boats and good sand. The beach on this stretch isn't great for swimming and is quite shallow a hundred yards out. But it's beautiful. There are two great pools though and a pool bar.

The food and service are very good and reasonably priced. The hotel too is quite inexpensive and a great value for the money. The style reminded me of a few places I've stayed on Playa Del Carmen on the Caribbean side in Mexico south of Cancun some years back.

We've been to Lamai many many times but for new travelers you will want a scooter or a cab to get into the beach town.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Quai_Noi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in September, the beach was beautiful and the pool setting was really lovely. The room was thoughtfully decorated and very comfortable, however our air conditioning leaked and it took a long time to fix. If the management improved I'd recommend this hotel however we felt that they were hard to get hold of. The experience was also spoilt a bit by being charged what seemed like an unreasonable amount for breaking a water glass in my room. If I had broken a glass at breakfast would they have charged me? Seemed a silly way for the stay to end. The pool was a lovely temperature though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#24 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Property: Samaya Bura
Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing