We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samaya Bura
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for a week in low season on the water side and loved the uninterupted view. Great hotel, good rooms, but the beach at this end is really a mud flat at low tide, so a good 15 minute walk down the beach to deeper water is required, but a nice stroll to walk off breakfast. They have a great pool beside the beach for those who don't mind not being at the beach as I didnt. Poolside service for cocktails is a plus. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
Thank Scottyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 293 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

first thing to notice was a very helpful staff and cook especially. he understood what v exactly wanted to hv and cooked dat thing very well. rooms are fabulous. also the location is superb!! swimmin pool is decent. has a beach connected to the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant25031986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived to be reasonably impressed by the lobby and pool area but unfortunately not by the reception staff. The hotel itself is fine with spacious bedrooms and wonderful bathrooms. However, the bed was the worst I have ever tried to sleep on and I am not a difficult person to please. There was just no mattress to speak of. The breakfast was poor, so just had tea and fruit mostly. We didn't have any other complaints but then we spent so little time at the hotel as we were only there 3 nights.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not end up with a room on the road-side. We were told very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanneNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just had a two week stay at the Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach Thailand. The hotel is spacious, the rooms are spacious, bedding changed frequently and some staff are nice. BUT we would not stay here again or recommend this hotel. Some of the reception staff are unfriendly and hardly notice you. The breakfast is absolutely awful, cold, no variety, supplies are not topped up, it is the same each day. The hotel is run by 'kids,' there is never any sign of Management around. The shower is not adequate for this type of hotel. The bathroom towels are worn and often none available until 3pm daily and most in need of replacement. The BED is awful, it is so hard we could not sleep and had to ask for 3 duvets to be put on the base to enable us to sleep and be comfortable. There are not enough sun beds round the pool and the white plastic ones they brought as we arrived broke within days. I had a fried fly in my friend egg one morning which proves nothing is cleaned first and all the breakfast hot plates and dishes are all worn and need replacing. Very disappointing considering the price we paid - and where was the Manager or someone in charge!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here choose a sea view room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeilFebruary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were booked into the hotel through operators.as first hotel had not confirmed.5 days before due to leave UK.so when we were told it was going to be a superior room we thought great.unfortunately all superior rooms are roadside.which is a good view into hills but abit noisy.in mornings.tried to change room but not a chance.used excuse fully booked.but wasn't.apart from that the room nice and spacious.very clean.good tv service.mini bar free water.the hotel is lovely with small garden area and nice pool.not to big.a small beach with just couple if beds.its a shirt walk along the beach to Lamai beach which is full if great bars and food places.or a linger walk along the road.the only other downside to the hotel is breakfast.as its a bb hotel you would expect good but its not.no Bacon or beans.no muesli.over done eggs.and only warm.apart from that great place nice location.super friendly staff.sort the breakfasts out .would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamborabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights as couldnt change. The first week was over Xmas and New Years. That was a mistake as the hotel was too busy. After paying so much for a basic seaview room I was expecting much more than we got. There weren't enough sunbeds, pool was too small, staff service was poor and as the sea wasn't great for swimming it spoilt the first week. It was much much better after New Years as alot of guests checked out. Staff were more relaxed but still lacked atmosphere. Also drinks and food overpriced. Food was nice tho. The biggest plus is that the hotel is close to the best Thai food restaurant ever... Imchais. It doesn't look much and is cheap... But it has superb food.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asylum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

the hotel appears to want to screw guests at every angle. They make you check out towels at the front desk for swimming (a 3 min walk in your bathing suit), and threaten you with a 25 USD "fine" if not returned. The towels in question disappeared from our room, taken during cleaning and we were challenged with the fine. Also they would not lend me wine glasses to drink wine in my room, insisting I buy their overpriced and limited selection wine. The hotel, as an independent one, appears to have no coherent guest policy and apparently do not care about repeat customers. Needless do not stay here if you want to be challenged for "extras" at every corner.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 51 in Lamai Beach
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Weekender Resort
Weekender Resort
#35 of 51 in Lamai Beach
369 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#25 of 51 in Lamai Beach
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $43 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing