We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Spectacular...”
Review of Am Samui Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Am Samui Palace
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
HARROGATE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Spectacular...”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for the 2nd week of our honeymoon. This hotel is in a great location, smack bang in the centre of Lamai, and a 5 minute walk to the beach. The hotel is more for family groups, especially if you're eastern European. I think we were the only English people there. And the other reviews are correct regarding the sun loungers, you need to get out there before 6.30am to secure a lounger, otherwise they are all taken. The hotel is also right behind a nightclub so beware if you're in a room near the reception, which we were. Breakfast was inedible, but i highly recommend Scoops across the road by Subway, the best breakfast and french toast ever!!

The staff were great, and our room was always clean, although they did take ages to clean and make the room up each morning. The shower was a bit crap though, constantly going hot and cold and you couldn't angle it so you could stand under it, it could only be pointed at the cubicule walls. Just as well Thailand is hot!!

Whilst there wasn't really anything wrong with this hotel, it wasn't what we expected, and not really a romantic resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    78
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
36
81
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent 8 days in the Am Samui Palace in July 2012. We selected this hotel due its location and review comments. We had the pool view (access) room - the balcony was good place to spend time. The hotel met our expectations. The location is good. The breakfast is not perfect - I would say that it is okay but you would eat the same food during your staying. As for the pool, it was good enough - but I would recommend to clear it more frequently.
I would recommend this hotel for couples who wants to spend time at Lamai. It is good enough for its price.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool access at the first floor is good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksenia_Yuriy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for 13 days in a poolside room. Large room with ensuite shower/toilet. Mattress fairly hard but slept well.50 metres to main Lamai street and 150 metres to beach. Breakfasts were a choice of 5, we mixed it up by one ordering omelet and one fried rice and halving the portions on our plates. Pool was lovely, pool loungers seen better days. Staff were excellent, a few langauge problems but part of the fun, we would go back

Room Tip: Pool side rooms were good, just hear the street music
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had 6 days in Ko Samui, the first three at the Am Samui, and i just loved the location, it was right off the main street in Lamai beach, at right opposite the night market . Even though it was just off main street, it wasn't noisy, the hotel has its own charm, and is a great place for families to go. The rooms were big with big balconies, nothing flash, but had all the necessities you needed.
I loved breakfasts and the super friendly staff, and for the price, I thought it was great

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judyorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel met our expectations and we enjoyed our 6 days stay. The room was clean and large, the madress was good and we had a nice balcony. The staff was always welcoming and smiling, from cleaning ladies to reception staff.

During our stay families with children occupied the pool area. Unfortunaty, children did not know how to behave around the pool area. Thus, children (and also the parents) very screaming and shouting all day long around the pool area and toys were left in the pool which was quite annoying. Of course, we can't blame the hotel for this.

At nights, huge and noisy concerts were going on until 6 am in the morning at the Swing Bar close to the hotel. We woke up several times during the nights.

We had a pool view room no. 215 with balcony. If you are not on a tight budget we recommend you to book a pool view room as the view and location are nicer than the cheapest ones.

It seemed the hotel is very popular with families travelling with children. If you are travelling as a couple you might consider a less family oriented hotel.

The breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DenmarkNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Central location,we had a pool suite room with living room and bedroom. The bed was very hard but very quiet even though right in the centre. The breakfast was not good, coffee was awful. Lovely beach and lots of good beachside restaurants and great places to eats in the centre.

Room Tip: Not on the beach but very very near.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Kerry
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Big spacious bedroom - we had a garden terrace room which was perfect but could have been quite noisy at night if it had been one nearer the road. If you are a light sleeper you might be better asking for a poolside room .The location of the hotel is great , right in the middle of the main street and just across the road from a wonderful night market.Hotel is not located directly on the beach but a short walk through another hotel gets you there. During our six day stay the sea in Lamai was very rough and not suitable for swimming so we spent alot of our time around the pool. Food is served in the restaurant during the day along with a selection of shakes and juices.Buffet selection at breakfast was basic but tasty and a choice of hot food was also available- the rice dishes were tastier than the american style breakfasts. The staff serving breakfast each morning were always bubbly and chatty .Staff (as in all hotels we stayed in during our Thai holiday) were amazingly friendly and were very helpful with directions, car hire etc.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a centrally located hotel which is great value for money.

Room Tip: Poolside quiter than garden side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotwhiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.0 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Samui Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Samui Palace

Property: Am Samui Palace
Address: 124 / 39 Moo 3 T. Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Am Samui Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Am Samui Palace is a tranquil family owned resort with the genuine feel of a Bed and Breakfast. It first opened its doors only 3 years ago, embracing the approach of providing warm and personal services to all their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Am Samui Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Am Samui Palace Koh
Am Samui Palace Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing