We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother with 3rd Row bungalows - the rest look nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beer's House Beach Bungalows
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dont bother with 3rd Row bungalows - the rest look nice!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I've only given this 3 based on the room I stayed in, there was nothing wrong with it per se but the website leads you into a false sense of what the 3rd row bungalow is, it is basically a double bed in a room with about 1m of space next to it. The bathrooms are by the restaurant and there is one shower and 1 toilet (plus a Hole in the ground toilet). I didn't have crazy expectations considering it was just 300 baht a night.

The room and bed were clean and I have no complaints about it or the staff who I found to be friendly and helpful but I underestimated just how much I'd rather have an in room bathroom I think :-)

The restaurant does decent food and is reasonably priced (50 baht small singha, 70 baht thai food)

The first and second row bungalows look great, the first row bungalows are sea view ones and for the price are a bargain - if I was Shariing with someone it would have been worth spending the bit extra for these as the beach front is actually very nice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Voycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    13
    8
    13
See reviews for
7
29
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The bungalows are clean, have stable walls, the bathroom has tiles and the bed is comfortable. The best are the beach front bungalows, they have amazing views and they are beautiful.
I would recommend staying there if you are looking for a simple bungalow with fantastic views. We payed 600BHT/night and we stayed for 2 weeks during low season.

Prices in the bar are good. We did not eat at the restaurant, we always went to New Hut where the food and the services is great.

Room Tip: If you want them to clean the room, just ask and give them the keys. Get a room as far from the Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Beer's House just before Christmas whilst travelling in Thailand. We found the staff to be unhelpful, unfriendly and rude. The room we were given upon arrival was really dirty and we had to ask to be moved as the cleaner was 'on holiday'. We stayed for one week (had booked ahead so sadly couldn't leave) and throughout this time our room was not cleaned once even though we requested it on more than one occasion. We had an iPod stolen from our room whilst we were there. The rooms were not good value for money (in comparison to other places where we stayed on a similar budget). Stayed in some amazing places in Thailand and had a fantastic time whlst we were there, however was majorly disappointed by Beer's House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Boca Raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Don't let the name fool you...it's not a party place. We spent 5 nights here and didn't want to leave. From walking along Lamai beach, Beer's house seemed to be the best beach front bungalows in their price range. Plenty of space inside, comfortable bed, large bathroom, and fan for 650 baht. The restaurant also serves good cheap food. The place was always very clean and staff helpful when needed. Not much else to say except it was great and we definitely recommend for budget travelers!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepassion264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at these bungalows back in 2005, and I'm happy to discover that Beers still exists! We have some lovely memories here, (we put on a diy fireworks show on the beach, with the family watching and their kids participating) and if we get the chance to go back to Thailand we will stay here again. We meant to stay for less than a week but didnt leave for 3 weeks!

Basic lodgings, but clean enough and no issues of theft. the nicer huts have their own bathrooms, but the shower head just sticks out of the wall, and essentially the whole bathroom is in the shower stall, so everything get soaked when you shower. whatever! for $13 a night you cant complain. if you do, your an idiot.

Word of advice - for Beers or anywhere you stay in Thailand - try to use their in house services as much as possible. A few times we picked up fruit, snacks, or drinks from outside the bungalows (to save a little money) and it visibly upset the owners, as they provide all these things, and would be happy to accomodate any requests. Any time we requested, they would deliver anything we ordered right to our patio. Also try to have some of your meals at your lodging of choice, as this is also greatly appreciated, and will really help you to establish a good relationship with your hosts.

If you need a way to brake the ice with the neighbouring guests, order a 'bucket' or two to your patio and invite them over! We met some really cool people here.. many backgammon games... and lots of debauchery! The hosts turn a blind eye ;)

Room Tip: always barter for your rooms in Thailand, and ask to see it before you start the barter process. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

we originally tried to get a room in 'new hut' next door but wound up in this place instead and really glad we did.

really friendly owner/manager who was more than happy to help you with anything. cosy and quaint beach bungalows literally on the beach.

restaurant was reasonably priced and food was good. the beach is the greatest in the world but still very nice.

hotel is a brisk 10min walk from the main bar/resturant strip in lamai.

overall really good 3 days spent here. 600bht a night we paid, which at the time of posting equates to about £12 and you just cannot say fairer than that.

Room Tip: we had room 7 which was set in the second row
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

After reading some of the reviews of this place, and of the almost identical New Hut next door, we were a little sceptical about what we were getting into. But, this place is awesome. At $20AUD for two people a night we were right on the beach in a hut with an ensuite bathroom and hammock. Towels are provided and the sink in our room leaked...but who cares? Yeh, it's basic - but that's what you come here for!

Lamai beach is beautiful - a lot quieter than Chaweng, but only a taxi away if you want to, although we found ourselves spending the day sitting on the beach or in Beer's cafe watching the hours go by. If you want beachside relaxing - this is the place to be. There's also countless massage beds on the beach for really cheap.

The food in the cafe is pretty good, although New Hut's cafe next door has a bigger selection and a good cocktail list. Walk south along the beach and you'll find more beach bars and restaurants. Beer's also has free Wifi.

Ignore the bad reviews - as long as you're not afraid of rouging it a little bit and don't expect chocolates on the pillows, this is the place to stay. We tipped the guy working here pretty generously in our first round of beers and everything was easy and problem free from there.

Room Tip: Obviously go for the beach front bungalows, unless you don't sleep well with the waves crashing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Harmony Resort
Samui Harmony Resort
#22 of 40 in Lamai Beach
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Hut Bungalows
New Hut Bungalows
#11 of 46 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amarina Residence
Amarina Residence
#5 of 40 in Lamai Beach
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lamai Bay View Resort
Lamai Bay View Resort
#16 of 40 in Lamai Beach
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Poolsawat Villa
Poolsawat Villa
#9 of 46 in Lamai Beach
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beer's House Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beer's House Beach Bungalows

Property: Beer's House Beach Bungalows
Address: 161/4 Moo 4, T. Maret Lamai Beach | Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Beer's House Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beer`s House Beach Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
Beer's House Beach Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing