We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beer's House Beach Bungalows
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pure bliss!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 10nts when travelling around Thailand, this place was amazing! The food was fantastic and the staff were attentive! No they don't clean your rooms everyday... but this isn't the ritz! If you ask the staff for a change of towels or more toilet roll... they will provide you with it! They remember you too... by the 7th day the staff knew exactly what we were going to order to drink.

The view from our room was amazing... definitely book the front row bungalows. For 10 whole days all we could hear was the sea! It was fantastic and just what we needed for a final relax before we returned back to Bangkok and then London.

It is on the quieter part of the beach, which was perfect for us. There are 2 ladies that give massages and manicures on the beach, just outside the resort. For cheap cheap!! Nothing is too much trouble for them!

There is lots to do a short 10 minute walk away! With bars, restaurants and shops!

Perfect place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vorno_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
7
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived in Samui and went straight here after reviews. No bungalows were available, we had to get a A/C suite on the other side of the road. The room was clean, with a fridge but the lights take a while to fully function. Did not try restaurant or go to the beach, as our stay was only 1night and we moved early to another more budget friendly place up the street.

Pro: clean, quiet and friendly
Con: bit overpriced (900baht for A/C room) considering our backpacking budget but i hear good things about the bungalows.
Overall: recommend
Tips: Lamai is quite far from the Pier, nearly a 20 minute drive. Taxi's will try to charge you upwards of 600 baht. Try to get a shared songthaew instead or get transportation bundled with a ferry ticket.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotte_darling84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I've only given this 3 based on the room I stayed in, there was nothing wrong with it per se but the website leads you into a false sense of what the 3rd row bungalow is, it is basically a double bed in a room with about 1m of space next to it. The bathrooms are by the restaurant and there is one shower and 1 toilet (plus a Hole in the ground toilet). I didn't have crazy expectations considering it was just 300 baht a night.

The room and bed were clean and I have no complaints about it or the staff who I found to be friendly and helpful but I underestimated just how much I'd rather have an in room bathroom I think :-)

The restaurant does decent food and is reasonably priced (50 baht small singha, 70 baht thai food)

The first and second row bungalows look great, the first row bungalows are sea view ones and for the price are a bargain - if I was Shariing with someone it would have been worth spending the bit extra for these as the beach front is actually very nice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Voycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The bungalows are clean, have stable walls, the bathroom has tiles and the bed is comfortable. The best are the beach front bungalows, they have amazing views and they are beautiful.
I would recommend staying there if you are looking for a simple bungalow with fantastic views. We payed 600BHT/night and we stayed for 2 weeks during low season.

Prices in the bar are good. We did not eat at the restaurant, we always went to New Hut where the food and the services is great.

Room Tip: If you want them to clean the room, just ask and give them the keys. Get a room as far from the Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Beer's House just before Christmas whilst travelling in Thailand. We found the staff to be unhelpful, unfriendly and rude. The room we were given upon arrival was really dirty and we had to ask to be moved as the cleaner was 'on holiday'. We stayed for one week (had booked ahead so sadly couldn't leave) and throughout this time our room was not cleaned once even though we requested it on more than one occasion. We had an iPod stolen from our room whilst we were there. The rooms were not good value for money (in comparison to other places where we stayed on a similar budget). Stayed in some amazing places in Thailand and had a fantastic time whlst we were there, however was majorly disappointed by Beer's House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Boca Raton
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Don't let the name fool you...it's not a party place. We spent 5 nights here and didn't want to leave. From walking along Lamai beach, Beer's house seemed to be the best beach front bungalows in their price range. Plenty of space inside, comfortable bed, large bathroom, and fan for 650 baht. The restaurant also serves good cheap food. The place was always very clean and staff helpful when needed. Not much else to say except it was great and we definitely recommend for budget travelers!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at these bungalows back in 2005, and I'm happy to discover that Beers still exists! We have some lovely memories here, (we put on a diy fireworks show on the beach, with the family watching and their kids participating) and if we get the chance to go back to Thailand we will stay here again. We meant to stay for less than a week but didnt leave for 3 weeks!

Basic lodgings, but clean enough and no issues of theft. the nicer huts have their own bathrooms, but the shower head just sticks out of the wall, and essentially the whole bathroom is in the shower stall, so everything get soaked when you shower. whatever! for $13 a night you cant complain. if you do, your an idiot.

Word of advice - for Beers or anywhere you stay in Thailand - try to use their in house services as much as possible. A few times we picked up fruit, snacks, or drinks from outside the bungalows (to save a little money) and it visibly upset the owners, as they provide all these things, and would be happy to accomodate any requests. Any time we requested, they would deliver anything we ordered right to our patio. Also try to have some of your meals at your lodging of choice, as this is also greatly appreciated, and will really help you to establish a good relationship with your hosts.

If you need a way to brake the ice with the neighbouring guests, order a 'bucket' or two to your patio and invite them over! We met some really cool people here.. many backgammon games... and lots of debauchery! The hosts turn a blind eye ;)

Room Tip: always barter for your rooms in Thailand, and ask to see it before you start the barter process. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Hut Bungalows
New Hut Bungalows
#10 of 48 in Lamai Beach
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Harmony Resort
Samui Harmony Resort
#22 of 41 in Lamai Beach
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Samui Bungalow
Rose Garden Samui Bungalow
#33 of 41 in Lamai Beach
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poolsawat Villa
Poolsawat Villa
#9 of 48 in Lamai Beach
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamai House Beach
Lamai House Beach
#38 of 41 in Lamai Beach
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beer's House Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beer's House Beach Bungalows

Property: Beer's House Beach Bungalows
Address: 161/4 Moo 4, T. Maret Lamai Beach | Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Beer's House Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beer`s House Beach Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
Beer's House Beach Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing