We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAMAYA BURA LAMAI BEACH STAY FEBRUARY 2013”
Review of Samaya Bura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samaya Bura
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“SAMAYA BURA LAMAI BEACH STAY FEBRUARY 2013”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just had a two week stay at the Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach Thailand. The hotel is spacious, the rooms are spacious, bedding changed frequently and some staff are nice. BUT we would not stay here again or recommend this hotel. Some of the reception staff are unfriendly and hardly notice you. The breakfast is absolutely awful, cold, no variety, supplies are not topped up, it is the same each day. The hotel is run by 'kids,' there is never any sign of Management around. The shower is not adequate for this type of hotel. The bathroom towels are worn and often none available until 3pm daily and most in need of replacement. The BED is awful, it is so hard we could not sleep and had to ask for 3 duvets to be put on the base to enable us to sleep and be comfortable. There are not enough sun beds round the pool and the white plastic ones they brought as we arrived broke within days. I had a fried fly in my friend egg one morning which proves nothing is cleaned first and all the breakfast hot plates and dishes are all worn and need replacing. Very disappointing considering the price we paid - and where was the Manager or someone in charge!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here choose a sea view room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilFebruary2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    120
    47
    18
    17
See reviews for
22
97
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were booked into the hotel through operators.as first hotel had not confirmed.5 days before due to leave UK.so when we were told it was going to be a superior room we thought great.unfortunately all superior rooms are roadside.which is a good view into hills but abit noisy.in mornings.tried to change room but not a chance.used excuse fully booked.but wasn't.apart from that the room nice and spacious.very clean.good tv service.mini bar free water.the hotel is lovely with small garden area and nice pool.not to big.a small beach with just couple if beds.its a shirt walk along the beach to Lamai beach which is full if great bars and food places.or a linger walk along the road.the only other downside to the hotel is breakfast.as its a bb hotel you would expect good but its not.no Bacon or beans.no muesli.over done eggs.and only warm.apart from that great place nice location.super friendly staff.sort the breakfasts out .would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamborabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 10 nights as couldnt change. The first week was over Xmas and New Years. That was a mistake as the hotel was too busy. After paying so much for a basic seaview room I was expecting much more than we got. There weren't enough sunbeds, pool was too small, staff service was poor and as the sea wasn't great for swimming it spoilt the first week. It was much much better after New Years as alot of guests checked out. Staff were more relaxed but still lacked atmosphere. Also drinks and food overpriced. Food was nice tho. The biggest plus is that the hotel is close to the best Thai food restaurant ever... Imchais. It doesn't look much and is cheap... But it has superb food.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asylum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

the hotel appears to want to screw guests at every angle. They make you check out towels at the front desk for swimming (a 3 min walk in your bathing suit), and threaten you with a 25 USD "fine" if not returned. The towels in question disappeared from our room, taken during cleaning and we were challenged with the fine. Also they would not lend me wine glasses to drink wine in my room, insisting I buy their overpriced and limited selection wine. The hotel, as an independent one, appears to have no coherent guest policy and apparently do not care about repeat customers. Needless do not stay here if you want to be challenged for "extras" at every corner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svelvik, Norway
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Popped in by coincidence to check availibility and price. Checked in the same day and stayed for 10 days, the best 10 days for me and my wife during my stay in Thailand. The staff in reception, restaurant and roomcleaning were very nice, helpful and serviceminded. Not only the staff is good, also the facilities, the garden, the pool, the view and surroundings deserve an extra star.The staff makes you feel at home, as they are able to communicate and share the happy moments, while they also are professionals when it comes to drawing the border between guest and staff. I can highly recommend this hotel, for singles, couples and families, young as aged. If visiting the bar and restaurant, Mr Sunny and his female assistant will surely look after you.

Room Tip: I wii come back if I go to Koh Samui
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good value, great rooms, on beach, nice pool. Breakfast and wifi included.
Get a sea view room as others back onto noisy road!
Spacious rooms with fridge and safe. 2 bottles of water daily. Great view on balcony if the sea and pool. Massages very overpriced. Go to The Healing House down the road for a great massage.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmagichands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have just spent two weeks at the Samaya Bura and found it comfortable and very adequate. The room cleaners did an excellent job and the staff where as a while friendly without formality.

Although breakfast was a little ... basic, although I think I had made for me the best omelette I have ever eaten.

Oh, if you want a room which has quite a good view ask for 303.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GibboOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
206 reviews
1.7 mi away
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
Thai Ayodhya Villas & Spa
#37 of 50 in Lamai Beach
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
207 reviews
2.2 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samaya Bura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samaya Bura

Property: Samaya Bura
Address: 171 / 4 - 9 Moo 4, T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly MyQ Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samaya Bura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samaya Bura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samaya Bura Hotel Lamai Beach
Samaya Bura Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing