We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely holiday”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

we stayed here over the new year. the hotel is in a great location at the end of the beach so you can walk to Lami in about 15min along the beach. the rooms did not have a lot of storage but were nicely presented and very clean. the staff were lovely and allways had a smile.
We were there over new year so had to pay for the gala dinner. it was a bit expensive but they put on a great selection of food and entertainment followed by fireworks. You do need to pay for drinks on top.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fran_juk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    71
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
120
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were greeted at the airport with Ae from Rummana holding a big clear sign with our name. We recieved the traditional welcome experiance from Rummana with a band of flowers around our wrists, wet face towel and chilled water. Both Ae and the driver were very talkative and informative with our journey to the resort which took about 45mins.

Once arriving we got to relax in their lounge style receiption area, 2 fresh young coconuts and checkin while relaxing. Pretty cool checkin :)

Before I came when emailing the airport pickup I mentioned we were newly weds and if they could give us a room near the beach and do any to make our stay special.

After getting the grand tour by Ae we were taken to our room which was impreesively right near the beach, restuarant and pool area, you couldn't have ask for a better location. Once entering our room they had done the room up in honeymoon style with heart/swan shaped towels on our bed inside a huge heart of flowers and also a basket of fruits, roses and a happy honeymoon cake...wow!!! Was not expecting that. We paid a very good rate for our rooms and got the best service.

The location is a real relaxing part of Samui, right on the beach, away from all the hussle & bussle of the main centers. Some great places to enjoy close by is walking to Grandfather and Grandmother rocks / Markets. Also best place to eat out (one of the best in Samui we reckon!) is Sabienglae Restaurant - 10 mins walk down the road, just ask reception for directions. The best deal to get a ride into the main centre is standing on the side of the road and wave down a sawng taews (song-towel / a red taxi truck) It's 50THB each to Lamai Center & 100THB to Chaweng.

We also suggest checking out Namuang Safari Park (do one of their tours) for elephant tracking, 4x4 waterfall, 5 x animal shows etc Many Samui day tours were priced over 2,000THB but we always got then down to 1,400-1,700THB, just keep trying a different agents till you find a good one!

HAVE FUN

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trippin-on-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faaborg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Has visited this resort 4 times and can highly recommend this, partly because of its location, relaxing manicured garden and the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

When we arrived to Koh Samui we were greeted by hotel staff at the airport. As soon as we got in the van we were given cold water and almost frozen face towels to refresh ourselves after the trip. It is EXACTLY what you need after a long day of traveling. When we got to the hotel, while we were waiting to be checked in, the hotel gives it's customers a great fresh fruit drink served in a coconut. So far, so good. We have 3 children so we asked to be put in separate rooms but close to each other. The webpage leads you to believe that the rooms are next to each other, but they're not. They are individual bungalow-like rooms. Picture a modernized hut.

In the pictures on the webpage they portray the rooms as being luxurious and ample. Do not fall for it. Depending on the distribution of the furniture, the rooms can be very small. The decor is ok; nothing too extravagant and it's not bad either. The mattress shouldn't be called a mattress; it was like sleeping on the floor. There is no shower curtain in the bathrooms (not a big deal but it'd be nice to have it). The door in one of the rooms wasn't cut correctly so there was a gap when it was closed, therefore the room was infested with mosquitoes 24/7.

The beach is beautiful. And that's where it stops. We were looking to go to a place that wasn't as crowded as Chaweng Beach (the most famous beach in Koh Samui) and we thought Lamai Beach was it. We were wrong. There are hotels/restaurants on both sides of the hotel; literally right next to it, and that is throughout the entire beach. When we were the only guests were couples and maybe one family besides us so there wasn't any noise, so I guess that's good. There are very few chairs on the beach but most people stay by the pool. You are provided with towels and an umbrella whenever you're out there; the service is exceptional.
The restaurant isn't bad, but it's not great either. The breakfast is a hit or miss; some days it's good, some days it's bad. And it's always the same food, don't expect variety. Tip: when eating (at hotel or out) order Thai food. Do not order Italian or a burger because you will be disappointed. Thai food is clearly their specialty and it is very good.

Hotel staff is very helpful. The language is sometimes a barrier, but they do everything they can to help you. Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ragof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo city
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

nice beach, good service, rooms are small , mattress not the best.
little bit over priced, but all in all good experience

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabyMocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

as the beach bit of our trip the rummana exceeded expectations which had been muted by previous reviews.
we had travelled from siem reap via bangkok that day with Bangkok air. they are terrific and deserve a chapter of their own, a request to handle luggage thro on seperately booked flights was greeted with calm agreement in siem reap airline office and they even sorted boarding passes for both legs, finally the
young lady suggested i should ask on the way out of koh samui
if they could do similar on way back via Bangkok and Dubai to Manchester, and whist we had to register with Emirates for boarding passes in Bangkok, they certainly saw the main luggage right the way though to Manchester. Impressed seems to small a word,
anyway getting to Rummana fresher than expected, (even the car arrangements went smoothly), we were still gratefull for the fruit punch and cold towel. They normally do the one king size bed,
but calmly arranged for a second bed when I explained that she
snores/fidgets, and i've given up athletics.
we did the jungle trek between front office and our room which
pleasantly close to beach/pool/bar/restaurant, unpacked, a quick swill and at the bar to watch the sun go down, my favoured beer in the area is Change, and you can get through a couple or 6 by
time the fishing boats put their lights on to tell you its time for dinner. ( the little place next door is not as posh as the Rummana but has the advantage of Change on draft and cheaper, so I was not totally loyal)
the overall levels of service, the buffet breakfast, and the dining
were all obviously at a different place to some previous reviewers, and we enjoyed choice, preparation, and service to a
high standard. I consider chicken curry and fried rice at breakfast one of the finer things in life.
the room was a good size, the additional bed having little effect, and cleaning/towels etc very good. bathroom was fine, with plenty of hot water. mind you tepid would do with the normal 30c temperature, but they laid on a pleasant sea breeze to mitigate that most of the time, and the aircon on the room was climate control to 1 degree c, and it worked,
the wife tried one of the thai massage things and enjoyed, being slightly suprised when they trod on her bum. (diplomatically avoided explaining you cannot expect them to move that size of thing by hand).
the tailors next door to reception does good work, even the wife impressed.
overall a great week at the beach rounding off a good trip.
regards grizz

  • Liked — the air con let you sleep cool and easy
  • Disliked — there are mozzies so take repellant
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank grizzlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Pictures are representative to what you'll get although the rooms look much bigger in the pictures. For those who are particular about cleanliness, the room, bed, linens and towels are all very clean. The bathroom smells nice everyday as there is an oil burner to keep it nice and fresh. Although there are no ventilation fans, 2 small & long bay windows allow you to get fresh air into the bathroom.

The room comes with breakfast. Breakfast consists of a continental breakfast spread. You'll get juices, fruits, cereal, salad, bread, pastries, omelette, bacon, and some local food every day. We were pleasantly surprised when we asked if we could get our breakfast packed on the day that we planned to go to another island and the staff prepared a breakfast box for each of us. It consists of a ham sandwich, pastries, fruits and a drink.

Lamai town is just a 10 min walk from Rummana, Chaweng town a 20-30 min ride from the pick-up truck (public transport) which costs 50 baht/pax in the day. Night rates are more expensive - as much as 150 baht/pax.

Rummana provides deck chairs, umbrellas and beach towels at the beach. This is the quiet section of the Lamai beach as it is near Hin Ta Hin Ya. The staff are very friendly and helpful should u need help with the umbrellas. We had a good massage at the Rummana pavillion by the beach which costs 411 baht for 60 min, cheaper than the ones quoted in the Baitong Spa. There are also cheaper massage centres just by the main road outside Rummana which cost 300 baht. Some are good, some bad. There's also a 7-eleven, a Family mart and 2 cheap restaurants right outside Rummana which makes it a convenient place to stay without the hustle and bustle of Chaweng town.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, good service
  • Disliked — Limited variety in food
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
#22 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Property: Rummana Boutique Resort
Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing