We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rummana Boutique Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Has visited this resort 4 times and can highly recommend this, partly because of its location, relaxing manicured garden and the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 210 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

When we arrived to Koh Samui we were greeted by hotel staff at the airport. As soon as we got in the van we were given cold water and almost frozen face towels to refresh ourselves after the trip. It is EXACTLY what you need after a long day of traveling. When we got to the hotel, while we were waiting to be checked in, the hotel gives it's customers a great fresh fruit drink served in a coconut. So far, so good. We have 3 children so we asked to be put in separate rooms but close to each other. The webpage leads you to believe that the rooms are next to each other, but they're not. They are individual bungalow-like rooms. Picture a modernized hut.

In the pictures on the webpage they portray the rooms as being luxurious and ample. Do not fall for it. Depending on the distribution of the furniture, the rooms can be very small. The decor is ok; nothing too extravagant and it's not bad either. The mattress shouldn't be called a mattress; it was like sleeping on the floor. There is no shower curtain in the bathrooms (not a big deal but it'd be nice to have it). The door in one of the rooms wasn't cut correctly so there was a gap when it was closed, therefore the room was infested with mosquitoes 24/7.

The beach is beautiful. And that's where it stops. We were looking to go to a place that wasn't as crowded as Chaweng Beach (the most famous beach in Koh Samui) and we thought Lamai Beach was it. We were wrong. There are hotels/restaurants on both sides of the hotel; literally right next to it, and that is throughout the entire beach. When we were the only guests were couples and maybe one family besides us so there wasn't any noise, so I guess that's good. There are very few chairs on the beach but most people stay by the pool. You are provided with towels and an umbrella whenever you're out there; the service is exceptional.
The restaurant isn't bad, but it's not great either. The breakfast is a hit or miss; some days it's good, some days it's bad. And it's always the same food, don't expect variety. Tip: when eating (at hotel or out) order Thai food. Do not order Italian or a burger because you will be disappointed. Thai food is clearly their specialty and it is very good.

Hotel staff is very helpful. The language is sometimes a barrier, but they do everything they can to help you. Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

nice beach, good service, rooms are small , mattress not the best.
little bit over priced, but all in all good experience

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabyMocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

as the beach bit of our trip the rummana exceeded expectations which had been muted by previous reviews.
we had travelled from siem reap via bangkok that day with Bangkok air. they are terrific and deserve a chapter of their own, a request to handle luggage thro on seperately booked flights was greeted with calm agreement in siem reap airline office and they even sorted boarding passes for both legs, finally the
young lady suggested i should ask on the way out of koh samui
if they could do similar on way back via Bangkok and Dubai to Manchester, and whist we had to register with Emirates for boarding passes in Bangkok, they certainly saw the main luggage right the way though to Manchester. Impressed seems to small a word,
anyway getting to Rummana fresher than expected, (even the car arrangements went smoothly), we were still gratefull for the fruit punch and cold towel. They normally do the one king size bed,
but calmly arranged for a second bed when I explained that she
snores/fidgets, and i've given up athletics.
we did the jungle trek between front office and our room which
pleasantly close to beach/pool/bar/restaurant, unpacked, a quick swill and at the bar to watch the sun go down, my favoured beer in the area is Change, and you can get through a couple or 6 by
time the fishing boats put their lights on to tell you its time for dinner. ( the little place next door is not as posh as the Rummana but has the advantage of Change on draft and cheaper, so I was not totally loyal)
the overall levels of service, the buffet breakfast, and the dining
were all obviously at a different place to some previous reviewers, and we enjoyed choice, preparation, and service to a
high standard. I consider chicken curry and fried rice at breakfast one of the finer things in life.
the room was a good size, the additional bed having little effect, and cleaning/towels etc very good. bathroom was fine, with plenty of hot water. mind you tepid would do with the normal 30c temperature, but they laid on a pleasant sea breeze to mitigate that most of the time, and the aircon on the room was climate control to 1 degree c, and it worked,
the wife tried one of the thai massage things and enjoyed, being slightly suprised when they trod on her bum. (diplomatically avoided explaining you cannot expect them to move that size of thing by hand).
the tailors next door to reception does good work, even the wife impressed.
overall a great week at the beach rounding off a good trip.
regards grizz

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank grizzlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Pictures are representative to what you'll get although the rooms look much bigger in the pictures. For those who are particular about cleanliness, the room, bed, linens and towels are all very clean. The bathroom smells nice everyday as there is an oil burner to keep it nice and fresh. Although there are no ventilation fans, 2 small & long bay windows allow you to get fresh air into the bathroom.

The room comes with breakfast. Breakfast consists of a continental breakfast spread. You'll get juices, fruits, cereal, salad, bread, pastries, omelette, bacon, and some local food every day. We were pleasantly surprised when we asked if we could get our breakfast packed on the day that we planned to go to another island and the staff prepared a breakfast box for each of us. It consists of a ham sandwich, pastries, fruits and a drink.

Lamai town is just a 10 min walk from Rummana, Chaweng town a 20-30 min ride from the pick-up truck (public transport) which costs 50 baht/pax in the day. Night rates are more expensive - as much as 150 baht/pax.

Rummana provides deck chairs, umbrellas and beach towels at the beach. This is the quiet section of the Lamai beach as it is near Hin Ta Hin Ya. The staff are very friendly and helpful should u need help with the umbrellas. We had a good massage at the Rummana pavillion by the beach which costs 411 baht for 60 min, cheaper than the ones quoted in the Baitong Spa. There are also cheaper massage centres just by the main road outside Rummana which cost 300 baht. Some are good, some bad. There's also a 7-eleven, a Family mart and 2 cheap restaurants right outside Rummana which makes it a convenient place to stay without the hustle and bustle of Chaweng town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BeachTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I was looking to extend a short business trip to Bangkok with another 3 days on the beach, so decided to go to Samui. Key purpose was just to relax in a quiet place, swim, read a book, try some good food and massage, and possibly windsurf. Lamai beach and Rummala hotel worked out very well for that.

The hotel is located at the end of the beach, so you have limited beach traffic, rather quite surroundings, but yet are only 15-min. walk from the center of Lamai. Some good restaurants just 5-10 minutes down the road. Windsurf rental was on the other side of the beach, but the guy will happily bring the surf to the hotel at the agreed time at no cost.

Service was good: they picked me up at the airport at no cost, staff was helpful. They do seem somewhat shy but seem to be nice people.

Massage there is really good, and very good value for money. I tried massages at a couple of more places (Sheraton in Bangkok and another premium spa in Samui), both much more expensive, and Rummala masseur was the best among all.

I found the room design very sympathetic and cozy, unlike the previous reviewer. It is really a matter of personal taste - the only thing I can say is that the pictures on the hotel web site are quite representative of the style you will find in reality. However, the web site might create higher overall expectations about the place, so don't expect an experience of a lifetime. Just a good quality place to spend a few days.

The beach was good, some occasional large stones under the water. If you prefer the pool, it might be too small especially if the place is full.

Restaurant food good enough for lunch, although there were some good steaks for dinner one evening, but I would recommend to go out for dinner. Some nice restaurants just 5-10 min. walk down the road (go South, away from the Lamai center).

Finally, in terms of the price, I got the best price directly from the hotel's site, with a decent off-season discount (ended up paying $100 a night). At this price I felt I got the right value for the money and left quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nihsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I booked 4 nights at the Rummana, hoping that it would be a nice getaway for my wife and I in perfect seclusion. While the hotel was decent, secluded and "boutique" it was not.

Here's the laundry list of issues I have with the place:

1. It's located right beside the main road (maybe 10-20m in), and the reception area was small and cheap-looking (the water surrounding the reception area was brown and murky, and there was a Pepsi drinks fridge with a glass front there). When we first arrived, we thought "oh no", this was really going to be BAD...

2. The "deluxe" villa was small, with only the bed/living area and a small bathroom (1 sink).

3. The interior was painted in a ghastly peach/orange colour, and the lampshades and curtains had retro circle designs on them. Maybe you could argue that this is part of the "boutique" concept, but to us it was in poor taste.

4. The toilet had no ventilation fan. So guess what, the only ventilation from the WC was into the bedroom. Guess we can only take a cr@p when the other is not in the room!

5. The bathtub was surrounded by grey, untreated concrete (see pictures)! Oh my god, that gave it a very cheap feel. Again, maybe it appeals to people searching for something different, but it didn't do it for us.

6. The shower head was angled only in 1 direction, and it was too high, which meant that half the water was going over the far edge of the bathtub (and ending up on the floor). There was no shower curtain or anything to hold the water within the tub.

7. The water pressure in the toilet was alternating between strong and medium/weak, which meant the temperature was going from hot to cold. Very inconvenient and uncomfortable.

8. The pool/restaurant area was CONGESTED with deck chairs, which meant that you were 2m away from the next sunbather.

9. The pool/restaurant area was right next to another hotel/restaurant/bar (I couldn't be bothered to find out what it was), which played music loudly enough to disturb the peace over on Rummana's side. In fact, the most expensive "Rummana suite" was located right in front of the pool, which means you get to hear the music from the neighbouring place late into the night when you are trying to get some sleep!

10. As mentioned in point 9, the Rummana suite was not really by the beach. In fact, you have only a partial view of the sea from the villa.

11. The worker walkway (ok, that was a good idea to build a worker accessway around the perimeter of the compound) was right behind our villa, and the villa's sound insulation was so poor we could hear the workers walking and cycling (and sometimes running) past. In fact, we could even hear the guests walking outside the villa (which means, that the guests can hear what you are doing inside!!)

My wife and I were so upset that we transferred to another resort on Samui the next morning, suffering a 1-day cancellation fee (it was worth it). I shall not mention the name of the resort here, although I would say that while it was more expensive, it was definitely the kind of RESORT one would go for for a relaxing and laid back time.

Overall, if you are looking for a nice beach/island resort, the Rummana is not the place to go to. If you are looking for a clean/decent place to stay in Samui, and do not mind all that I mentioned above, then by all means go ahead. It sells itself as a "masterfully designed island chic".

Masterful it was not.
Designed? Maybe, but not something that we liked.
Island Chic? If concrete bathtubs and having guests hear everything you say in the room is considered island chic, then sure, I guess.

You can check out the photos that I took to see the size and the design (or lack thereof) of the place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stormweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
709 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
778 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rummana Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rummana Boutique Resort

Address: 124/10 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: $80 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rummana Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Rummana Boutique Resort, a little goes a long way. Masterfully designed in every aspect, choose from our "Island Chic" Deluxe Villas or Rummana Suites for a perfect stay, private, peaceful, well-equipped and fully stocked, you'll never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rummana Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rummana Boutique Hotel Lamai Beach
Rummana Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing